We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Highly Recommended”
other travellers have booked this property
Outside Crocus Cottage - south facing and sheltered, a real suntrap.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Outside Crocus Cottage - south facing and sheltered, a real suntrap.
Lounge area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
38 reviews
Outside Crocus Cottage - south facing and sheltered, a real suntrap.
Lounge area
Lounge area
Lounge area
Kitchen area
Kitchen area
Kitchen and dining area
Double bedroom
Enter a caption for your photo
Double bedroom
Twin bedroom
Double bedroom
Twin bedroom
The view of Crocus Cottage from the courtyard.
Patio area outside Crocus Cottage, with a sturdy wooden bench and a patio table and chairs.
The view looking south from Embleton Bay, with Dunstanburgh Castle in the background.
The view looking north from Embleton Bay, just a stroll up the beach to the village of Low Newton.
Enter a caption for your photo
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Embleton, Alnwick, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Noljm
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly Recommended”
Reviewed July 28, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for a 5 night break, couldn't have asked for more - easy booking process and great value for money. Lovely location in Embleton, with lots of nearby attractions and things to do and all the essentials within the village a stone's throw away. The ideal base to explore Northumberland area. Cottage itself was just what we needed, well furnished, clean and quiet - ideal for relaxing after a day out

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely cottage in great location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine T
East Lothian, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic week at Crocus Cottage”
Reviewed July 17, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

This cottage is spotlessly clean very comfortable and comfy . It is very well equiped in the kitchen for cooking meals and is in easy reach to the beach also a good base for travelling around the Northumberland Coast with its beautiful beaches . I would highly recommend this cottage as it gives a first class standard.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the cleanliness of the cottage
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer...
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Must Stay...”
Reviewed May 23, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We wanted to have a couple of days away and chose Crocus Cottage as the reviews on here were really positive and we weren't disappointed!! The cottage was spotless and well equipped and its location was just perfect to explore the village of Embleton or stroll down to the beach.
There was no issue with us having the dog with us and there was ample parking outside the cottage so we didn't have to park out on the street.

I'd recommend this property to anyone and will certainly be going back again soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stefbowma...
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great cottage, well equipped in excellent location”
Reviewed April 23, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We have just stayed in crocus cottage for the Easter break and had a great time. We took our 11 year old child and a dog with two adults. The cottage was in a great location in a court yard behind the pub with parking right in front. The cottage was small but great for our needs well equipped and very clean with everything thought of right down to hand-wash and washing up liquid which when your travelling means a lot. When we first booked our holiday dates we had to change due to the school voting day change and they were very helpful and obliging to move our dates for us.We are hoping to return as there's lots to see in the area and the cottage is about 10 minutes walk from a beautiful coastline.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn R
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Clean and cosy”
Reviewed April 14, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

A lovely little property, a perfect base to explore this beautiful part of the world. Crocus cottage had everything we needed; well equipped kitchen, comfy beds, and a great outdoor seating area where we could enjoy the sunshine. Nearby shop, park and beach made it perfect for us. I would recommend Crocus Cottage to friends and family.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinklaure...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Little Getaway!”
Reviewed April 9, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Crocus cottage was amazing to stay in. The rooms were all so clean and tidy and modern and it was really nice to have tea, coffee and sugar when we got there. The beds and furniture were very comfy and the location was perfect. The temperarure was perfect,we even turned it off at one point,when we put it back on it warmed up very quickly. It felt very safe and we would be happy to come again. We have already reccomended this to some of our friends.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda H
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Average and not cosy”
Reviewed April 6, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

No heating on when we arrived so the cottage was not cosy the fan heater did not work and with arriving later than planned we sat with blankets around us while watching the small TV.
Do feel the cost per night over priced, I visit Northumberland a lot and this is the first time I have stayed in a cottage I will not book again. The cottage was clean but covered in dos and don't lists everywhere you looked even at side of the cooker hood.
Feel you need to drop your price and also put some clear glass in the window of the double bedroom feels like a cell. I could go on and on and would of complained if I was staying for a week, asking also for us to strip the beds when paying £80 a night plus extra for booking fees well that's the best one yet. Sorry if you are not happy with my review but that's what trip advisor is all about.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: Going out
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Apr 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to submit feedback regarding your stay in Crocus Cottage.

I find it strange that you say that there was no heating on and the cottage was cold when you arrived as I made an 80 mile round trip on the day of your arrival to warm the cottage up and leave the heating on for you. The heat was quite overpowering when I left so I turned all the heaters down to no.2 but left them on. This was at 12.30pm in anticipation of the early check-in that you requested and that I was happy to agree to. I'm sure if you arrived later than the 3pm check-in you requested the cottage will have been less cosy than both of us would have liked, however, I timed my visit to correspond to your requested arrival time. I will have the fan heater looked at right away, but you could of course have contacted me about this during your stay if it was a problem (my number is on one of the 'many' notices around the cottage) instead of saving it up to complain about on Trip Advisor.

With regards to the cottage being 'covered' in dos and don'ts lists 'everywhere you looked' - there are actually two notices - one by the cooker hood and one by the door. We have found that our guests appreciate knowing how to reset the cooker if the power goes off, how the shower works and where the nearest payphone is in case of emergencies.

We always welcome feedback from our guests and we aim to do everything we can to ensure that our guests' stays are as comfortable and relaxed as possible. Whilst the majority of the feedback we have had so far suggests that we are succeeding in this aim, we certainly don't take this for granted and always act on credible feedback to further improve the quality of the product we offer.

Kind regards,

John
Cosy Retreats
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing