We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Father's Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Father's Guest House
Ranked #3 of 27 Tanah Rata B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
77 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Very nice place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

We enjoyed our stay here! The bed was good, the room a bit small without any windows (well there were windows near the ceiling, so there was light, but you couldn't look outside from our room). There are rooms that do have windows. The shared bathroom is good and clean.

The communal area is very nice, there are computers, there's wifi, and tv. There is a nice breakfast area too. The location is convenient, easy to walk to the center.

The staff is very helpful and can arrange good tours for you.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marlies84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

935 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    470
    329
    98
    29
    9
See reviews for
78
417
155
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights during peak season around Christmas.

We stayed in a double ensuite room which was big and clean. We had one which overlooks the garden. Inside the room there is a small add on bathroom which is open roof so not much privacy! The bathroom is quite old and small with black mold around the edges. You get hot water for about 3-5mins then it goes cold. This happened even when we left the water heater for a long time. Its a pain as it is quite cold in the cameron highlands so you really want at least a warm shower!

The actually location of the guesthouse is on a hill next to a church so it is very nice and peaceful. Good that it is close to restaurants and shops of tana rata but its set back nicely.

We didn't find the staff to be friendly at all. Its been one of the least friendly places we have been! Im not sure why - may be they were too busy. Even giving a drinks order for breakfast or a cup of tea met with a sigh and a look of annoyance! When we went to book a tour, the lady was quite rude to us and again, just looked annoyed that we were talking to her and asking questions!

They held a BBQ when we were there and we wanted to go along but again, the guys seemed a bit rude to us. My friend is Muslim and when asked if the meat is halal they looked at here and asked her if she was Muslim. When she said yes, they hesitantly said yes it was halal. They have posters up saying they do not serve halal food so we wondered if the BBQ was halal or not - she decided not to risk it.

When we walked about tana rata, we found the locals to be super friendly and nice so were quite disappointed with fathers guesthouse. Even though the rooms are adequate enough we wouldn't stay again due to the staff. I think being busy isn't really a good excuse for being rude and unfriendly.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neat00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2011

Me and my wife stayed there for two nights during November. We had our facing the garden which was really nice. The room was pretty clean. The bed and the pillow were very hard and the blanket thin.

The bathroom (may be it can be called so) is small and the use of the shower required some tricky operations to get warm water.

The price for the room was considerable high remembering that you had to pay for the breakfast. Altogether the cost for two persons was 110 + 30 = 140 RM/day (including breakfast).

The guy in the kitchen was pretty rude for newcomer when he said that first you pay and then I make the breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JuusoHelsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

About a month into our backpacking, we ventured up to the Cameron Highlands to cool off. We booked this place in advance as it suited our budget and had decent reviews. The hotel itself was alright. The room was spacious and it had a table and nightstands and stuff. The sheets were cleaned regularly, but the pillows smelled. I think it's due to the constant rain and their inability to dry the fabrics fully. The walls were paper thin and the room was pretty chilly, but there were enough blankets. The room we stayed in was on the second floor of what looked to be a large house. The shared shower didn't have warm water (as promised) on the first night, making showering almost unbearable because it's cool up there. There was warm water the next day. The hotel has their own restaurant (a lot pricier than the places you can find in town).

All this was passable, until we started noticing all the rules posted around the hotel. 1) No outside food on the property (so you eat their expensive restaurant food). Another sassy message read 2) "If the beer is cheaper in the supermarket, then drink it in the supermarket". 3) No shoes in the house (even though the man who showed us the room wore his shoes). I thought all this was a bit too much, considering that they're advertised as a hostel, meaning that their customers are often looking to save a few bucks. To be fair, we didn't notice the food sign until after we ate out outside food on the property, and no one told us we couldn't eat it there.

Also, a woman working there was totally unhelpful. We wanted to go trekking on our own and I was hoping for some advice on where to start, and before I even got my question out, she just pointed me to the map on the wall (which in no way gave clear directions) and told us to just take a picture of it, and go. Or, she offered, we could buy the same unhelpful map for a few ringgit. I also asked her about going to our next destination, and she said "I don't know, ask around in town".

Overall, the value was good. I would consider checking out a different place if I had to go back there to see if the service could be any better.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bananas2985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

After a 14 hour journey from hell, arriving at this hostel was amazing. Luckily we'd booked ahead and the hostel said they would come and pick us up from the bus station. Well due to our bus leaving an hour late and our driver not knowing how to get out of first gear, we were over two hours late but they were still there waiting - an absolute hero. The hostel is clean and helpful and the people who run and work there are so nice. They booked us onto a tour despite the lateness of our arrival and the poor driver waited around for us again while we had something to eat. We were staying in a shared apartment across the road, which was gorgeous, although one slightly small criticism is they really could use some duvets on the bed. We'd landed from Langkawi and after the heat of the beach, we were quite cold at night but other than that we couldn't fault them in any way and if anyone I know is ever going to the Cameron Highlands, this has to be the best place to stay at. It has internet, is easy to meet people in the communal areas and has the best breakfasts ever. Really good value for money as well. Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Curtrood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

The good:
- My overall experience at Father's was positive, and if I were in the Cameron Highlands again, I would definitely stay there. I hung out with some friends who were staying at Daniel's / Kang Travellers Lodge and weren't too pleased with it, though having not stayed there myself I won't pass judgement.
- I stayed in the dorm and it was a little disconcerting to sleep in such a huge room but each bed has plenty of space around it and all the beds are single beds, NOT bunk beds - after months of hostel-dwelling, this was a big deal to me.
- The grounds and gardens are beautiful. The gardener noticed me taking pictures of the flowers and took me on an impromptu tour of the garden, pointing out a variety of different flowers and explaining a few things about them. He didn't speak English super well so there was a lot of nodding and smiling, but I appreciated that he took the time and he obviously does a great job with the flowers!
- It is a short walk out of town but given how small Tanah Rata is, this is not a problem.

The neutral:
- This isn't a "party" spot, even in the dorm. Most people are in the Highlands to do trekking and tours, and while there's usually a group of folks hanging out in the common area in the evenings, "early to bed and early to rise" seems to be the prevalent attitude.

The bad:
- The dorm bathrooms could stand to be improved. They were generally clean-ish and definitely usable, but my main memory of bathing there is a tepid shower spent keeping an eye on a spider in a high corner.
- There is no kitchen for guest use. Not a huge deal, since they offer breakfast for sale and food in Tanah Rata is cheap and delicious, but I usually like to save some money by cooking a meal or two for myself.

Room Tip: My first night there, the dorm bed I grabbed was right under a window, which was chilly in the very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnneWellington482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

We stayed at fathers for 2 nights. The rooms were simple but clean. Some reviews we read said people got cold , but we were warm. The bathrooms were clean. Most of the staff were friendly, except for one guy in the morning. We were up and were waiting for the kitchen to open so we could have breakfast. After waiting 10 minutes past opening time we asked the guy if we could order, and he just shook his hand at us. We waited a few more minutes and asked again and he just walked away. I’m not sure if he just couldn’t speak English… but once the other staff member showed up he greeted us with a hello and took our order right away. The location was great. Close to all restaurants and the main street in the town. We did the Full day tour through them. If we had known, we probably only would’ve done the Mossy Tour. The walk through the mossy forest was really cool and the guides are experts on the for a and fauna. The valley and tea plantations are fabulous. The afternoon part didn’t interest us that much. The strawberry farm – we got to see some unripe strawberries from afar, and the guide told us that the market we visited was set up just for tourists. The museum we visited was like a pawn shop with a bunch of random items, and after travelling for 6 months through Asia we’ve seen plenty of temples.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank d0uluvme49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tanah Rata hotels
1.4 km away
Hotel De' La Ferns
Hotel De' La Ferns
#3 of 12 in Tanah Rata
3.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
0.7 km away
Century Pines Resort
Century Pines Resort
#6 of 12 in Tanah Rata
3.0 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
0.5 km away
Heritage Hotel Cameron Highlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Gerard's Place
Gerard's Place
#2 of 27 in Tanah Rata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
0.7 km away
De'Native Guest House
De'Native Guest House
#1 of 20 in Tanah Rata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.2 km away
Cameronian Inn
Cameronian Inn
#8 of 27 in Tanah Rata
3.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Father's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Father's Guest House

Property: Father's Guest House
Address: Number 4, Jalan Mentigi | 200 meters across Maybank, Tanah Rata 39007, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Pahang > Cameron Highlands > Tanah Rata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Tanah Rata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Father's Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fathers Guesthouse is situated 2 minutes walk to Tanah Rata town/ Unititi Express bus stop. Located across the road from Maybank, behind Twin Pines Chalets. Close to shops, restaurants, banks, money changer, and pharmacy and laundry service. Clean, cozy, affordable and comfortable rooms, friendly service and ideal + peaceful location, make it the place to stay for backpackers & budget travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Father's Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Father`s Guest House Hotel Tanah Rata
Father's Guest House Cameron Highlands/Tanah Rata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing