We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Posada LunaSol Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$111
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Marina(La Paz)
US$48
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$55/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hyatt Place La Paz(La Paz)(Great Value!)
US$75
US$69
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel One La Paz(La Paz)(Great Value!)
US$48
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Posada Colibri(La Paz)(Great Value!)
US$51
US$41
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$37
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
El Angel Azul Hacienda(La Paz)(Great Value!)
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$14
Priceline
View Deal
US$225
US$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$186
US$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (369)
Filter reviews
369 results
Traveller rating
236
109
18
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
236
109
18
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmar y aventurasthird floorcommunity kitchenshared kitchen areakayak tripcommon kitchenrooftop terracesea kayakingtop floorwithin blocksprivate balconybeds were very comfortablebreakfast areadrinking watermagdalena baywalking distance to the maleconcommon areas
Filter
Updating list...
135 - 140 of 369 reviews
Reviewed February 9, 2015 via mobile

Incredibly comfortable place to stay, with exceptionally helpful staff ( who double as day tour guides here- all tours very good value) and owner. Fresh squeezed OJ part of included continental breakfast, which includes nice fresh fruits. Easy 15 minute walk to the center of town,10 minutes to the southern edge of the Malecon. Nice new pool with shallow partition for young ones, who we did not see while staying here for a week.

Stayed: February 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank Drew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
outfitter, Owner at Posada LunaSol Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2015

Dear Guest,
Thanks for taking the time to post your nice comments about our comfortable hotel and exceptional staff! We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed our new continental breakfast complete with fresh fruit and squeezed OJ! Hey you're in Mexico after all where this produce abounds!
We appreciate you choosing to stay with us and look forward to hosting you again someday,
Cheers,
Mary & Ricardo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 9, 2015

This Hotel is clean, comfortable and inexpensive if you are looking for a decent place to stay. It is located in the middle of a block, so it can be hard to find, but just ask a taxi driver or call the Hotel for directions. It is not far from the Malecon, and it is the meeting place for the Mar Y Aventuras kayaking and snorkeling company. A small swimming pool has recently been completed, great for when it gets hot, and a small restaurant is open for the morning traveller for breakfast.

Room Tip: All rooms are good. The third floor is great for reading and writing---has a hammock and nice little lounge.
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank david_j_bess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
outfitter, Owner at Posada LunaSol Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2015

Dear Guest,
Thanks for sharing with others here on TA what a reasonably priced, clean and conveniently located accommodation we provide in La Paz! I think some folks on here that have complained about our price OR compare us to a hostel have not seen other accommodations in La Paz so we thank you for posting these comments and for choosing to stay with us while visiting La Paz.
All our best,
Mary & Ricardo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 3, 2015

This is a very clean and cosy place to stay. Since the hurricane they have expanded and added a pool and a breakfast area. There is a free continental breakfast of fresh fruit, fresh squeezed orange juice, a variety of sweet rolls and coffee. There are a number of comfortable hang out areas and a kitchen for all to use. It is located a few blocks from the Ocean Walk and it is an easy walk to that area for eating, shopping, walking and cultural sights. They have a free parking area and the complex is walled. It feels very safe. Everyone is very helpful. They speak English as well. The only other thing you should know is that a king bed is really two singles pushed together.

This hotel is connected to an Adventure company Mar y Aventuras that I will review as well. If you are taking a trip with them you should definitely stay at their hotel.

Room Tip: They have a variety of options from "suites" to a basic room, a king bed is really two singles. If you get one of the rooms by the kitchen / pool area, you will wake to the sound of breakfast preparation but that area also has a separate kitchen area with sink, microwave and refrigerator.
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tracie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
outfitter, Owner at Posada LunaSol Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2015

Dear Guest,
We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us in La Paz! Thanks for mentioning our new additions of the pool and breakfast cafe now serving continental breakfast with your stay. We hope we can host you again on your next visit to La Paz!
Cheers,
Mary & Ricardo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 26, 2015

We've stayed here twice and it truly is a gem. It is not 5-star, so if you need room service and an all-night bar, best to head to Cabo. But the beds are clean and comfy, everything works in the bathroom (shower heads could be updated though), and the new pool and cafe area is wonderful. We loved sitting on the 3rd floor balcony with coffee in the morning or beer in the evenings (bring your own and store in the communal fridge) with the hammock and the gorgeous plants. As others have said, the parking is secure and the location is perfect for walking to the marina, restaurants, and the malecon. The one issue we had (different room reserved for us) was resolved quickly and with apologies. One thing is very apparent when you spend more than a couple days here--it is very well managed. The staff all are always busy, all seem happy and helpful, and the "boss" is not obvious--all signs of good management.

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Entrada7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
outfitter, Owner at Posada LunaSol Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2015

Dear Guest,
Thanks so much for posting your 5 star review here on TA to share with others! We are glad to hear your found our staff friendly and that they were able to accommodate you efficiently. It's nice you enjoyed our 3rd floor palapa for coffee and beer, this was the intention for creating this space! We also appreciate you letting us know about the shower heads. They probably need cleaning! But without you bringing this to our attention we can forget about these things.
I hope you are able to visit us again on your next trip to La Paz!
Ciao,
Mary & Ricardo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 23, 2015

We stayed at the Posada LunaSol Hotel both before and after a kayaking trip with Mar y Aventuras to Espiritu Santo Island. The travel company is located in the hotel, so that was especially convenient. We stayed in two different rooms and both were clean and comfortable. We loved the third floor balcony for fresh air and appreciated access to potable water on every floor so we didn't have to buy bottled water and increase plastic waste. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful and the Malecon was easy to walk to from the hotel. Great place, we will stay there again if we return to La Paz and potentially make time for a dip in the pool.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jgo73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
outfitter, Owner at Posada LunaSol Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2015

Dear Guest,
We are happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay at our hotel before and after your kayak excursion with us! Thanks so much for sharing your comments about our 3rd floor open air balcony and convenient location. We hope to see you again soon in Baja!
Cheers,
Mary & Ricardo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews