We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“do not stay here”
Review of Grand Plaza La Paz

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Plaza La Paz
Ranked #36 of 39 Hotels in La Paz
Reviewed 16 October 2017 via mobile

Lots of sewer roaches, bathroom door broken and would not close, master bedroom smells like sewer, tub dripped all night, ceiling fans rattled, tube TVs, no working remote to main TV, pool needs updating, lobby AC not working, no coffee, no microwave, expensive breakfast buffet, gave one star as staff was actually very attentive and polite.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Jorge A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2017 via mobile

My room was large but like an oven! The AC ran all day but the temperature was still 90F in the room at night. The Wifi connection kept going out. If you wanted Wifi service you had to go to the lobby! The pool was dirty lots of random things floating in the water! The restaurant food was overpriced and not good! A total disaster!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
Thank Gianni P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2017

The Grand Plaza hotel has very good facilities. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable with great beds, ample storage space and large bathrooms; flat-screen TV and WiFi are welcome additions. All of the staff are courteous and very helpful. The restaurant is good when adequately staffed, providing a very good breakfast with lots of choice.

Its singular drawback for tourists without transport is that it is well out of the main town, requiring either a very long walk or a taxi transfer. For us this was no issue as we were birdwatching and enjoying the nearby shoreline and mangrove swamps. Other than this I would heartily recommend the hotel for a relaxing comfortable stay.

(One minor problem on our first night was a large wedding party that seemed to occupy the services of almost all of the staff. This meant that service in the restaurant was very slow indeed, for which apologies were proferred.)

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2016

At first sight, the place looks really wonderful. You have a sort of beach in the back of the hotel, the rooms are pretty big and the hotel is so peaceful and quiet most of the day... the reason in that everybody is out downtown! Jacuzzi wasn't working, you can't swim the the "beach" because there is no sand and water is contaminated. The hotel is about 8 minutes from downtown but taxis charge around 100 pesos (a bit expensive for us mexicans). You spend most of the day in downtown where all touring activites and places are. I recommend staying in a hotel closer to downtown to really enjoy it all. Btw, they have no airport transport. RENT A CAR to travel in La Paz!!

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jennifer V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2015 via mobile

I stayed in the hotel after our host made a reservation for us. The rooms are with wifi and they were big enough for families but everything in the rooms is old, broke or noisy. You also will need a car to get to the town center. I don't think that i was worth the money we paid but we didn't had a chance to change it.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled on business
Thank svc769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

From the outside this place looks wonderful we where excited to check in after a long from Tijuana. We planned on staying two night but woke up in the morning and couldn't get out of there fast enough. Everything was covered in dust, dead bugs in the coffee pot. We just got a weird vibe and had to leave. If your looking to really enjoy la paz I would stay closer to downtown la paz by the board walk. We found a cheap place last minute and couldnt have been happier to get out of there.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank unhappycamper526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

For business, good, for vacation, good. Really close to the airport and a bit far from town. Taxis are not that expensive though. Very nice and quiet pool, perfect for families. All the rooms have a kitchen, dinning room and living room, so, you can go to the supermarket and load up. Nice restaurant with a veeeery good breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Paz hotels
5.8 km away
Hotel Hacienda Bugambilias
7.9 km away
Araiza Palmira
Araiza Palmira
#25 of 39 in La Paz
94 reviews
2.8 km away
La Posada Hotel & Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 km away
Hyatt Place La Paz
Hyatt Place La Paz
#3 of 39 in La Paz
588 reviews
8.2 km away
Hotel Marina
Hotel Marina
#31 of 39 in La Paz
149 reviews
0 km away
Villaggio Turistico Mar De Cortez
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Plaza La Paz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Plaza La Paz

Address: Marina Norte Fidepaz Lote A, La Paz 23090, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > La Paz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in La Paz
Price Range: $65 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Plaza La Paz 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Grand Plaza La Paz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Plaza La Paz Hotel La Paz
Grand Plaza Hotel La Paz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing