We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best GUIDE and ADVENTURE ever!!!!”

La Paz Whale Sharks VIP Tours
Ranked #2 of 65 Tours in La Paz
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Only by previous appointment, reduced groups, private tours and custom tours. Contact us by email. We will get back to you in less than 12 hours, or telephone or whatsapp. We run daily tours to swim and snorkel with the whale sharks, the sea lions, visit beautiful Balandra Beach, full day in Espiritu Santo Island. We also offer Private Tours customised to fit your interests and schedule. All the tours are guided (English, Spanish, Italian, French) and we offer photography and videography service. We can also arrange your fishing trip with our very experienced and friendly captains, including all the gear and live bait when available. Please contact us for more details
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed 25 January 2017

We were so incredibly lucky to go out with Anna twice. She is extremely knowledgeable, passionate and very environmentally conscious .We first went to Espiritu Santo Island to swim with the sea lions. We had awesome weather and great visibility. Anna showed us how to play with the sea lions, she has has much fun as we did. This trip also was highlighted by great scenery along the way. Anna prepares the yummiest lunch on a absolutely beautiful beach. She thinks about every detail and caters each trip to the group. She is very personable.
Then the main reason we came to La Paz, to swim with the whale sharks off of El Mogote Peninsula. And boy did we ever!!! There were seven whale sharks with us, ranging in size from 12'-22'. I was in complete awe. Anna very carefully explained how to swim with the whale sharks and how to try not to touch them. The whale sharks did not get the memo that they weren't supposed to touch us! They are truly amazing creatures. Anna is at home in the ocean and make everyone feel comfortable.
Anna also has the best captain. His name is Eddy and he is very observant and very helpful. He is a very talented captain. He pays very close attention to the guests on the boat.
Out of all of the excursions I have been on all over Mexico, and Hawaii, Anna is by far the best guide I have ever had!!
Anna also has great communications skills, very responsive and works with your schedule. She takes tons of video's and pictures and give them to you without even asking.

Thank KeyM44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna C, Owner at La Paz Whale Sharks VIP Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2017

Dear Key,

thank you so much for you great review. If I knew you were such a whale shark magnet I will bring you along everyday! We are all so happy you are your friends had such a great time, sure we did too! Until the next time, soon we hope!

Anna and Eddy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (309)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"captain eddie"
in 25 reviews
"biodegradable sunscreen"
in 15 reviews
"photos and videos"
in 12 reviews
"whale sharks"
in 174 reviews
"reef safe sunscreen"
in 5 reviews
"empanadas"
in 5 reviews
"blue footed boobies"
in 14 reviews
"takes pictures"
in 3 reviews
"longer tour"
in 3 reviews
"gentle giants"
in 12 reviews
"amazing experience"
in 16 reviews
"small group"
in 13 reviews
"private tour"
in 9 reviews
"gopro camera"
in 3 reviews
"bucket list"
in 13 reviews
"fresh fruit"
in 7 reviews
"great pictures"
in 4 reviews
Filter

175 - 179 of 309 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2017 via mobile

January 19,2017 I went on this tour with two other couples. We were with Yann, the guide and Eddy the boat captain. Although the boat wasn't huge we fit comfortably in the boat and the max guests they take on the boat is 6. The length of the tour is two hours and on the way out to where we begin looking for the sharks is about a 20 minute boat ride during which Yann describes what we are going to see and how we are to behave around the sharks. He prepared us perfectly and thus when we were in the water with the sharks everything was exactly As he had described!

Eddy spotted the sharks nearly immediately upon entering this particular part of the water where they typically see them. But we didn't see just one we must have spotted 10 or more of them during our time on the water. Yann had three snorkelers go with him first and swam them to the shark and while they viewed the shark he took go-pro photos and video. It was easy to keep pace in the water with these amazing gentle giants. Once finished, They returned to the boat and the other three then took a turn.

We continued to alternate. We had plenty of time to view and swim with the sharks multiple times. Just as we were finishing up viewing them Eddy spotted two humpback whales! We all got back In the boat and were suddenly off whale watching! It was the first of the season for them to spot whales in this part of the bay. As we got closer Eddy noted one had a buoy tangled on a left pectoral fin. He radioed the marina and suddenly two patrol men boated out to meet us. Evidently they were going to follow the whale until their version of navy seals could come out to attempt removing the buoy from the whale. A real love and respect for their wildlife.

After getting plenty of photos of the whales we headed back to the marina and took a group shot with our amazing guide and captain!

Yann then referred us to two places to have lunch. We opted for a spot right across the street from the marina and had An amazing lunch. The food was fantastic and our server was very nice and helpful making delicious selections.

Highly recommend this tour! Not only did we see lots of whale sharks but, As the ladies in our group all agreed: Yann was "easy on the eyes too" a very good looking and physically fit young man!

There are only 12 places in the world to see these incredible creatures so be sure to make the time to take this trip.

Thank Malcolm P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna C, Owner at La Paz Whale Sharks VIP Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2017

Dear Malcolm,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. Such a lucky tour with so much excitement on board.... about the whale sharks and the humpbacks of course! Yann is a passionate ocean lover that truly enjoy what he does and has lots of experience in whale watching and swimming with the whale sharks, not only here, but in the Atlantic coast too. We are glad you all had a great time with him and Eddy and looking forward your return soon. Regarding the whale, seems they were not able to remove the net at that time, but I will email Karen if I heard anything else about it
Bests

Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2017

Friend and I went on the whale shark tour option. Anna was very responsive from the very beginning and works with your schedule to create the best experience possible. She is only tour group that will take underwater video for you included in the cost of the tour. She also is seemingly the only one what cares about the animals themselves. While all other boats out in the water are churning out as many tourists possible, Anna takes special care of her tour group. It is very apparent that this is not just a business or a means to make loads of money but its a way to share her love of the ocean and its inhabitants. Highly recommended.

Thank Tim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna C, Owner at La Paz Whale Sharks VIP Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2017

Dear Tim

thank you so much for your excellent review, specially because is the first one! we are thrilled you had such a great time and you recommend us. We hope next time is just less waves !
Bests

Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2017

This was an incredible tour. I easily made online arrangements. We were on a cruise ship and finding our meeting location was very easy. I received a call when we got off the ship to let us know where to meet them. Yann was extremely knowledgeable and passionate about the whale sharks and finding them with our whale shark whisperer Eduardo was great. We would do this tour again in a heart beat.

Thank djhillel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna C, Owner at La Paz Whale Sharks VIP Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2017

dear djhillel,

thank you so much for you 5 stars review, we appreciate your feedback enormously. Is always great to hear Yann and Eddy lead you to enjoy a great tour. I am so proud of the team! we hope to see you again visiting La Paz!
Greetings

Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 17 January 2017

Ana was so easy to work with in setting up our trip. We had some bad weather and she worked with us to reschedule to make sure we had a good experience on a day with less wind and waves. We took a boat to snorkel with the whale sharks and the sea lions. I was an amazing day! The whale sharks were a little intimidating at first but Yann was a great guide and very encouraging. It's very clear that he loves the animals and loves helping others experience them as well. After the sharks we swam with a very playful group of sea lions before having a delicious lunch on what ended up being a private beach. Yann and Eddie took care of everything for us. I couldn't have asked for a better day!

Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna C, Owner at La Paz Whale Sharks VIP Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2017

Dear Amanda

Thank you so much for your review and glad to hear you enjoy it even if you where a bit intimidated at first, Yann has more than 3 years experience snorkelling with the whale sharks and he is very reassuring, We all truly enjoy our job!
We are so glad to hear you had such a great time and we hope to see you back in La Paz soon

Yann, Eddy and Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Paz Whale Sharks VIP Tours also viewed

La Paz, Baja California Sur
La Paz, Baja California Sur
 
La Paz, Baja California Sur
La Paz, Baja California Sur
 

Been to La Paz Whale Sharks VIP Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing