We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Beautiful Location but Worn Out Facilities” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Father's Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Father's Guest House
Ranked #3 of 27 Tanah Rata B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful Location but Worn Out Facilities”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

The location of this guesthouse is stunning, but the actual guesthouse is old and poorly maintained. I believe they are either closing down or renovating so maybe things will change. My fiance and I stayed in a private room, which was very basic. The sheets and pillows did not smell clean. The bathroom was very cold as they kept all of the windows open, so there were lots of bugs inside. There is also barely any hot water and everything in the bathroom is broken. I found the staff to be quite rude and not the most helpful. We did book a tour through the guesthouse, which was very good.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alyssa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

923 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    465
    324
    96
    29
    9
See reviews for
78
411
152
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle-upon-Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

I really could have stayed in that beautiful, idyllic setting for years. The guesthouse is a beautiful old converted military hospital and I stayed in a room in which the doors open onto a lovely garden with an amazing view from the top of the hill that it is situated from.

The owner is an absolutely amazing character with so much enthusiasm and it would seem like he would do anything to make his guest happy. You really do feel like his guests which is far flung from the impersonality of big corporate hotels. I actually preferred my time here to any 4 star hotel I have stayed in in the past.

I found the woman in the office to be helpful, despite what others have said. She was very helpful when I asked about WiFi, which, if you're wondering costs 5RMB (about £1) for unlimited use for the duration of your stay. She also offered me a cup of tea.

The little restaurant is nice, but I don't think it was open the day I wanted dinner there, so I'd just check that before you make plans. However, a few minutes walk gives you a load of lovely places to eat in Tanah Ratah.

In the area, it's hard not to notice the rolling tea plantations and I highly recommend the 'BOH' plantation at Sungai Palas. Also, there's a lovely 'pick your own' strawberry farm nearby, which is a nice little thing to do.

The only slight problem I had was that the solar heated showers were not hot and a bit pathetic, even with the extra little electric water heater on, but that wasn't a massive issue. The rooms are not air conditioned, but have a massive ceiling fan, which provides ample air circulation.

Overall, the homeliness of this place makes you want to stay.

Room Tip: Try to get one of the (three?) private rooms which face onto the little grassy garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JonnyMorrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

We had a fantastic experience here. It was the best accommodation we stayed in during our asia visit. I dont mean the best as in expensive and treated like queens but value for money, clean comfortable rooms with air con and the people were amazing! Communal BBQs and all the guests were lovely. We made friends with the locals and they were so welcoming. I highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lel_777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

This is not flash but it is friendly and comfortable. If you want 5 star go to a resort. Father's is relaxed, homely and a great place to mix with others and get great first-hand travel tips. If you don't want to mix you can be private in a double ensuite room. We enjoyed the food. So good to have cheese on the scrambled eggs. There is a distinct lack of cheese in Malaysia. The tours with Bob are well worth it. We did a full day tour and loved it.

Room Tip: Double ensuite with garden views are relaxing
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aquagal44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bytom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

Atmosphere in Father's Guest House its just like it should be. The owner build's it. That's why you don't have to worry about anything expect good weather. The rooms and rest area it's just like on the pics on the web site. Free pick up from the bus station. Wi-fi everywhere (even in the toilet;). What else should we expect of Guest House??

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mieloon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
77 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

We enjoyed our stay here! The bed was good, the room a bit small without any windows (well there were windows near the ceiling, so there was light, but you couldn't look outside from our room). There are rooms that do have windows. The shared bathroom is good and clean.

The communal area is very nice, there are computers, there's wifi, and tv. There is a nice breakfast area too. The location is convenient, easy to walk to the center.

The staff is very helpful and can arrange good tours for you.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marlies84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights during peak season around Christmas.

We stayed in a double ensuite room which was big and clean. We had one which overlooks the garden. Inside the room there is a small add on bathroom which is open roof so not much privacy! The bathroom is quite old and small with black mold around the edges. You get hot water for about 3-5mins then it goes cold. This happened even when we left the water heater for a long time. Its a pain as it is quite cold in the cameron highlands so you really want at least a warm shower!

The actually location of the guesthouse is on a hill next to a church so it is very nice and peaceful. Good that it is close to restaurants and shops of tana rata but its set back nicely.

We didn't find the staff to be friendly at all. Its been one of the least friendly places we have been! Im not sure why - may be they were too busy. Even giving a drinks order for breakfast or a cup of tea met with a sigh and a look of annoyance! When we went to book a tour, the lady was quite rude to us and again, just looked annoyed that we were talking to her and asking questions!

They held a BBQ when we were there and we wanted to go along but again, the guys seemed a bit rude to us. My friend is Muslim and when asked if the meat is halal they looked at here and asked her if she was Muslim. When she said yes, they hesitantly said yes it was halal. They have posters up saying they do not serve halal food so we wondered if the BBQ was halal or not - she decided not to risk it.

When we walked about tana rata, we found the locals to be super friendly and nice so were quite disappointed with fathers guesthouse. Even though the rooms are adequate enough we wouldn't stay again due to the staff. I think being busy isn't really a good excuse for being rude and unfriendly.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neat00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tanah Rata hotels
1.4 km away
Hotel De' La Ferns
Hotel De' La Ferns
#3 of 12 in Tanah Rata
3.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
0.5 km away
Heritage Hotel Cameron Highlands
0.7 km away
Century Pines Resort
Century Pines Resort
#7 of 12 in Tanah Rata
3.0 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Gerard's Place
Gerard's Place
#2 of 27 in Tanah Rata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
0.6 km away
De'Native Guest House
De'Native Guest House
#1 of 20 in Tanah Rata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.2 km away
Cameronian Inn
Cameronian Inn
#8 of 27 in Tanah Rata
3.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Father's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Father's Guest House

Property: Father's Guest House
Address: Number 4, Jalan Mentigi | 200 meters across Maybank, Tanah Rata 39007, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Pahang > Cameron Highlands > Tanah Rata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Tanah Rata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Father's Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fathers Guesthouse is situated 2 minutes walk to Tanah Rata town/ Unititi Express bus stop. Located across the road from Maybank, behind Twin Pines Chalets. Close to shops, restaurants, banks, money changer, and pharmacy and laundry service. Clean, cozy, affordable and comfortable rooms, friendly service and ideal + peaceful location, make it the place to stay for backpackers & budget travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Father's Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Father`s Guest House Hotel Tanah Rata
Father's Guest House Cameron Highlands/Tanah Rata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing