We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely stay but beware the mosquitos!”
Terrace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Terrace
Soline Soline Apartments
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
44 reviews
Terrace
Soline
Soline Apartments
Apartments
Terrace
Kitchen
View from the bedroom
Balcony view
Balcony
Bathroom
National park's most protected area: Big Lake and Soline Channel
Position of the apartments
Soline Channel
Restaurant SO: Enjoying traditional food
Islet of St. Mary with monastery (on the Big Lake)
Big Lake
National park area
Exploring the area
Roman ruins
Big Lake coast
Traditional collecting of the sea salt (Fleur De Sel)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Mljet Island, Dubrovnik-Neretva County, Dalmatia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
yc232
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely stay but beware the mosquitos!”
Reviewed June 29, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We had overall a very relaxing time in Soline. Incredibly quiet and serene place, with the lakes at times just to ourselves.
I just wished i had bought some mosquito repellent and antihistamine cream with us! It's lovely having dinner next to the water at night time but rather distracting after the 5th bite, with 2 on my face! There is no pharmacy nearby but shops in Polace sells repellent, with a limited supply.
We met Ivan, one of the owners on the 2nd night and he kindly arranged to provide anti-mosquito air refreshners for the room and some anti-inflammatory cream. He spoke English very well and we had a great evening chatting, learning about mjet/soline over beers.
Apartment is basic but functional with a great view overlooking the water. It's far from luxury and far removed from Dubrovnik but that really is the whole point.
The focus was more on the beautiful water, the fantastic swimming and the wholesome fresh food.
We ate mostly in the restaurant at No. 3, which serves whenever, as the others (if restaurants at all) did not appear to be very open and you needed to prebook food. Food is simple, but fantastically fresh from the outdoor grill, perfect after a day of cycling and swimming.
The house in the village are owned by various Srsen descendants. Be sure which Srsen you're staying with at which no., there are 2 Ivan's, and we got totally confused! Thanks Ivan for being so understanding!
There is a little gang of children at the village, running around and playing in the water. It's all very heart warming and encourages us to bring our own next time.
People are very relaxed here, so if you are in a hurry, fussy and expect to be catered to, it's not the place for you. We wanted to go fishing and to Korcula and it didn't happen. But it was fine, we just had more time to enjoy the lakes.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aleksanda...
Sarajevo, Federation of Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed January 26, 2014 for a stay in September 2013

Mljet - Soline is an awesome place if you love nature, the Small lake is nice for walking but the Big lake is amazing for bicycling, you can stop almost anywhere and take a swim.
Soline is the perfect place to be close with nature and enjoy in peace, its just 200m from the open sea where you can take a swim, sleep on rocks and listen to the sounds of waves..

Food and wine in Soline is something you have to try.

You can rent a bike, and enjoy in full, if needed you can go by bike to Polace, Pomena, we really enjoyed our trip to Polace, even walking is amazing. But I didnt see better place than Soline, where the open sea is and pure nature, silence, sound of waves...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Customer service is best
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lauridee
Helsinki, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“The perfect getaway”
Reviewed November 2, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Me and my girlfriend stayed here for little less than a week in august, the hottest season. We were picked up by the friendly owner Ivan who gave us some island information on the way to the village.

The village is very small with just a few taverna type restaurants. No bars, nighclubs or anything that could disturb a quiet night. The village is located at the canal that connects the sea to the small lakes of the natural park. It has a very very small "beach" which is good if you travel with kids. There are no shops in Soline but Ivan offered to take us with him when he went shopping in the nearby village.

The appartment was simple but very clean and organized. There was no ac which made sleeping a little uncomfortable at first as temperatures during daytime went up to nearly 40 degrees. Anyway we got used to it very quickly and it didn't bother us at all. Kitchen equipment is very simple but we used it only for breakfast. Cooking a big dinner with it could be a little challenging. Neither of us had reception on our phones in the village which was actually great. Wifi was available but worked only half of the time we stayed.

We ate every night at Ivan's house right by the water. Wonderful place. We had the freshest seafood you can imagine. Fished by Ivan and prepared by his family.

The natural park itself is absolutely amazing and made our holiday perfect. We are a young hard working couple and the peace of the park was just what we needed. First day we walked along the paved road along the water and searched for the perfect spot to lie down and bathe in the sun. The waterline is very rocky so finding good spots can be difficult, but worth the search when you find one. We also bought swim shoes, which made it a lot easier to get in the water without having to think about the rocks too much.

On the next days we rented bikes and a canoe through Ivan. They were delivered to the village for us. We took the whole day to cycle around the big lake and the nearby village for some breakfast shopping and another to paddle to the most amazing private spots at the lakes. Canoeing was definitely the best way to get to the most private places for a swim or sunbathe.

Even if we normally travel to 4-5 star hotels and this was far from that, I absolutely recommend this place if you're looking for a quiet getaway. If the world wasn't full of places to see I would come here again every summer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The surrounding nature and quietness
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
poopleski...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A perfect retreat”
Reviewed September 29, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Marvellous to discover such a remote unspoilt environment.
Peaceful tiny hamlet
perfect swimming in the lake
forest walks
no need to speak to anyone.
Delicious fresh fish for dinner
Friendly and welcoming host.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulcroxt...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Serene, beautiful, relaxing... Perfect.”
Reviewed July 27, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

I am sitting on our balcony writing this review at Ivan's Soline no 7 apartments watching the sun set over the horizon. Soline is set in the national park and is at the far end of it. 4.5k to be exact. There are several apartment houses here accommodating around 30 people at a guess maximum. 3 taverna restaurants, All attached to the apartments which are owned by the families who run the restaurants. I feel you are probably supposed to eat in the taverna owned by the the family you are renting from. Fresh fish is always the order of the day, caught be the owners during the same day. The view is amazing as is the ambiance. There are little braces and bathing areas dotted all around the big and small internal lakes - perfect for sunbathing and swimming - bath warm, still and shallow waters. FYI I am 37 and my fiancé is 27 but I'd average the age here at about 45. If you want to get away from it all and relax, done all your clubbing and late night bars - this would be an excellent choice. Incidentally the apartment is clean, very big and quite modern with fridge, kitchenette, decent shower and of course balcony with beautiful view of the sea and lake just 50 meters away. Owner Ivan collected us from the boat and is taking us to our departing ferry too. Highly recommend a round.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJGLondon
London
2 reviews
“Idyllic getaway”
Reviewed June 27, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Great apartment in easily the most beautiful and peaceful part of the national park, with perfect hosts.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Balcony, local seafood, clean sea
Liked least: no spearfishing in national park!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BB_Paige...
Fresno, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Most beautiful location in Croatia”
Reviewed January 16, 2013 for a stay in July 2012

This is paradise. The water is warm and great for swimming. The breeze keeps the mosquitos away. The owners will prepare a fresh fish dinner for you - it just doesn' get any better!!! The room was very clean and basic - all you need. The family was very hospitable and even took us with them to see their son perform in a Klapa performance on the island. This was by far the best part of our trip in Croatia.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and the hospitable hosts!
Liked least: no washing machine available
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing