We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location Great Environment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Somkiet Buri Resort
Ranked #62 of 111 Hotels in Ao Nang
Reviewed 16 September 2015

Value for money. Located along the busy street of Ao Nang. 5mins walk to the nearest McDonalds or Starbucks. Lots of local restaurants and massage parlors nearby. Very convenient. I have already stayed here for 4 times in the last 6 yrs. Staff are very friendly too!
Just note that if you prefer to shower with hot water, please shower before sun set as this is a small resort. Many small resorts there have the problem of providing constant supply of hot water. There will still be hot water at night but may not last more than 20-30min if you take loonngg showers.

Room Tip: Pool Side Rooms are very nice with decks where you can relax with a book and a drink!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aliciatph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (386)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 386 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2015

1. My first time spending more than 50USD per night for a hotel stay and I enjoy every single night and every single dime! (I am a budget traveler)
2. The location : Convenient! Near to busy Ao Nang. Near to all amenities and facilities. You just name it. Tailor? money changer? Convenient store? Massage parlour? Restaurants? Trips operators? Tuk-tuk? Motorbikes rental? The list can go on and on...
3. The ambiance : Green...Pleasant...Relaxing...
4. Swimming pool : awesome! Loved the design!
5. Breakfast : Fair amount of selection from western to local dishes. All taste good though!
6. Friendly staff who kept our belonging. we cant have early check in so we decided to leave our stuff and roam around.
7. Get ready to walk to your room.

Room Tip: Near to the swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank FatinoaVivatin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2015 via mobile

Room are big and spacious..Conveniently located..Walking distance to shop..Prevoously owned by muslim by the owner has changed so unsure whether its still halal resort though..

Good for families and kids as the swimming pool is big n clean

P.S. Please do get rooms near the pool as its nicer.

Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Tinki Kutti H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2015

We stayed here for one night while visiting Krabi. The hotel itself is located away from the hustle bustle of the main area despite being in the middle of it. Lovely gardens, natural pools mark the property, and the walk leading to our room was pretty. The rooms were huge, comfy and clean. Our group of 4 stayed in one room which had three beds. Everybody slept comfortably. The breakfast was buffet style, however, the items offered were limited. Overall, a decent place to stay if you are looking for a hotel in Krabi area.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samira S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2015 via mobile

I visited this hotel in the 1st week of March for my honeymoon. It was an extremely average experience. We understand that considering the jungle theme there would be a lot of mosquitoes but the staff out rightly refused to give us any repellent. There was minimal service, for example, the soiled plates of the food we ordered in our room remained outside our door for 2 days inspite of multiple calls requesting them to pick it up. The 2 things we liked were the proximity of the hotel to ao nang beach and the food in the hotel restaurant. The overall experience was average considering the cost we paid for our accommodation.

Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Vrajesh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2015 via mobile

Positives: We stayed with our toddler and opted for the family room so she had a separate place to sleep. The room layouts and large spaces in each room were great meaning she had plenty of space to play and run around.
The gardens, restaurant and pool area were really luscious and rustic. The pool was clean and large enough for our needs.
Negatives: unfortunately there were more than positives. The wooden pathways (raised platforms) throughout the hotel added a certain charm but were dangerous for kids falling into water or off high drops.
The mozzies were horrendous in the gardens, restaurant and made there way into our rooms through open bathrooms and windows and doors and ceilings that don't seal properly. If you really don't like mozzies don't stay here!!!! We had mozzie coils and repellent constantly but still got bit. The hotel didn't burn coils in the restaurant area and I saw no sprays being used.

The cleaning staff were terrible, 3 people 'cleaned' our room daily and often forgot to replenish things. All they appears to do is make the beds, empty bins and clean the toilet. Our benches or basins were never wiped and the showers floors and outside furniture was never cleaned. Because we had a kitchenette if cleaners aren't prepared to wipe benches the they should supply detergent and a cloth as ants started making there way in quickly. If we had stayed in a $20 a night bungalow I would understand but the price we paid for the room we should get the basics.

The restaurant staff, cleAners and grounds people were all really uninterested and not very friendly. No hellos or smiles and they looked inconvenienced if you asked for a spoon or something at breakfast. The other hotels we stayed at had much better vibes with staff smiling and playing with our daughter or looking pleased to help if you asked for something.

Wouldn't stay here again.

Stayed: June 2015
Thank Kate D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2015

First impressions of this place were all good. The gardens are spectacular! we saw monkeys and squirrels while eating our breakfast. There were some big lizards that lived in and around the central pond. Great for the kids to experience. Beautiful swimming pool. the surrounds were second to none that I've seen! The rooms were big and spacious. One negative to our room was that the neighbours living area looked straight into our shower. no curtains. So if you are given room 1005, you may want to request something be put up. The cleaners, although pleasant, were not overly thorough. Your bedding is supposed to be changed daily, and they were not. The cleaners were in our room for probably 2 minutes. Sinks weren't wiped. It was very basic. Now to the biggest issue. 2 of our party of 7 ended up with dengue fever. As mentioned earlier, there is a central pond, a great breeding ground for mozzies. I understand that they cannot control mosquitos, but some warnings in and around the hotel about the dangers of dengue and the possibilities of contracting it would have been great. We would have been more diligent with the insect repellant.
I actually would recommend this hotel. Our stay was pleasant. It is in a great position, and it is beautiful surrounds. Hopefully the management will sort out the cleaning situation. And remember to bring the insect repellant and buy a tin of bug spray at 7/11 to spray the room at night.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank slpat72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0.2 km away
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort
0.4 km away
Krabi Tipa Resort
Krabi Tipa Resort
#25 of 111 in Ao Nang
643 reviews
0.5 km away
Aonang Princeville Resort
Aonang Princeville Resort
#37 of 111 in Ao Nang
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Phra Nang Inn
Phra Nang Inn
#29 of 111 in Ao Nang
853 reviews
0.2 km away
The Verandah
The Verandah
#19 of 111 in Ao Nang
325 reviews
0.3 km away
Aonang Orchid Resort
Aonang Orchid Resort
#60 of 111 in Ao Nang
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somkiet Buri Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somkiet Buri Resort

Address: 236 Moo2 | Ao-Nang Muang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 111 Hotels in Ao Nang
Price Range: $52 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Somkiet Buri Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Somkiet Buri Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somkiet Buri Hotel Ao Nang
Somkiet Buri Krabi
Somkiet Buri Resort Krabi/Ao Nang, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing