We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“stay here if you dont need soap and shampoo!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
HCG Residence Mansion Hotel
Ranked #4 of 10 Tabaco City B&B and Inns
Las Vegas, NV
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“stay here if you dont need soap and shampoo!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

I have stayed with HCG Residences mansion twice and I am giving my first hand, non biased review of the place. Stay here only if you dont need tissue paper, soap, and shampoo. We were in a party of 3 people and was only provided with 1 soap and 1 shampoo for our stay. According to them, it was their hotel policy that they only give out 1 soap and 1 shampoo, even if you are 5 staying in your room(for the executive rooms). We paid extra for our bed, and yet the soap given was only one for the three of us. Also, the supervisor cannot be found when my companion had an upset stomach and not provided toilet paper, according to them, they already gave us the days supply. Their toilet paper was 1 ply, so it is not enough for 1 day. Also I had a fight with their supervisor(avoid this guy at all cost, name of Wilson) as he does not have any public relations with the guests, claiming that they dont give out soap for the guests. He was also nowhere to be found when the girl at the front desk(Aiza) who doesnt have any public relations as well, was telling me that I have to wait for their supervisor, as he has the keys to the stock room for the supplies..hello? so if you need shampoo or soap, the only guy who has the keys to the stockroom was their supervisor. They claim to be number 1 in Tabaco but with this lousy service, you better stay at the other hotels as they dont have any ettiquette handling guests.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bingowingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    4
    2
    1
    4
See reviews for
1
4
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
476 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 644 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2010

The executive room (1900p) was large and comes with a 19” TV, DVD player, kettle with coffee cups, fridge, hot water in the shower and sink, makeup table/writing desk, table with 2 chairs, AC, ample cupboard space, but no soap.
There are nice art deco touches in the room and restaurant.
Contact info: hcg_reeidencemansion@yahoo.com 0915 777 8311 / 052 830 3206
Breakfast is included in the rate and they have very good brewed coffee
The hotel restaurant specializes in Japanese cuisine and I would recommend their California Maki with mango and imitation crab – have it in your room with a glass or three of wine. Other excellent dishes include: the Yasai Itame (Japanese mixed vegetables), the Japanese House Chicken Special, the Japanese Chicken Cracker, and the pork Bicol Express in coconut milk.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank driftdiver1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gladesville, Australia
Level Contributor
465 reviews
150 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,783 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2010

The HCG Residence Mansion Hotel is located on the main street in Tabaco City approx 2 kms from the ferry port, gateway to the Cantanduanes Islands.
The hotel is conveniently next to a number of fast food franchises & is down the road from the old colonial St John the Baptist Church.

The rate was not overly high at approx 900 Peso for a very clean room in a secure building. The furnishings were fairly new & not the cheap type found in many holes. The ceiling light was very cool & gave the room a soft glow which in hindsight created a very calming vibe in the room. The room space was used very well & had a fitted bench. The 51cm TV had cable & the remote for the TV & aircon were given to me upon check in.

The toilet had an automatic ventilation fan that sprang to life when the light was turned on, there was a sit-down toilet but no separate shower. I could smell the pine-based detergent in the bathroom & felt good knowing the room had been cleaned or maybe the strong fumes were the reason for my good mood

The hotel is located on a vibrant street with a market for locals located across the road & is a great local atmosphere to wander in, there is much activity on the street up until sunset where the city quietens down a fair bit. It’s a fairly good place to rest if exploring the Bicol region & a great base to catch a ferry thru the straits to the Catanduanes Islands.

Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
Helpful?
9 Thank The_Pale_Ridah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai va USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2009

Actually my third stay in this hotel.
Positive-
+ Rooms are extremely clean.
+Centrally located
+Inexpensive Laundry Service (30 pesos per 5 kg)
+24 hour Armed security at entrance
+Excellent value and room selections ( 900 pesos - 2300 pesos)
Negative-
-No safe box in rooms. (Common throughout most provincial towns)
-Steep flights of stairs to access rooms( not disabled person friendly)
-I ate at the restrauant 2 times, I got sick 2 times.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bjjfighter35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chengdu, China
Level Contributor
1,160 reviews
326 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,179 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2009

Tabaco City is hardly a well-known name amongst travellers. Like much of the Bicol region, and indeed the whole of The Philippines, it attracts very few visitors, especially when compared to such popular neighbours as Thailand and Vietnam. But this part of Luzon has a lot to offer- everything from the Mayon volcano to historic churches and quiet beaches. This particular city is also the port of embarkation for ferries to Catanduanes, an island that offers lots of off the beaten track travel potential. So adventurous travellers may well find themselves overnighting in Tabaco.

If you do, we would recommend staying at the awkwardly named HCG Residence Mansion Hotel, as it was in every way superior to the other hotels we looked at in this price range- around $20 a night. Whereas the main competition had lazy staff who actually tried to hide when we came in, at HCG the staff in both the lobby and the restaurant gave us a warming greeting every time we walked by. The restaurant was clean and attractive and its menu featured tasty Bicolano specialities. The rooms were simple but adequate, with cable TV and hot showers. This place is all you need while visiting Tabaco City.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Raymond W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tabaco City
23.1 km away
Hotel Venezia
Hotel Venezia
#1 of 13 in Legazpi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
23.6 km away
Hotel St. Ellis
Hotel St. Ellis
#9 of 13 in Legazpi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
0.0 km away
JJ Midcity Inn
JJ Midcity Inn
#1 of 10 in Tabaco City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.7 km away
Mayon Backpackers Hostel
23.2 km away
Neuhaus Inn
Neuhaus Inn
#3 of 9 in Legazpi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
22.9 km away
No photo provided
Night & Day Inn
#5 of 9 in Legazpi
2.5 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HCG Residence Mansion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HCG Residence Mansion Hotel

Property: HCG Residence Mansion Hotel
Address: Ziga Ave, Tabaco City, Luzon, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Bicol Region > Albay Province > Tabaco City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Tabaco City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing