We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Excellent Accommodation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bell at Hampton Poyle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bell at Hampton Poyle
Ranked #1 of 5 Kidlington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Essex
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent Accommodation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

We had 2 rooms (5 and 6). Both were clean and very tastefully decorated. The bathrooms were a good size and both had lovely rolled top baths with shower attachment. An excellent selection of tea on the "welcome tray" and fresh coffee. Also the offer of fresh milk which was supplied in a small flask. We ate in the restaurant which had an interesting menu. You could choose a light meal or snack - pizzas were excellent, or a beautifully presented 3 course dinner. Breakfast was also very good, buffet and/or full english.

I must add that the bed was incredibly comfortable and the only word of warning - if you are over 5ft 9" watch out for the beams in room 6!

We were heading off to the Bicester Shopping Outlets and when I mentioned this to a member of staff - all of whom were very helpful and attentive - gave us a 10% voucher that we could use in all of the stores. An added bonus!

I would thoroughly recommend The Bell and hope to return in the near future.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Picklebun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    302
    91
    26
    15
    4
See reviews for
61
261
6
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Swanley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

We have just returned from a nights stay at this lovely place. This really was a last minute
booking and we were not let down by the reviews on this website.We arrived at about 4pm.
and were greeted with a warm smile and shown to our room. We had room 8 which was very
nice. We booked in for dinner and was again greeted by very friendly staff.We had a drink at the bar and chatted to the staff and were then shown to our cosy table. The meal we can honestly say was fabulous. Its obvious they use the finest ingrediants and was a real treat. Now,the bed, Wow, it was just so comfortable. They obviously have paid attention to every detail. The breakfast was just the same. Fresh ingrediants and friendly staff. We will definately return, and soon.

Room Tip: Our room had a lovely roll top bath. A real treat
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank haventravellers5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

We spent New Year's Eve at The Bell and enjoyed it very much. No party - which suited us just fine and no late night disturbance. Yes, Room 9 is a little compact and rather snug (I think it's above the pizza oven) but very well appointed and was spotlessly clean. The food was good and the staff very friendly. Try the Park & Ride into Oxford. It's an outststanding service.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimGardenCottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2011

Friends recommended the Bell to us and we were not disappointed. The staff were friendly and efficient, the room was beautiful and the food was amazing. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Millster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belleoxford, Manager at The Bell at Hampton Poyle, responded to this review, 3 February 2012
Dear Guest,
thank you for your kind comment and we are looking forward to have you and your friends back!
The Bell Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antartica
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

We can highly recommend this place - wonderful service. Lovely rooms. We didn't have any hot water for a few hours (due to a power cut) and they gave us the room for half price.

The restaurant is pretty good too.

Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jimbob j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, England
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

We stayed at the Bell for just one night - and had a wonderful time. We stayed in an exec room (no.1) that was v large with a great monsoon shower in the ensuite. Little touches like fresh milk in the room make such a difference. All the staff were attentive, polite and delivered great service. The other plus was that it was v quiet at night - often a concern when staying at a pub. The only thing that stopped me giving 5 stars was that dinner was just OK. Nothing to rave about but equally nothing to complain about. I guess we had high hopes given the great surroundings. Would return though...and perhaps opt for the pizzas that are meant to be v good.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JKW101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belleoxford, Manager at The Bell at Hampton Poyle, responded to this review, 27 November 2011
Dear Guest,
we are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and thank you very much for your very kind comment. I will have a chat with Head chef and we will make sure that next time it will be all 5 stars. Take care and we are looking forward to have you here again.
Best wishes,
Suzy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Totham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2011

We booked our two night break using the comments from other visitors before making our final selection from about five other hotels in the area around Oxford. We were not dissapointed.

We arrived towards the end of a very busy Sunday Lunchtime but our welcome was cheerful and unhurried. Our room was delightful and more like a small cosy holiday cottage. It was clean and spotless with everything we needed.

The evening meal was an exceptionally good Sunday Evening deal that included a free bottle of house wine from a selection of about six wines. The meal was beautifully cooked, tasty and nicely presented. The restaurant area is tastefully decorated and gives the visitor a relaxed area in which to dine.

The bus stop for Oxford is just by The Bell but we chose to take the car to the Park & Ride about three miles towards Oxford. This gave us more flexibility with the return journey as the P&R is every 20 minutes but the bus is hourly.

Throughout our stay everyone was cheerful and helpful. They all work very hard. I've rated The Bell as perfect as it is probably the best place we have been for a break.

Room Tip: We had room 7 which has a window on the side of the hotel. It is in a small village so traffic is mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 187045Johnnyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belleoxford, Manager at The Bell at Hampton Poyle, responded to this review, 27 November 2011
Dear Mr.&Mrs.Kingsmill,
thank you very much for your amazing comment and we are very delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay. We are looking forward to having you need again should you need an other break again. It was a pleasure to look after such a nice couple.
With kind regards,
The Bell Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kidlington
6.1 km away
Macdonald Bear Hotel
Macdonald Bear Hotel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,553 reviews
4.6 km away
Holiday Inn Oxford
Holiday Inn Oxford
#10 of 44 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,000 reviews
4.3 km away
The Dashwood Hotel
The Dashwood Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kirtlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 km away
Travelodge Oxford Peartree Hotel
14.0 km away
De Vere Oxford Thames
8.5 km away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bell at Hampton Poyle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bell at Hampton Poyle

Property: The Bell at Hampton Poyle
Address: 11 Oxford Road, Kidlington OX5 2QD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Kidlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Kidlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bell at Hampton Poyle 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity.ca so you can book your The Bell at Hampton Poyle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bell At Hampton Poyle Hotel Kidlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing