We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful garden”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Somkiet Buri Resort
Ranked #62 of 111 Hotels in Ao Nang
Reviewed 25 May 2015

Lovely setting in a tropical garden with beautiful wild life we saw a monkey and squirrels while eating our breakfast. The garden was well groomed and clean. Pool was great, looked new.
Breakfast was ok but not many choices, we enjoyed the omelettes.
Rooms were large but the bathroom was a bit dirty.
There was only one English station on the TV which were movies no English news stations.
Free Wi-Fi
Great Location with a short walk to the beach, shops and restaurants .
If it rained there was no undercover to get to your room.
We found no problem with the staff, one girl at reception was not as friendly but she was ok, the other one was delightful. Most of the staff were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: We would prefer a room near the pool other room are a bit of a walk to main area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank JanisBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (386)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 386 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2015

The advantage is location wise very good. Close to the beach and close to heaps of restaurants at the main road. Lovely garden, peaceful and nice pool.
The disadvantage is service, No toilet accessories replaced. rooms need to be upgrade is too old furniture...Can understand the hotel is under construction.

Room Tip: best surrounding, quiet and comfortable, especially the pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lynncapri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2015

It's the third time we stayed in Somkiet Buri. Probably sadly the last time. Its just such a shame as the garden and the pool are so beautiful and the price is very reasonable. The hotel is located very good as well. Close to the beach and close to heaps of restaurants at the main road.

The reason that I give only three points is that the managing and the service is just bad.

When we arrived there was litter lying in front of the room (visibly from a bathroom bin) and the boy who brought us the bags into the room must have seen it and didn't cleaned or organised to remove it. Had to take it away myself as it unnerved me.

The room itsself was clean.

The breakfast was poor. Only bits of food left (one pinapple piece, two half pieces of saussages, 1 banana, no milk for two coffees....). Came around half an hour before the breakfast finished. So should be more left or at least refilled properly.

AC worked well. Nice size room with outlook onto pool, which is surrounded with wonderful tropical plants. Toilet didn't flush well. WIFI slow.

Nice oasis in Ao Nang but to feel the guests welcome and happy, this hotel has to work on a better service.

They are building a big hotel next door so could be loud at the time.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gaboux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2015 via mobile

The Somkiet Buri has a lovely garden and nice spacey rooms. Unfortunately there are a couple of points which aren't so good and which are quite important for me. The ladies at the reception are not helpful at all and hardly ever smile. We had a pickup at 1 pm and asked if we could check out a little bit later. She didn't even bother to check the bookings. She just lied into our faces that people are coming after us. And only after that she made the mistake to ask our room number! Horrible attitude as a receptionist. The breakfast was below average. We weren't early but still there wasn't much left and they didn't really bother to bring more fruits for example. Our bathroom is definitely in need of a makeover. The toilet roll holder just fell off as soon as you touched it and the flushing didn't work properly. Another point were the major construction works going on just next door on both sides. It's not their fault but they didn't mention it all when we booked.

Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
Thank pipiwharauroa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2015

Firstly the positives. Lovely grounds, peaceful and nice pool rooms and nice pool and good location. Now the negatives. Unfortunately the staff look they do not want to be there. No smiles or hello. The cleaning staff are the worst. We had 5 cleaners come in to do our room. They made the bed and that was it. No tea, coffee, no toilet paper, no bin emptied, no towels replaced, no toilet or bathroom cleaned. It was only when I complained that this was done by a surly sour faced cleaner. Very disappointing. It was not just our room but also my sons room and family friends room.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank michelle b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2015 via mobile

A few mins walk to aonang beach. So much life and entertainment around. I loved the resort and grounds. The rooms were stunning but a bit dirty. I had to call the staff to clean again and it was a very half hearted sweep. But other than that I very much enjoyed my stay and would recommend it.

Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
Thank Caitlin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2015 via mobile

We choose this facility because it is located near aonang beach and yet so private and a bit far from busy street. The check in process is fast and the staffs here were really helpful in explaining to us about our room, breakfast and things to do while in krabi. Upon entering the room we like it immediately because of the nice and relaxing ambience.
The room was a bit sandy and not clean enough. There is not enough place to put our luggage open and shopping bag. The breakfast is certified halal but the choice is very limited, after 3 days of having breakfast there, we have no idea what to eat anymore.
There is always room for improvement and we really hope they can improve it in future.

Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank natasya5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0.5 km away
Aonang Princeville Resort
Aonang Princeville Resort
#38 of 111 in Ao Nang
653 reviews
0.2 km away
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort
0.4 km away
Krabi Tipa Resort
Krabi Tipa Resort
#25 of 111 in Ao Nang
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
The Verandah
The Verandah
#20 of 111 in Ao Nang
325 reviews
0.3 km away
Aonang Orchid Resort
Aonang Orchid Resort
#60 of 111 in Ao Nang
525 reviews
0.7 km away
Ao Nang Phu Pi Maan Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somkiet Buri Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somkiet Buri Resort

Address: 236 Moo2 | Ao-Nang Muang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 111 Hotels in Ao Nang
Price Range: $53 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Somkiet Buri Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Somkiet Buri Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somkiet Buri Hotel Ao Nang
Somkiet Buri Krabi
Somkiet Buri Resort Krabi/Ao Nang, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing