We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (139)
Filter reviews
139 results
Traveller rating
37
61
30
10
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
37
61
30
10
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ocean front gin house small island laid back dive shop golden rock dive center place to stay lunch and dinner great job yogurt omelet dive trip historic building old world charm your choice bar restaurant my other half
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 139 reviews
Reviewed June 19, 2018

We were a group of nine, and received terrific service and attention at The Old Gin House. And the Gin and Tonics (made with Tanqueray 10) were exceptional. Rooms were comfortable, food - especially breakfast - was very good, location perfect for we scuba divers, near Scubaqua. Some of use were in the Ocean View units, some in the garden units, near the pool. Rooms were similar,

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tursiops41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldginhouse, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Gin House, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2018

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback with us. It's fantastic to hear that you had such a good experience with us and that our team took such great care of you. We hope to welcome you again sometime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 30, 2018 via mobile

The Old Gin House is the best place to stay at St. Eustatius.
Beautiful located at the shore with fine rooms, a ok restaurant and everything in walking distance to explore this tiny island.

Lovely staff and the hotelbar is really nice, although you never go there, because outside it's where you want to be.

Minor flaws :
Missed the water cooker and tea in the rooms, but you can make a cup of coffee.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Koen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldginhouse, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Gin House, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2018

Hi Koen,

Thank you for your review. We're happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay at The Old Gin House and that you were able to take advantage of our central location and conveniently walk to all of your destinations. We're also glad that you enjoyed our hotelbar and friendly staff. We hope to welcome you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 8, 2018

If you seek out the amenities of a big resort, The Old Gin House will probably be a disappointment. In fact, unless you go to the other side of the island, you’re not going to find anything resembling a resort. But when you realize you are on a small island far from any mainland and that Statia is not a huge tourist destination, then you start to appreciate how special this place is. The Old Gin House is a piece of history surrounded by a lot more history, all of it stuck right in the middle of paradise.

Granted the hotel could use a facelift and that seems to be underway to some degree anyway. Actually, we checked out of our first room due to some environmental issues but management promptly moved us to a different room that worked out much better for us. A property of this vintage is bound to have some issues. Internet was spotty at best and the cable TV didn't work, which I'm guessing was thanks to Irma.

The location is good, with everything within walking distance. The front desk was helpful at arranging transportation and offering recommendations on restaurants in the area. All in all, I was pleased with the hotel although the rates are a little pricey -- that seems to be the case with other hotels on the island too so not a huge deal. Still, you won’t find another place like St Eustatius and you probably won’t encounter another hotel quite like The Old Gin House. Relax and enjoy your stay in this historic place.

Stayed: March 2018
Thank ozzyinatl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldginhouse, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Gin House, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2018

Many thanks for your review and for recommending us. We're glad that you've enjoyed your stay with us and liked the location. We hope to welcome you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 7, 2018

Old Gin House was perfect for our Dive Trip. Rooms were clean, food was good, staff was super friendly and accommodating. Walking distance to the Golden Rock Dive Center and to town. Totally laid back and relaxed.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
Thank IUHOPEFUL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldginhouse, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Gin House, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2018

Thank you very much for your review. We're glad you've enjoyed our hotel, service, food and views. We're looking forward to welcome you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 23, 2018

Very nice waterfront hotel!! Beautiful views! Staff is some of the friendliest on the island. Food and drinks are great. Breakfast were more then one could eat. Plenty of choices for lunch and dinner.
When we return we will stay at the Old Gin House!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TJL2016-2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldginhouse, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Gin House, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2018

Thank you very much for your review. We're glad you've enjoyed our hotel, service, food, views and look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews