We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quiet and peaceful.”
other travellers have booked this property
Outside Periwinkle Cottage -south facing + sheltered, a real suntrap.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Outside Periwinkle Cottage -south facing + sheltered, a real suntrap.
Lounge area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
31 reviews
Outside Periwinkle Cottage -south facing + sheltered, a real suntrap.
Lounge area
View of Periwinkle Cottage from the courtyard.
Lounge area
Lounge area
Kitchen area
Kitchen area
Dining area
Sturdy wooden dining table for four.
Double bedroom
Double bedroom
Twin bedroom
Twin bedroom
Family bathroom
Private and enclosed courtyard to the side of Periwinkle Cottage
The view looking south from Embleton Bay, with Dunstanburgh Castle in the background.
The view looking north from Embleton Bay, just a stroll up the beach to the village of Low Newton.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Embleton, Alnwick, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mcdonalds...
Linlithgow
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Quiet and peaceful.”
Reviewed July 13, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

The cottage has two parking places. It is in a courtyard behind a hotel but no noise comes from the hotel. It is a compact cottage which makes maximum use of space but it was good for two couples. Beds are comfortable but the duvet was too warm for me . There are spare blankets so one could go inside the duvet cover. However if the weather turned colder you might need the warmth. The key holder is on the side of the house . You have to go through the gate on the right first.. We did not find it straight away. It is clean and well stocked with equipment.
Embleton is a great village from which to tour around then come back to peace. There are several eating places in the village , a well stocked shop, and a petrol station. It is a 15 min. walk to a beautiful beach.
If you are coming from the north it is much easier to approach Embleton via Banburgh and Seahouses. We tried to cross country from the A1 and drove through some very narrow roads without passing places.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Nov 2015
Hi and thanks for the feedback. We've amended our check-in instructions to describe more clearly where the key box is.

John
cosy-retreats.com
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshinee
England
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A lovely cottage in a picturesque location.”
Reviewed April 6, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

The cottage is situated in a beautiful village - several pubs and a shop for bits and bobs. It's a 10 minute walk from the beach and from there, there are several great walks to different villages.

The cottage itself was spotless. The kitchen has all equipment you would need- including oil and seasoning which we thought was a nice touch. We made use of the DVD player and iPod speakers.

Only a 15 minute drive to town- lots of great places to eat and shop.

Would definitely recommend as a chilled getaway.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnnyutd
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Periwinkle Cottage, Embleton - perfect base of operations”
Reviewed November 19, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Cosy little Cottage with a little sit out garden , very clean and well equipped with everything included ( utilities , tv , heating). Prime location in the centre of Embleton for exploring the Northumberland coastline & Castles either on foot (coastal walks) or by car, with private parking. 2 minute walk to the local pub (the Greys Inn) with a variety of ales , hotel and bar / restaurant 30 seconds away - we enjoyed a last night evening meal at the Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel. Would definitely use again when we return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pleasure to return to after a day exploring
Liked least: it suited our purpose perfectly , so no negatives
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spinnerbo...
Birch Vale, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect weekend break”
Reviewed November 18, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We arrived to find a lovely warm cosy cottage with everything provided - even fresh milk in the fridge. The cottage was spotlessly clean and the beds really comfortable. Great location - perfect for one of the best beaches you will ever visit - and the village's 2 pub restaurants and the very convenient local store. Would highly recommend this.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monteleon...
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The perfect cosy retreat in Northumberland”
Reviewed September 26, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We arrived and found the parking more that adequate and easy to access. We have stayed in many rented properties and so arrived with a car full of stuff that we thought we would need. We needn't have bothered with half the things we brought as everything was there. Milk in the fridge (nice touch), tea, coffee, kitchen roll and even a set of sharp kitchen knives! On opening the door we knew we would enjoy our stay as it did not have the same feel of a bedsit with mismatching furniture, that you get in some properties. Even the knives and forks matched as did the glasses and plates. It felt homely. From the fluffy towels and the excellent shower to the cleanliness and very efficient heating. We will most certainly be staying there again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Its wonderful location.
Liked least: The weather. It was wet and foggy for two days.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Floydsmam
Washington
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Practically Perfect Periwinkle !”
Reviewed September 25, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Myself, partner and our two little terriers booked Periwinkle as a last minute get away after a spell in hospital . The cottage is located in a small row in the courtyard behind a hotel. It has a small outside area with a picnic bench which Id imagine to be nice to sit out in on a sunny day. We booked the cottage throughout the owner John, who was most helpful and was kind enough to allow us to check in a bit earlier so we could start our break sooner. We got the key from a small key safe and from opening the door we weren't disappointed. The door opens straight into the open plan living/dining/area. The owners have decorated the cottage in pale complimentary tones that give the place a real relaxing feel. There are two comfortable chairs and a very very comfortable sofa. The kitchen is very well equipped and there is everything you could possible need . Although there isn't a freezer the fridge has a small compartment which was ideal for making ice cubes to go in a small nightcap. The oven and hob are high quality as are all the fixtures and fittings. It's as if the owners have furnished the place as a home, not just a self catering rental , the attention to detail really shows, and is very much appreciated. There is a TV with freeview and a DVD player, if you are that way inclined. A good quality dab radio too. Upstairs , two beautifully bright and airy bedrooms. Plenty of places to put your clothes. Nice fluffy towels are supplied. Again, the quality of the bedding and bed itself it top notch. We both slept brilliantly , and even peeked at the pillow brand so we could buy when we get home. The bathroom is snug as to be expected in a property of such age, but it's perfectly equipped and decorated with a nice seaside vibe.
As for dog owners.... The owners have thoughtfully provided a pet placemat for dogs bowls, and a box for wet boots. I cannot praise the owners of Periwinkle enough, you will not be disappointed if you book a stay, the property is an absolute credit to Cosy Retreats and if this is the standard of property to expect I will most certainly be booking my next break through the Cosy Retreats website. Thankyou.
Locally.....
A beautiful beach probably no more than 30 mins walk away very dog friendly .
The hotel opposite the cottage is dog friendly and I enjoyed a ten out if ten vegetarian chilli, whilst he had the , best burger he'd had in ages, which was good enough for me. I'd recommend a meal at the hotel, they do takeaway fish and chips for around £7.50 , sadly I couldn't partake after a gallstone attack.
Alnwick is a short drive away, there is a fantastic butchers there, you must visit and buy a juicy steak. There is also the best pet shop in the world, fact. The ladies in there are super sweet and even remembered us after a visit two years prior , wow!! We picked up some lambs legs which went down a treat !
Sea houses isn't far either, we only got as far as Embleton as I managed to shred the front passenger tire on a drain kerb and we had to be towed back to the cottage. Oops.

All in all , do not hesitate to book Periwinkle , I promise you, you will not be disappointed .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How cosy the cottage was.
Liked least: Having to go home.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
395tttt
York, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic cottage in lovely village”
Reviewed September 21, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

A homely, comfortable, superbly equipped cottage, excellently located for exploring the stunning Northumberland coast. There is private parking, and a sunny secluded outdoor area. Local shop and pubs provide all you need to complete the perfect break. High recommended, will definitely return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing