We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel San Felipe de Jesus
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Las Palmas Hotel(San Felipe)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (14)
Filter reviews
14 results
Traveller rating
1
8
4
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
1
8
4
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 14 reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2014

Very fun time here! Fished three days with guide,Chris, who was patient, knowledgeable and very good at spotting the tarpon. We found numerous tarpon that were eager to eat in shallow water. Our host/manager, Beto, was very friendly and informative about local Mayan history. The food was good and plentiful for all meals. Trip was booked through yucatanflyfishing and Marco was top notch. The fishing day was split into two sessions, 6-11:30 and then 3:30 to 6:30 or 7 PM. This provided a nice rest during the hottest part of the day. Will return to "Tarpon Cay Lodge".

Room Tip: Second or third floors probably quieter. Rooftop deck has nice view. Wifi available by request in lobby.
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank danielt2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Visited San Felipe with a friend in June for a fly fishing trip. The hotel is known as Tarpon Cay Lodge in the fly fishing community and has served as a home base for some well-known anglers in the past, but also serves as a hotel for folks who visit the area for bird watching. We arrived on June 24th and found the hotel to be vacant, primarily due to the heavy rains that caused many cancellations. We had our choice of rooms and went with #8 on the 3rd floor, overlooking the bay. The room was comfortable and clean with 3 beds, working air conditioning and a functional bathroom. The beds were a little uncomfortable and small, but served their purpose for the short time we were there. Dinner and breakfast at the hotel were great and the hotel owner and his family were more than accommodating. Its a safe, simple, and bare necessities kind of place. The town is clean and "La Vaselina" is a nice restaurant/bar to grab a few cold beers.

and... the tarpon fishing is fantastic.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank steelhdr80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 22, 2011

The hotel overlooks the ria (estuary) and is in a beautiful setting. We were there for the village's January fiesta and had a great time at the bullfights and rodeo. A few good restaurants with really good seafood. The hotel was attractive and the owners were terrific, but we awoke each morning with nasty backaches from the beds. Ouch. Our room had a rooftop terrace that gave us spectacular views. We stayed two nights. The town, by the way, is VERY quiet. The tour of Ria Lagartos was spectacular, but more for the other wildlife and birds we saw, and not so much for the flamingos.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dbuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 20, 2011

This place was a surprise from the moment we arrived. A pleasant surprise, that is. Its not modern, nor terribly attractive. There is no pool or easy beach access, so you're very limited to a handful of activites. The marina ajacent to the hotel is filled with fishing boats, old tires, broken concrete and mud. Next door is the abandoned squid processing plant. But if you can look past these issues, you'll find a quite hotel with a great great staff and an EXCELLENT restaurant. I stayed here for 6 days on a Tarpon Fishing Adventure. The hotel was clean and the rooms comfortable. I had a patio on the top floor that looked out over the entire area. It is beautiful, breezy and a great look out to watch the going's on in the harbor and beyond. The locals fish, fish and fish some more. We ate fish, shrimp, conch everyday and it was excellent. We had mexican food, grilled steak, fried chicken. It was a lot of fun. Beto the server and general hosptiality manager was fantastic. We all came to enjoy his enthusiam and friendly smile.
If you are interested, you can arrange for a local to take you by boat out to the public beach. Its very pretty beach and worth a visit if you are going to stay in San Felipe for more than a day or so. I should mention that the Tarpon fishing was incredible. We saw more fish in one week than you might see in a lifetime. check it out yucatanflyfishingadventures.com ask for Marco.

Room Tip: stay on the top floor with the open air roof patio
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank getsmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 20, 2010

We headed to San Felipe from Valladolid, passing through agricultural land including some planted with blue agave for tequila and arriving in the small fishing village of San Felipe just over an hour later. Severely damaged by a hurricane a few years ago, the town has been rebuilt and the community pride is obvious - lots of bright new paint, new playgrounds, clean streets. The hotel, Hotel San Felipe de Jesus (650p), sits right on the Gulf of México, a bit funky and all around great; they cater to fly fisherman hunting tarpon, a new adventure for Mike. (Note that this hotel is sometimes called Tarpon Caye Lodge when booked for fishing trips.) Our room, #8, had 3 beds, hot water, and views of both sunsets and sunrises; it was on the top floor with steps in the room leading to a balcony on the roof.

We ate our 1st dinner at Restaurant El Popular Vaselina (if for no other reason than the name is simply charming) and enjoyed a wonderful mixed seafood ceviche with conch, shrimp, and octopus - one 90p serving was plenty for us both. We liked the simple, reasonably priced meals at the hotel also.

Mike had a marvelous day of guided tarpon fishing with excellent guide Carlos ($250US) - landed 5 his 1st time out) - while I spent the day with Marcos ($125US) on a private birding tour which included lots of cranes, egrets, storks, eagles, and thousands of flamingos. We also stopped at several beaches and interesting water features and did some snorkeling. Both tours were set up by Jesciel at the hotel. A spendy few days (we're usually lean more toward lower budget places) but well spent and memorable.

The morning we moved on, the owner, Jesciel hotelsf(at)hotmail.com, drove us 45 minutes to Tizimin where we extracted money from an ATM to pay him in cash (credit cards, checks, and traveler's checques not accepted and no banks in San Felipe) and where we could catch a ride east to the dock in Cancun and on to Isla Mujeres.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank hopefulist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews