We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Accomodation”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Honeyholm

Honeyholm On the banks of the Endrick river
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Honeyholm On the banks of the Endrick river
Outside dining your spacious lounge with wood stove
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
Honeyholm On the banks of the Endrick river
Outside dining
your spacious lounge with wood stove
Views of Dumgoyne over Honeyholm Bridge
Fun for kids !
Large kitchen /diner with extending table.
Lounge overlooking the gardens with views to Dumgoyne hills
Sunrise over Dumgoyne
Ground floor wheelchair friendly bedrrom
Easy access shower room
Relax in the bath !
Master bedroom
A Scottish Gem!!
Sun up !
Fun for the kids
Old Honeyholm before renovations
Happy days at Honeyholm
Spot our otter family in spring under Honeyholm bridge
The neighbours
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Balfron, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
paul n
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect Accomodation”
Reviewed 14 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We booked the accommodation for 4 nights, Ian was very accommodating at short notice for 2 of us + dogs.
Whilst I can't control the weather which at the time was pretty poor, the accommodation more than made up for this. The accommodation is pretty much a home from home, everything you need can be found within this delightful property. The property is perfectly located and catered for our every need, whilst also providing a lovely log burner, which after a day outside in the rain was much appreciated. I would definitely recommend this property to others

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Log Burner & River Views
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Nov 2015
Many thanks for your kind review Paul. Hopefully we will see you again perhaps when the weather is a bit better! !! Thanks again. Ian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
Reviewed 3 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We stayed at Honeyholm and can't fault it. The cottage is furnished to a very high standard and is situated in a stunning location. Very close to Glasgow and Stirling if you want to visit the city but at the same time located in the country with excellent access to walks and villages. The owners (Ian and Julie) will make you feel very welcome and provide you with good tips for sightseeing visits. if you're planning on visiting Scotland this place is perfectly placed to allow you to make the most of your holiday. We will certainly be coming back and would recommend it without hesitation.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jun 2016
Hi David
Thanks for talking the time to get back to us
Great you all had a good holiday
Please come and see us again

Kind regards
Julie and Ian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon_Lewis
Lightwood
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 4 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Myself, my parents and our dog had a wonderful 5 nights at the cottage. It's incredibly spacious, fully equipped for the family and comes with a stunning view. Julie is very welcoming and hospitable. The accommodation is ideally situated to discover Loch Lomond & The Trossachs National Park and is not too far away from the coast, Glasgow and Edinburgh. It's a lovely cottage with character and I hope to return soon!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jun 2016
Dear Jon
Is it a year since you were here!!!
Time goes too fast
Hope you are all well

Please call if you want to visit again
Kind regards
Julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindyIrvi...
Kerteh, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Stunning, Superb and Sublime!”
Reviewed 16 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here with my family in January and absolutely loved it.

Julie is such a welcoming host, and had lit the fire and made us some scones for arriving, which was a really nice touch.

The cottage is just lovely, very warm and cosy, especially with the wood burner. It was wild and windy (and snowing) while we were there, and it was really nice to be sitting in the comfy lounge looking out at the river and the wild landscape.

The bedrooms are all a good size with en-suites and are finished to a high standard. The kitchen is perfect for a big family meal. We were having a celebration dinner and we had everything we needed and more.

There is high speed internet throughout and lots of DVDs, books and toys.

The location is beautiful, right beside a river and with lots of birds. See the photo of the robin redbreast I took in the garden.

All in all I would definitely recommend Honeyholm Cottage, and can't wait to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FefeB1978
Thurso, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 9 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We stayed at this fantastic cottage over the New Year period. The cottage was fully equipped with everything and more you could need. Received a lovely welcome pack from Julie and Ian and a bottle of malt whiskey to bring in the New Year. We have visited this area a number of times and still find loads of things to do. My 8 year old son loved the games that were supplied especially Zingo and. Twister. We also had two dog with us too who were very well looked after. Hope to come back again..

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matthew q
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A magical xmas!!!”
Reviewed 29 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

We stayed here over the festive period after our work left us stuck in the glasgow area for xmas day. Absolutely everything about the cottage was incredible. Julie and Ian couldn't do enough for us from preparing the turkey prior to our arrival to arranging extra bedding/crockery/glasses for our large party to having the fire burning for our arrival.
The location itself is stunning enough but the cottage is fully equipped with everything you could possibly need and more. We loved every second and the only disappointment was that we couldn't stay for longer. Do not hesitate in booking this place is a gem and the people that run it are wonderful!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane M
Larbert, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb!”
Reviewed 3 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Stayed with family and dog, great gardens and tree swing over the river at the bottom of the garden. Modern and well equipped but with a homely feel. Books and games to suit all ages. Great views across the hills. Suitable for the less able bodied with a great en suite downstairs as well as the two upstairs. Had a good time, was cosy and comfortable, with homemade scones for our arrival. Hope to stay again next year. 10/10

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Log burner
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$265
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing