We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The Blair speaks for a lifestyle, for an entire...”

Review of The Blair

The Blair
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Blair
View from The Blair with patio area in corner of the garden. Cosy double ground floor bedroom.  Bedlinen and curtains would be changed for male guests.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
63 reviews
The Blair
View from The Blair with patio area in corner of the garden.
Cosy double ground floor bedroom.  Bedlinen and curtains would be changed for male guests.
The Living room at The Blair with working wood burning stove.
Living room
Kitchen
Kitchen and dining area
Bathroom
Over the bath shower
Two single sofa chairs on landing
Twin upstrairs bedroom cosy room with TV.
Summer House and relaxing hammock with chiminea looking out over beautiful view.  See picture below.
View from The Blair
Shore line at Portgordon 2 miles from The Blair. Look out for the seals who bask every day.
The friendly neighbours -  enquisitive and welcoming!
View up to the hills
Shoreline at Portgordon.  Look out for the seals!
Leafy private lane leading to The Blair
The local Mill House bar and restaurant open to non residents for the nights you dont want to cook.
Last look from The Blair.  Hope to see you again!
The Moray Firth looking over to the Black Isle.
Surrounding The Blair
The Blair, and your neighbours!
Fancy a stroll?
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Buckie, Moray, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 63 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Derek M
Totnes, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Blair speaks for a lifestyle, for an entire region and speaks to its guests.”
Reviewed 11 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Strangers to Scotland, we instantly felt at home. Maureen was contactable from the airport, reached The Blair simultaneously with ourselves, introduced us. Thereafter the croft became our home for the week.
Our visit programme included the Cairngorms, the coastline east of Speyside as far as Sandend, Loch Ness, Elgin and Lossiemouth. What a feast of riches:)
If that wasn't enough The Blair allowed us to wander to St Ninian's Chapel and (four times!) to the Mill House Hotel:)
The Blair was warm, has all modern facilities. The literature on the coffee table made perfect reading for finding one's way around.
We commend The Blair without reservation to any visitor to Moray.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 May 2015
Thank you very much for the complimentary comments. It was lovely meeting you both and Im delighted that you enjoyed your stay at The Blair and felt at home there whilst enjoying the surrounding area - including your four visits to The Mill!! I hope to see you back at The Blair again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan J
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect. Secluded but close to everything.”
Reviewed 28 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

I rented the cottage for my brother and his family and he told me that he was so impressed with the cottage that they would be going again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Apr 2015
Hello. I hope everything went ok with the reason for your visit and thank you for the lovely comments and Im delighted that you liked it enough to return....with the lovely Lola I hope!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard F
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Excellent”
Reviewed 27 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Thankyou so much for a wonderful stay, nothing was too much trouble.
The kids loved the hammock and the swings on the trees, I was in my element with the bbq so everyone was happy.

Cottage was lovely and we will be back next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: outside area
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Apr 2015
It was lovely to meet you both and your two lovely girls. Im delighted everyone had a good stay and look forward to seeing you again at The Blair. Thank you for the complimentary comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linaron
Ellon, United Kingdom
1 review
“Quality holiday life in a lovely home in the country side”
Reviewed 19 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Maureen.... I can but thankyou most sincerely once again for the most wonderful time spent at
the Blair. It was all too short this visit but everyone had a lovely weekend, including the dogs who say thankyou for the comfy kennel and the wonderful walks round about that Eain and fiancee Lisa and Hannah and Lisa took us on.
My husband and I just relaxed at the cottage while the rest of the family went exploring. Mmy grand daughters had fun on the rope swings in the trees at the bottom of the road. Hannah 13yrs made good use of the hammock and Rachel 3yrs loved it so much she didnt want to leave!!!! We will definately be back Maureen just have to confirm holiday dates.
Do certainly consider a holiday at the Blair. Maureen welcomes you with open arms and does everthing to make your stay a comfortable one......and though you'll not have known her before you'll go home knowing you have made a lovely warm friendship with her

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It all
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Apr 2015
Oh thank you for the lovely comments! Im delighted you enjoyed your stay at The Blair and Im always so pleased when someone loves it as much as I do....and you obviously do!!!
Thank you for leaving it so neat and tidy and you are welcome to stay any time. I look forward to seeing you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epernay
Aberdeen
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Perfect hideaway and perfect host”
Reviewed 16 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Sometimes things just seem right and The Blair was just perfect for our get away from it all Valentines weekend, it goes beyond the fact that it has everything to make a home from home stay, it really has that personal touch that makes it stand out from the rest. A personal touch that is not just the welcoming feeling of the cottage but the sense of warmth behind the welcome of Maureen and also the feeling that she is truly sincere about wanting you to enjoy your stay not just in the cottage, but enjoy the surrounding area as well. We felt Maureen is very proud of the area and quite rightly so, it is a beautiful part of Scotland and the UK, the cottage is a perfect base for the area and although we have travelled around the area many times before, we discovered new sites and the beauty of the coastline, the tiny villages at the bottom of cliffs and the beaches never ceases to capture our attention. A memorable weekend and we hope to repeat it in the not too distant future with another stay later in the year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Felt like home from home
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Feb 2015
Oh what a lovely review, thank you so much. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay at The Blair and enjoyed visiting the surrounding area and I'm glad that you loved it all as much as I do! I hope to see you at The Blair some other time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mandy2011...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Breathtaking!!”
Reviewed 2 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Arrived for a weekend break, just myself and my son on 28th nov.
On arrival, we were greeted by Maureen, who was so welcoming and friendly. She gave us a thorough tour of the cottage, and explained different things i would not have thought of.any questions I had, were answered with a lovely smile.
The cottage was stunning, and extremely clean. No problems with decor (no flaky paint etc). There was ample room there too, as it was just myself and my son, we felt lost :-)
The cottage is well furnished, its for eveeyrhing you could possibly need. It has a lovely homely cost feel, which was perfect.
It was beautiful waking up in the morning, opening the curtains, and being greeted by the neighbours- sheep!!! Situated in a perfect place, you will need a car to get to and from cottage, but, we couldn't hear no traffic, no people, just the sheep. We've never experienced such tranquility.
I thoroughly recommend the Blair, we are looking at going back for a week in august now.
Thank you Maureen, you helped make our weekend perfect

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Dec 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments, it was good to meet you both. Im glad the neighbours (the sheep) weren't party animals and didn't cause you any bother!! ha ha. I'm glad you found everything to your liking and look forward to meeting you both again if you return later in the year. You would be most welcome and thank you for choosing The Blair.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig B
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent cottage”
Reviewed 18 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Just back from a truly relaxing week in the Blair.

We took our two dogs and with this being literally on the edge of the woods with excellent walks available was amazing.

Maureen greeted us on arrival and had left us with a little welcome pack with was a nice touch.

The cottage itself was great, very well equipped with all that you need for your stay. The wood burner really made it feel homely and with the addition of central heating it was very warm and welcoming.

The bed was one of the most comfortable we have ever slept in.

The kitchen is a good size with plenty of pots, pans and other useful stuff if you plan on cooking.

We will be returning in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: No Wi-fi
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Nov 2014
Thank you for the lovely review....it was good to meet you both and your lovely dogs. Im glad that you enjoyed staying at The Blair and I hope to see you there again in the future. Thanks again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$98
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing