We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Exceeded expectations”

Review of Villa Kalithea

Villa Kalithea and its private swimming pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Villa Kalithea and its private swimming pool
Sitting area with fireplace Pendamodi is a tradtional farming village
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
Villa Kalithea and its private swimming pool
Sitting area with fireplace
Pendamodi is a tradtional farming village
One of the bedrooms
View from the terrace towards the pool
Villa Kalithea
Attractive interiors
The spacious living-dining area in Villa Kalithea
Beautiful country views
Villa Kalithea's private swimming pool
Excellent terrain for walking near the villa
Villa Kalithea
Villa Kalithea
Beautiful countryside aound Pendamodi
Pendamodi
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Pendamodi, Crete

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Rachel B
Bloomington, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations”
Reviewed 12 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

My family and I had a bit of flight problems and it took us over 24 hours to finally get to our villa but when I woke up and saw the view it was completely worth it. The pictures do not do it justice. The villa is charming with three houses located on the property but still giving you a very private feel. Jocelyn was beyond wonderful! She is your own personal tour guide for the week making recommendations and calling ahead for you. She even brought over breakfast and coffee for us the first day. I have no doubt if we would have ran into any problems she would have taken care of them immediately. All of her recommendations were fabulous from dinner to beaches to where to shop. We walked down the hill into the village for dinner and as soon as they knew Jocelyn sent us they brought us the most delicious meal and explained all the different entrees to us. She provided a very authentic greek experience for us and my family was trying to convince her to go on our next vacation with us by the end!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeteS1313
Memphis, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Small town Crete living is fantastic!”
Reviewed 24 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012
2
people found this review helpful

We (me, my wife and my parents) spent 5 days at the beginning of September at this villa in the town of Pendamodi, about 10 miles outside Heraklion. The views from the balcony, the front door and the pool area are beautiful. From the villa it was easy to get to Knossos, the port and shoreline area of Heraklion, the Creteaquarium and many other sights on the island. Take note of the recommendations that Jocelyne makes as they are well worth your while. We went to a winery near Sambas (or Sampas) and had a tasting and took home several bottles of wine. We also ate at a restaurant in the next town out, Agios Mironas I believe, that had a great view of Heraklion and the Aegean Sea. We watched an almost full moon rise over the city.
The true secret of the villa is the village of Pendamodi itself and the people that live there. Three of our nights we ate at the local taverna. Great food at a reasonable price. It was so fun to watch the whole town come out to eat and talk in the evening.
And finally, there was Jocelyne. Our flight got in very late, but Jocelyne was there to help us find the place and explain the villa's operation, even though she had to leave at 7 in the morning. Amazing!
If you want to see how life is lived on Crete, this is the villa for you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location. The village of Pendamodi and the people that lived there.
Liked least: Everything was great.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waxy13
Holmfirth, Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Absolutley perfect”
Reviewed 23 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

This villa - and the little town of Pentamodi - are a real treasure. We had never been to Crete before but would come again in a shot. The Villa here is beautidul - very tastefully decorated to a high standard, but what really makes it are the views and the owner, Joycelene. She is the perfect host - very helpful but not too invasive, really kind and thoughtful and very very welcoming. I couln't recommend it highly enough.
There is a constant breeze at the Villa - which means the temperature never gets too hot, and there are no mozi's!! My young son and his brother both loved it and took regular walks to George's Cafe in the village. Hire a car and take a trip to Matala too - a beautiful beach and enjoy the fish.
Please go and see it for yourself - I miss it already!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the owner
Liked least: The hire car!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BusyBarre...
Chesham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“So at home, away from home!”
Reviewed 17 August 2012 for a stay in July 2011
1
person found this review helpful

The villa is beautifully decorated and with so much room to relax. Whichever window you look out of the view is breathtaking! In a small village the people immediately make you feel welcome but Jocelyn (the owner) who lives nearby, couldn't do enough for us whenever we asked. Although it is a plot of 3 superb properties, you are completely private and it was just what my husband and I needed and with the private pool, our son was more than happy. It even had its own natural spring from which we filled our water bottles every morning before setting off for the day. We ate outside every night and then sat under the stars with a glass (or two) of wine...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful and beautiful views....
Liked least: Lack of places to eat locally
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Linton, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 August 2012 for a stay in July 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: Intermittent wifi
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
bette a
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“The View, The Space, The Owner”
Reviewed 24 December 2011 for a stay in May 2011

What a surprise when we parked our rental car and enjoyed the endless open views, vineyards,hills,mountains and sea view.The villa was better then what it looks in the pictures,and the owner Jocelyne was more welcome,friendly helpful and a nice cook too. We enjoyed her hospitality her wine and delicious mezes she offered us.
We will definitely come back and we already booked for 2012...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the views,the large accommodation and pool
Liked least: to come back home
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$284
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing