We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”
Review of Hacienda Del Sol

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in La Paz
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hacienda Del Sol
Ranked #18 of 39 Hotels in La Paz
Reviewed 3 December 2017 via mobile

Staying with Eberhard and Renate was a great experience for our trip to Baja California. The house was neat and clean and plenty of space for the two of us. It was comfortable seating outside and a pool for our use as well.

They gave us lots of good advice on things to see and do in the area and were very Enthusiastic about sharing information about the beautiful area they live in.

Would highly recommend this for anyone who’s looking for a quiet place to stay while in the area.

Stayed: December 2017
1  Thank Marty V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eberhard H, Owner at Hacienda Del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2017

It was a pleasure to have this delightful couple with us. We also appreciated that they treated our place like it was their own.
It would be wonderful having them again here with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2017

Just returned from a week on the Sea of Cortez sailing Hacienda Del Sol's 26 foot MacGregor and had an amazing time! The boat was great - worked perfectly and was outfitted with everything you could possibly need. Eberhard was a gracious and knowledgeable host helping us plan our trip on the water, giving expert advice on the places to sail and anchor the boat as well as provisioning the boat. Sailing, fishing, snorkeling, dolphins, seals and whale sharks, anchored for the evening in a protected bay and enjoying a "sundowner" cocktail on the boat before dinner - what's not to like? We'll be back!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
Thank TNpdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haciendadelsol01, Owner at Hacienda Del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2017

What is not to like? The Sea of Cortez is gorgeous and if such a great couple has a perfect boat, they must have a fantastic time.
They treated the boat like it is theirs, taken good care of it and we will give them the boat again. Great seamanship and trustworthy sailors.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2017

My wife and I just departed the Baja to return to Canada after a wonderful winter break. We stayed at Hacienda del Sol for a week and really enjoyed our cabaña, that afforded us a chance to explore the Baja in all directions, and do some of our cooking, etc. In our excursions we were ably guided by our hosts Eberhard and Renate, who never refused a question, and often supplied us with their time-worn insights into the area as long-time residents. Eberhard also helped me out of a sticky (driving) situation with the local policia for which I am very grateful! I swam almost every morning on the local beaches where, though there is too much garbage (it's ubiquitous in the entire region), the water was delightful. If you're going to stay at H del S, you will need a vehicle to get around; Eberhard kindly loaned us the use of his Ford Explorer (I just had to pay the insurance and gas). Saludos.

Room Tip: Talk directly (via email or phone) with the proprietors, they're very friendly and speak excelle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2017

I can't imagine staying anywhere else in La Paz. Casa Corumel was perfect for our gang. Clean and comfortable lodging surrounded by a lovely desert garden and pool y palapa oasis. It's quiet and not too far from town. When I return, I'll be staying here. The price is very reasonable and Eberhard and Renate shared their local knowledge of the area. They also made the car insurance transition to use their vehicle totally seamless. I'm very pleased we chose Haciend Del Sol!

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stacia b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haciendadelsol01, Owner at Hacienda Del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2017

This where wonderful guests and it was a pleasure to have them with us.
We are looking forward to welcome them again at our little tropical paradise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2016

IT IS LIKE COMING BACK HOME AGAIN!
We visited the Hacienda del Sol many times before and are always
impressed how beautiful it is. We always receive a really warm welcome and we have already our favorite place to stay.
But every time there is something new to admire.
Right now the bougainvilleas had grown so beautiful, forming an entrance gate and climbing up in the palm trees. The tropical setup is so nice to see and after the little summer rain they had, Everything is so gorgeous and full of all the tropical birds.
As always, Renate and Eberhard where the perfect hosts and they gave us the Ford Explorer 4x4 to use at no charge!! This was great as it opened up more secluded beaches and off road trips for us.
Our few weeks in October where flying by and we are looking forward to
our next visit in February to come "HOME AGAIN." to Hacienda Del Sol.

Room Tip: All Casitas are near the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Richard V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2016 via mobile


WE WERE IN PARADISE
Living for 5 month at the Hacienda del Sol was the best decision we made.
The place is beautiful, clean, fantastic location and out of the city.
The location at the bay it is very quiet with clean air and fabulous restaurants near by. Then in a short drive we can be in the
La Paz center with all the all the hustle and bustle and wonderfully friendly people.
In a very short drive we will be back again at our wonderful place.
We can hardly wait to go back again for our third winter leaving in November to have a great time, tending to the flowers we planted and enjoying the countless birds feasting at the bird feeder.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2016

it was now our 5th time that we had an unforgettable vacation at the lovely Hacienda del Sol. Our two weeks in March where again way to short. It is like our second home there.
The beautiful tropical setup, the spacious lodgings, the spotless clean place and the Eberhard & Renate always made us feel so welcome.
We love the location which is only a 15 minutes drive to downtown. The little grocery store close by has a wonderful selection of everything you find at Walmart, only at the same or even a lower prices.
Walking to the beach for about 100 yd is our morning exercise. We love to have a dip in the water and also collect some clams for dinner.
This time we had a sailing trip with the MacGregor power sailor and when we took the Panga for a fishing trip, Eberhard gave us some snorkel gear and a spear gun so that we could fish under water also.
What fantastic bays to explore around La Paz.
We plan to go back again in late fall.
Eberhard & Renate are Wonderful, Considerate Hosts.

Room Tip: Casa Sonrisa, right next to the Pool and Barbeque, is super.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Paz hotels
8.9 km away
La Posada Hotel & Beach Club
11.2 km away
Hotel HBlue
Hotel HBlue
#2 of 39 in La Paz
219 reviews
15.6 km away
Hyatt Place La Paz
Hyatt Place La Paz
#3 of 39 in La Paz
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 km away
Hotel One La Paz
Hotel One La Paz
#4 of 39 in La Paz
522 reviews
11.7 km away
Hotel Catedral La Paz
Hotel Catedral La Paz
#1 of 39 in La Paz
205 reviews
13 km away
Club El Moro
Club El Moro
#12 of 39 in La Paz
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Del Sol

Address: Calle 3, Lote 6 | Colonia Comitan, La Paz, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > La Paz
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in La Paz
#7 On the Beach Hotel in La Paz
Price Range: $49 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hacienda del Sol is different from any standard hotel. Our guests have the option of a Studio, Palapas or Bungalows. They all are complete furnished with a full kitchen, not just a kitchenette, have their own patio, nice swimming pool with a shady palapa, a little bar to use and a BBQ. The beach is in about 100 yd and to downtown are 11 miles to drive on a four-lane. Great restaurants are close by and the next grocery store is in 3 driving minutes. Our community here is very quiet for a good night rest with our fantastic, firm, orthopedic mattresses.We also have kayaks, sail boats, fishing boats (Pangas)and Hobby Cat 16 for rent.All proceeds are donated to different local organizations like the Red Cross, Orphanage, Old Folks Home and more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hacienda Del Sol Hotel La Paz
Hacienda Del Sol La Paz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing