We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Top notch self catering”

Review of The Long Barn

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
7 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Appleton le Moors, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
WirralBun...
Wirral
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Top notch self catering”
Reviewed May 16, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

To go with Simon's review below -
We spent a lot of time searching for a self catering property suitable for 6 couples and one single person. We were flexible on location but had the following desires:
- in a rural location with walks from the door
- within walking distance of a pub (and not via an unlit country lane!)
- multiple bathrooms (with as many ensuite as possible)
- a dining table where we could all eat together
- comfortable and spacious lounge area
- practical kitchen
- outside space
- not too expensive
All of these desires were well and truly met at The Long Barn and more (the boot room, the parking space and the up to date entertainment systems were a real bonus!) The owners were very helpful and welcoming without being intrusive.
All in all, fantastic accommodation (a bit like being in a luxury hotel where you can raid the fridge any time you like!) and very good value for money. We are about to book for next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space in the property and the way it has been designed and decorated
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon_Dra...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Excellent Attention to Detail”
Reviewed May 9, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

The owners have gone to a great deal of trouble to make this a really top quality group accommodation venue. The home made: granola; bread; marmalade and cakes awaiting you on arrival and the chocolate brownies for your trip home demonstrates an attention to detail that is also present in the barn itself. Not one of the 7 rooms was better than another so everyone was happy, the towels were the thickest I've ever seen, the mattress on the bed was awesome. The free sky, spotify via Sonos were brilliant. The kitchen with two dish washers, two ovens, coffee making machines made cooking almost fun! Drying room - the lounge sat about 26 never mind 14. Excellent Accommodation - well done. And the weather ..........

How helpful were the directions to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The attention to detail
Liked least: the fridge door opening in front of the kitchen door !
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelbug...
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wow !! fantastic place luxury at every turn”
Reviewed April 19, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We are a group of girls who go away every year for weekend break. This is the best place we have ever rented by far.
Luxury bathrooms with luxury towels and bathrobes. Beautiful kitchen with high end cookers, fridges etc and bonus of 2 wine fridges !!
Owners have thought of everything to make the stay perfect. Lovely touch of home made fresh bread and lemon cake as well as Sloe Gin on arrival.
Local pub within walking distance, very friendly, good food,
We will certainly be returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandy P
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Spoilt”
Reviewed April 18, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We just arrived home after the best girls weekend at the Long Barn . It was pure luxury from the start , the owner was really helpful and the home made treats were delicious ( the sloe gin especially ) . We felt spoilt all weekend with the surroundings and we wanted for nothing .
We hope to go back next year for our annual gathering and will definitely tell our friends .

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Luxury
Liked least: Coming away !
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally C
Cheshire
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Luxurious accommodation”
Reviewed April 17, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We rented this amazing place for a 80th Birthday family get together, from the moment that Ian met us and showed us around we knew that we had chosen a gem. Everything that you could possibly want when self catering for a large number of people had been thought about and supplied, we really wanted for nothing. As other reviewers have commented on the basket of goodies is a lovely gesture but the present for the journey home leaves the best to the end! Each of the 7 bedrooms are tastefully decorated and well appointed, no need to squabble over which one to choose as they are all fantastic rooms. We were fortunate that the weather was kind enough to allow us to spend a few hours outside to enjoy the lovely courtyard garden. Finally to show just how generous the hosts are, the few things that were inadvertently left behind were posted back, completely free of charge......you really can't expect more than that!

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BangleyTr...
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent venue for group of friends”
Reviewed March 18, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We're seven couples (friends and neighbours) who've stayed in country houses/farmhouses etc before - all lovely but someone always gets the rubbish bedroom so when we found this gem of a property we were thrilled. Ian and Jackie have created the most stylish, comfortable, modern space where every single thing had been thoughtfully provided. The atmosphere is warm welcoming and relaxing and the welcome pack of goodies was completely wonderful. Endless crockery, glasses, sharp knives, kitchen equipment on hand, excellent bedrooms all with en-suites, huge relaxing sitting room with Sky TV if wanted - and all the with Moors Inn pub within walking distance for drinks and dinner when you don't want to cook! Ian was on hand for us with any help or queries but not at all intrusive. We would all go back without a doubt!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was just right
Liked least: Can't think of anything
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keilahbee
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful 5* barn and very friendly hosts”
Reviewed February 8, 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I booked the Longbarn for a weekend away for my friends Hen party and we were all bowled over with the barn and the very kind owners. The accomodation is absolutely faultless, incredibly stylish yet homely and practical.

All of the very elegant rooms had their own ensuites, hairdryers and bath robes - ideal for a girly weekend away. The kitchen was well stocked with all mod cons and the inclusion of 2 dishwashers was very useful for a group of 14. On arrival Ian the owner had kindly signed for our tesco order which had just arrived and had put our champange in the wine fridges to chill. His wife Jackie had made a wonderful lemon cake and we also were left a welcome pack of homemade granola, marmalade, bread and sloe gin - such a lovely thoughtful touch. The large dining room is ideal for dinner for 14 and the very large lounge has comfy sofas and an excellent wood burning stove. There is even a boot room, equipped with a washing machine and drier for your clothes after a wet walk.

It is set in a pretty village in North Yorkshire that even managed to look lovely despite heavy rain.
We would all highly recommend the place for a group holiday or a hen party destination. Thank you Ian and Jackie for letting us stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing