We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Lovely boutique resort in a gorgeous location.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi
Ranked #3 of 104 Hotels in Ao Nang
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely boutique resort in a gorgeous location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

We loved our 3 night getaway to Phu Petra. It was nice to stay in a small boutique resort which had everything we could want, like massages and cocktails by the pool, room service, tours, shuttle into town. The chalets were awesome! So big and immaculately clean with all the amenities expected and more. Staff were all very friendly and helpful. My only complaint would be not enough sun beds around the pool, which is a bit of a shame as they have the room for them. We tried all afternoon to get one on our last day. Also, beds extremely firm and not to everyones liking!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vipada, General Manager at Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Dear our lovely guest:

It's very good to hear that you loved our resort and felt great with our villa and our staff's support.

Regarding to sun loungers, at the period of your stayed, we already bought more of them for a spare to our guests especially in case that we are fully booked. It was possible that our staff have not been recognized your need. However, You can request ones at Front Desk or with anyone in FB Department. They are willingly to help and just in 5 minutes they will carry that spared sun lounger for you. We are sorry about a delay in our service initiation in this aspect.

We thank you for your observations. It of course helps us to climb up to our standard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

967 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    527
    321
    78
    31
    10
See reviews for
166
540
27
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

I came here to celebrate my birthday. I love the location, the rooms, amenities and service!!! It is located near town 5 mins with tuk tuk yet it is secluded near the mountains so it has its own privacy. Rooms are extremely big and clean!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanneissmall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vipada, General Manager at Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Dear our lovely guest:

So exicited to find that you love our locations, rooms, amenities and services. I will share this information to all of my staff.

Thank you again and please come back in your next returns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

We stayed recently for 5 nights - family of 2 adults, 3 kids in one of the two room pool side locations. Rooms were excellent, plenty of space and very clean. Location wise, it's great, just a short tuk-tuk ride from town (part of the attraction for the kids ....) but still out of town as to be fair, you don't really want to stay in town. Have to mention the Beergarden across the road which simply made our visit - fantastic Thai food in a relaxed atmosphere, 2 minutes walk from the hotel. 3 happy kids and two very relaxed parents ..... with so much on offer in terms of beaches and day trips, it was still great to get back in the late afternoon to a lovely pool and room.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donncha_McCarthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vipada, General Manager at Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Dear our beloved guest:

We are glad to hear that you love our place, especially the room and pool. Upon reading your review, we found that you were very relaxing stay with us and visit another other places during a day.

Next time, please come back. Our Front Desk can be also at your assistance in your excursion planning of a day.

Thank you for giving us a chance to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

My partner and I enjoyed our short 2 night stay at this hotel. I will start off with the reception. Staff there were friendly and very helpful, providing useful information and were able to answer all our questions in reasonably good English. Following that we were shown to our room by a member of the staff whose service was great. Carried our luggage, showed us the room, gave us information about transportation.

The room was huge and spacious with a comfortable and clean bed. Due to the space, the room takes a while to cool when returning from a day outside. Bathroom was very big as well with shower and bath tub. Like stated in an earlier review, lighting in the room is dim but cozy. Apparently the bathroom door in the room we had could not be locked, although the window looking into the room could. Couples may like this idea, if you know what I mean..Our room came with complimentary Wi-Fi, which was useful for planning our days.

Breakfast was not a fantastic spread but they did whip up a pretty good omelet. Enjoyed the pancake on one occasion as well.

Hotel provides free shuttle service every hour up till about 9PM that goes to Aonang. The road leading to the hotel was dark and secluded so we decided to take a taxi when we missed the last shuttle.

Overall a very enjoyable and comfortable stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vipada, General Manager at Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Dear our valuable guest:

We are so happy to hear many positive stuff about Aonang Phu Petra resort. We are glad you feel a stay with us is enjoyable and comfortable experience. We thank that you love our place, especially a villa and bathroom, and our hospitality. We, furthermore, appreciate for your compliement in our manpower effieciency.

Regarding to the lighting in room, we are fixing it to be a bit of reader friendliness for our guests. For an observation about breakfast, we will share it with FB Team to standardize the quality and meet our guests' expectation.

Thanks again and please come back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

My husband and I have stayed at this resort for two weeks. We have no complaints about phu petra. It was fantastic. The staff were very friendly, cozy, helpful and lovely. They all knew English well and always said hello, asked us how we were and made us feel very welcome.
The lobby and rooms are tastefully equipped, spacious, very clean and totally comfortable.
This resort is the best of the best, thank you to all the staff for making my stay full of outstanding memories..
 

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vipada, General Manager at Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Dear our beloved guest:

It's so nice heard that you are very happy staying with us. It fills our management and staff's spirit to keep on working hard in every aspect.

We are developing ourselves continually to add special value to our services delivery and fulfill our guests' highest satisfaction.

Please come back in your next returns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
83 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

Stayed in December 2011 for a week. In general we liked the hotel. Villas are big and have a touch of luxury. However, the lighting inside is very poor, so if you would like to read in the evening, you better bring a torch with you. Bathroom was big and modern, but watch out for the soap and shampoo bottles. If you break one, it will cost you a fortune and you will be treated like a criminal.
They have a restaurant, but we did not use it for dinner since the food in town is considerably cheaper. The breakfast was very mediocre to say the least. Some days it seemed the food was just leftovers from last night's dinner.If you are looking for full English breakfast you better bring your lunch box with you.
Some of the staff seemed to be really inexperienced and not all of them spoke proper English.
To sum up, if you're looking for a quiet location, you will like the hotel. It is a bit outside town (gratis shuttle every hour) and it has a nice pool from where you have a great cliff view.

Room Tip: If possible, stay away from villa 10 or 11 cause you'll be facing the tool shed of the gardener...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eugene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vipada, General Manager at Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Dear Beloved Guest:

We are very delighted to hear that overall you were happy staying at Aonang Phu Petra Resort.

For your other observations regarding soap and shampoo bottles, breakfast quality, our staff's communication efficiency and the rates. Please let us identify in each areas.

For your first opinion, we actually got numbers of comments regarding the matter. As we ever explained earlier in some certain of our guests' reviews, we think we'd better stop to explain and maybe find other alternatives for our guests. For changes, this might take some times since we need to bring it for a discussion in management meeting. However, please understand us when we charge our guests, we do it properly and honestly. Please do not call it "a criminal" or a "murderer" because it never come to our idea.

In your notice of food quality, it was actually not leftover food from last night but it had to do with its tastes and looks that I already shared with chef for an improvement in this aspect.

As you mentioned about communication skill of our staff. It is true for some of our staff. We actually train them toughly and consistently. Some of them are not the fast learners and need some times to get up to our standard, we truly sorry for such inexperience staff who dealt with you.

For your viewpoint of overrated, please note that the period you stayed was in peak season and please place your trust on us that the rates is competitive to others with the same category of other hotels/resorts.

We thank you very much for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor as they enable us to assess our offerings and identify areas of improvement. We promise to climb up, enhance ourselves and continually intiate outstanding and remarkable services to all guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

Nice, cozy & peaceful place... friendly staff.. especially the guy who did our check-in (i forgot his name but he can speak malay), he have alot of patience entertaining our stupid question heheh. Not forgetting the restaurant staff and their non stop smiley face. It will be nice if they have more tv channels and it will be perfect if the swimming pool close at 10pm.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arrisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vipada, General Manager at Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
Dear our lovely guests:

How nice it is to hear that you have a very wonderful stay at Aonang Phu Petra Resort. Your falling in love with our staff's Thai smile and their unique serving characteristic will be definitely passed on to them. They must feel real good in this matter.

For swimming pool closing time, we thank you for your observation and suggestions. Upon our guests' request to extend the using time, we are flexible enough to accomodate a bit of extending time for them. As the policy set up to close the pool at 7.00 pm. due to the factor of its cleaning and clearing system to make it in good shape for the next following day. Hope your kindest understanding in this matter.

Any requests, we are attentively to serve our guests as best as we can.

Thank you for placing your trust on us. Keep on recommending! It is a matter of us to step ahead.

Please come back here in your next returns.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0.4 km away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 104 in Ao Nang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
1.4 km away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
2.3 km away
Centara Anda Dhevi Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort
2.5 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Krabi Ao Nang Beach
2.2 km away
Krabi Resort
Krabi Resort
#14 of 104 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi

Property: Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi
Address: 521 Soi 11 Moo 2 Tumbol Aonang | Ampur Muang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ao Nang
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ao Nang
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ao Nang
#4 Family Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi 4.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Krabi, Aonang Phu Petra Resort is set amidst mountains in stunning natural surroundings. The resort features spacious villas and suites located by the swimming pool or hill. Guests can enjoy swimming in the outdoor pool and free Wi-Fi throughout the resort. Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi, offers beach and airport transfers. Krabi Airport is a 30-minute drive away while Aonang Beach is 10 minutes away by car. Modern rooms feature classic dark wood furnishings and spacious balconies. Each has a cable/satellite TV, DVD player and coffee-making facilities. Bathrobes, slippers and a hairdryer are provided. Massage services are offered at the resort and a library corner allows for quiet reading. Other facilities include a tour desk and children*s playground. Motorbikes can be rented for convenience. Sila Petra Restaurant serves local and international dishes. Enjoy mountain and pool views while sipping cocktails at Phu Anda Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi Hotel Ao Nang
Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi Ao Nang, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing