We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Terrific”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Boat House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
50 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Daliburgh, South Uist, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Stevie B
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Terrific”
Reviewed October 5, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Mixed feelings about putting a great review on here as i know it might mean we will have to compete when we book again! This is a great place, welcoming and friendly hosts and wonderful location. We couldnt take our eyes from the loch views from the lounge and bedroom. Really clean, cosy and comfortable with everything you need. The co-op next door and hotel 5 mins walk away are a bonus too as there are not too many shops & hotels in area. Loads of walks nearby and very central for day trips in car too. Honestly we cannot praise it enough. Thanks Linda and Ally for everything, we will def be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christoph...
Stamford Bridge, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A lovely little gem of a place!”
Reviewed August 29, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Top quality and very reasonable, looking over a loch and next door to a well stocked shop, convenient for Lochmaddy port abd ferry too. Would go back again.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Aug 2016
Thank you so much, it was a quick visit but looking forward to meeting you again if you ever decide to come back .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philipp S
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Cozy and friendly”
Reviewed August 23, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Amazing attention to detail by hosts in both decoration and provided equipment. From microwave to hair straightener, from washing machine to bathrobes and from hiking guides to board games - we were provided we everything we needed and what we didn't even thought we might need. The location is simply perfect: having breakfast with a family of swans on the loch right outside the windows was an everyday treat, there's a Coop market literally right next door (you won't hear any of the traffic though) and you're no more than a 30 minutes car ride from anything you'd like to visit on the island.
All of the above is only topped by the hospitality and friendliness of the hosts who went above and beyond anything we had experienced before.
We'd give it 6 points if we could.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hosts
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Aug 2016
Thank you so much, it was a pleasure meeting you both and the two weeks went in far to quickly, hope you both arrived home safely, kind wishes to you both for the coming year. Also thank you both for the goodies xxx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ailsa D
1 review
“Beautiful peaceful welcoming home from home”
Reviewed August 5, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

A wonderful cosy cottage with everything required and more. There is washing machine WiFi even hair straighteners. It's situated right next to co op very handy for self catering. There was a welcome basket with wine and scones. The owners were friendly and welcoming and even dropped past with wonderful home made cake and shortbread. It is a good base if you want to play golf or for walking. There are plenty of cafes hotels and pubs to choose from but you do need to drive.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was all good
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Aug 2016
Thank you Ann it was lovely to meet you both and thank you for the fudge it was lovely, hope you had a safe journey home and you are welcome anytime.
Kind regards
Belinda and Ally x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodsark
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed July 13, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

What a brilliant wee place, and welcoming hosts! We needed somewhere to stay for our early crossing to Mallaig the next morning. Only disappointing thing was that we weren't able to stay longer!
Such a good price and everything you could possibly need was there. Lovely welcome basket of scones and tea on arrival, and wonderfully fluffy bath robes were nice extra touches.
Would definitely recommend.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jul 2016
Thank you both so much we wish your stay could have been longer too, its a joy for us meet new people X
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conwy County, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 7, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
8 Jul 2016
Thank you so much it's always lovely to meet new people loved having you stay even although it was a short stay, your both welcome anytime X
Regards
Linda and Ally
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 29, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The lovely decor and attention to detail.
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
29 Jun 2016
Thank you so much it's a pleasure to meet lovely people, xxx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing