We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (393)
Filter reviews
393 results
Traveller rating
112
138
68
39
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
112
138
68
39
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssconesold englishbeautiful englishenglish charmcameron highlandsenglish cottagebeef wellingtonafternoon teabeautiful gardenmain buildingboutique hotelcomplimentary breakfastgolf coursemorning breakfastposter bedmusty smellstrawberry jam
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 393 reviews
Reviewed January 21, 2018

Lovely Brit-style hotel in the middle of a beautiful English garden. And all this in Malaysia. This hotel was built in the 30s for Brits escaping the summer heat of KL, and it was designed to appeal to English sensibilities. OK, it's maybe a bit kitschy, but it's good kitsch. It really feels like you stepped into a pub in the English countryside, especially when they light the big log fire in the bar to ward of the Cameron Highlands chill. Our room was comfy, not modern. If you want modern and glitzy, go somewhere else; if you want a unique experience that will stick with you, this is your place. Breakfast was, well, British. Service was attentive without being obtrusive. And the garden, oh that garden! Kudos to the owners for keeping this wonderful place alive. I strongly urge you to enjoy it while it's still there.

Stayed: July 2017
Thank HBHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 4, 2018 via mobile

Service and food were excellent. Highly recommend the roasted lamb leg with redcurrant. Cosy environment. Well worth the travel up to Cameron Highlands. Definitely a must try when visiting this place. Try to come earlier for lunch in order to not miss the dessert menu.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank amoussac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 2, 2018

We stayed at The Smokehouse for five nights during the Christmas period. This was our third time staying here within the last two years. We couldn’t celebrate Christmas this year in England therefore, thought The Smokehouse is the next best thing and we certainly did not regret it! We stayed in the Windermere room and the whole place is absolutely surreal as it is just like being in England. We even had a nice little Christmas gift on the Christmas morning hanging on our door in a stocking! The Christmas decoration was delightful and very festive without being too over the top. The room was very clean and had an old English home feel to it. We had a few meals in-house with one being the Christmas meal. They were all superb! The turkey was tender and the home-made mince pies were delicious. On one night I had a medium-rare rib eye steak and that was tender and juicy as well. The staff as usual were all very welcoming, attentive and friendly (Sanjiv, Raj, Amu, Laura and Joe to name a few). Nothing is too much to ask. We brought our own M&S Christmas pudding and realised we did not have any custard to go with it. We decided to try our luck requesting at the reception for the kitchen staff to help prepare some for us and were very pleased when they said yes! During our stay we spent most of our time at The Smokehouse just reading books, watching movies and hibernating. As you can imagine it was the holiday season and the traffic was pretty bad. We were worried people going to the night market up the road might park at the hotel but there was a security guy looking after the parking area of The Smokehouse to ensure this is not the case. The only minor setback would be the occasionally unpleasant noise from the afternoon tea visitors in the garden but, all you need to do is close the room windows to reduce the noise. We certainly will come to stay at the Smokehouse again without a shadow of a doubt.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank IzahOthman-Smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 23, 2017 via mobile

We reserved in advance, was told not to wear tshirt and shorts. We took them so seriously to find out that even peoplewith tshirt and shorts were walking in and our table was not set with napkins aand flowers while others had theirs. Even water and bread were served 30 mins later after we sat at the table. Paid 650+ for this kinda dining experience. What was worse was to be talking to a girl who took care of the reception but had no PR skills.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank estccmw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 1, 2017

We're here for tea only. A lovely, quiet cottage. Friendly, attentive staff, from the carpark attendant to the tea lady. It has a small garden, and a nicely decorated old English colonial like dinning area.

Scones, tea, cookies that we ordered are okay, not impressive. We think that the tea could be of better quality.

With this positive experience, we'd likely come back again maybe for their dinner.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank eugenelim070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews