We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
US$91
View deal
Free cancellation until 21-10-01
Hotels.com
Booking.com
US$91
View deal
Free cancellation until 21-09-30
eDreams
Expedia.comUS$91
Priceline
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (259)
Filter reviews
259 results
Traveller rating
174
71
12
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
174
71
12
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 259 reviews
Reviewed August 21, 2018

We arrived after a tiring drive and found this pretty little hotel beside the canal. We were welcomed by the owner who was most kind and considerate. Our room overlooked the canal and was delightful with comfortable beds and a well equipped bathroom.
Hotel Au Marais is close to the village centre where the are many good places to eat.
This is a family run hotel and every effort is made to make the visitor welcome.
Breakfast in the morning was served in a bright sunny room across the street, it was very comprehensive.
Having been refreshed by this charming small hotel we continued our journey south. We would certainly stay here again.
.

Room tip: A room overlooking the canal would be a bonus.
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CodfordWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2017

We were last here in 1976 so after a long road trip we diverted to Coulon before catching the ferry from St Malo. A different family were running the hotel and the rooms had been beautifully modernised. Attentive service and they arranged our trip on the Marais at very short notice. To enjoy the peace of the Marais at its best go early morning or last thing when there are only a few punts around.
Luckily we also attended the fete and celebrations showing how the community lived 100 years ago.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richardhC7220VQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2017

Excellent position right by the river. We parked in main square and walked a few minutes to hotel as not so much parking nearby. The owner met us and could not have been more friendly and helpful. He speaks very good English. He recommended a few local restaurants and booked our table for us. We had a family room which had plenty of space for a family of 5. Clean, spacious bathroom. Buffet breakfast had plenty of choice for all. Would recommend a stay here if visiting Coulon

Room tip: Family room can accommodate extra bed so 5 can stay in same room
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan74146
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2017

The hotel consists of two buildings facing the Sevre Niortaise River in the heart of the Marais Poitevin. While busy with day trippers during the day, Coulon is very quiet at night and makes an excellent base for exploring the region. It is also a very attractive town in its own right and offers very pleasant strolls along the river. The management provides a warm welcome and personal service, including greeting you by name and recommending local restaurants (I dined in two very good ones) and day trips. The hotel offers an outstanding buffet breakfast highlighted by Madame's homemade patisserie. If you arrive on a weekend or holiday I would advise parking in the large municipal lot which is a 10 minute walk from the hotel and moving your car in the evening.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2017 via mobile

We were last here in Sept 2014 when it was very hot, this time (May) we were met with rain. Shame the room didn't have tea or coffee facilities cos nowhere in town was open either. Room and bathroom good size and clean, though we preferred the one we had that fronted the canal.
Great breakfast again and really friendly owners.

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 35yaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews