We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“raining ;o)” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eight Mentigi Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Eight Mentigi Guesthouse
Ranked #6 of 27 Tanah Rata B&B and Inns
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
114 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“raining ;o)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

nice place, clean, basic, helpful staff, calm and quiet. Two sitting areas inside and two outdoors, free wifi and reasnoble prices.
wish: indoor heating

Room Tip: check bathroom when choosing
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    94
    61
    21
    14
See reviews for
42
88
35
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

After reading the reviews, I am wondering if I was in the same place as I found it all pretty average and I am quite easily pleased.
At 80myr for a double room with ensuite compared to 50myr without ensuite the gap is too wide. Should have been 70myr. Our room was old and tired with an antiquated shower and damp on the Walls which are paper thin. All this is ok but noone seems to have mentioned it. Other guesthouses in the area provide free tea and coffee and a toaster with use of the fridge for less. Wifi is temperamental It's really more like a hostel, dorm prices are reasonable Staff are friendly and informative

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dayshereandthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanau, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

This hotel is run by very warm-hearted personnell, which makes one feel like home. Rooms are comfortable, the hotel is big, with much space for sitting and reading, watching TV or enjoying oneself in the beautiful garden. The environment is quiet, although the city centre is only a 2-minute walk away. I would recommend this peaceful place to everybody!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saskia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights. Staff are excellent.Our son had a bout of diorrhea and the man at reception went out and bought drugs for us.Nice quiet spot and clean. No air con as it is quite cool...even cold according to my wife. Smith, the manager, is a lovely hospitable gentleman and extremely knowledgeable. Salaam satoo Malaysia.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthews_au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2011

Stayed for 2N at this guesthouse with my wife. The place is very near from Tanah Rata main road and has easy access to lot of restaurants and eateries.

The rooms are very neat and clean, comfortable as well. The attached bathroom is equipped with a boiler that provides 24H hot water. The rooms and wardrobes are spacious. The flooring can get a bit cold. Indoor flip-flops will be handy to prevent the feet getting cold.

The common TV lounge and a large reception area is pretty good with cozy couches. Free Wifi access is provided in the common area, if you have smartphones or tablets. Beer can be bought from the reception itself.

The staff is helpful and polite. The staff can book guided tours for you from the guesthouse reception. These are fantastic and very informative with professional guides.

Overall, a very pleasing experience at a budget price. Absolutely recommended.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank darshanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2011

It is clean, quiet and cost effective. I stayed for 1 night there with 2 other friends and we're pleased with it. Check out time is 11am.

The staff was polite and answers all our queries to the best of their abilities, however I don't quite think that they are very very friendly and such.

The beds are comfortable, but the floors are tiles and it got a bit too cold for my tropical feet to bear so I don't walk around much.

There is a common room where the television is situated with comfy couches, We didn't use that room much as we only stayed for a night.

The free Wifi has a rather fast speed, used it to upload photos and it was completed in a surprisingly short time (about 60+ photos in about 15 minutes). I think there was desktop computer situated near the main entrance for public use, but I'm not 100% positive about that.

There are a few places for parking of cars but in my estimate, you can fit about 3 cars in it's compound without blocking one another but it can probably fit up to 6 cars in it's compound. My friends and I decided to park our car at a raised empty lot beside the building to avoid blocking other cars parked there.

My one major beef with this place was the shower. I was the last one taking a shower, I took some time to run the shower and ensure that it would be a comfortable temperature for me. Not 2 minutes into my shower, I got scalding hot water then very very cold water and finally just a small trickle of hot OR cold water. There was another 2 water outlet at thigh level, for hot and cold water respectively. Too bad we didn't have a pail to mix the water from those 2 taps, or I would have an otherwise comfortable shower. My 2 other friends did not face this problems, so I have to conclude that it was because I went last or I just have plain bad luck. ;p

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leonie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isola Vicentina, Italy
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2011

new guest house, situated in a quiet place just 3 min from the main road---
rooms are clean and with attached bath (24h hot water); free wifi is also available, as well as a cozy lounge area with tv and sofa.. 60RM for a standard double room is not so bad for tanah rata and the staff is nice and helpful!

website: www.eightmentigi.com

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ventoeanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tanah Rata hotels
1.5 km away
Hotel De' La Ferns
Hotel De' La Ferns
#3 of 12 in Tanah Rata
3.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
0.2 km away
Heritage Hotel Cameron Highlands
0.2 km away
Hillview Inn
Hillview Inn
#7 of 12 in Tanah Rata
3.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Century Pines Resort
Century Pines Resort
#6 of 12 in Tanah Rata
3.0 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
0.4 km away
Father's Guest House
Father's Guest House
#3 of 27 in Tanah Rata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
0.4 km away
Gerard's Place
Gerard's Place
#2 of 27 in Tanah Rata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eight Mentigi Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eight Mentigi Guesthouse

Property: Eight Mentigi Guesthouse
Address: No 8 & 8A, Jalan Mentigi, Tanah Rata 39000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Pahang > Cameron Highlands > Tanah Rata
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Tanah Rata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Eight Mentigi Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
8 Mentigi Guesthouse
Eight Mentigi Guesthouse Hotel Tanah Rata
Eight Mentigi Guesthouse Cameron Highlands/Tanah Rata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing