We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (15)
Filter reviews
15 results
Traveller rating
1
8
5
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1
8
5
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 15 reviews
Reviewed January 17, 2015

Hotel San Felipe de Jesus was an unexpected delight to find in the tiny (but gorgeous) village of San Felipe. We had a room with an upstairs balcony which gave us great views of sunrise and sunset and over the estuary. While we were located above the boat marina they did not prove to be a problem. We also saw flamingos from our balcony grazing on the opposite shore - since it was flamingos we were largely here for this was a bonus. The room was large and the bathroom was fine. Unlike other reviewers I have to say the beds were some of the most comfy we had in our entire trip. Jesus and his wife are very friendly and do everything to help with your stay. We did not eat at the restaurant but it looked lovely and the menu was interesting. I would thoroughly recommend a stay in this lovely little hotel.

Room Tip: Room 10 is recommended as it has an upstairs balcony which is wonderful at sunrise and sunset.
  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suebru_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 16, 2014

Very fun time here! Fished three days with guide,Chris, who was patient, knowledgeable and very good at spotting the tarpon. We found numerous tarpon that were eager to eat in shallow water. Our host/manager, Beto, was very friendly and informative about local Mayan history. The food was good and plentiful for all meals. Trip was booked through yucatanflyfishing and Marco was top notch. The fishing day was split into two sessions, 6-11:30 and then 3:30 to 6:30 or 7 PM. This provided a nice rest during the hottest part of the day. Will return to "Tarpon Cay Lodge".

Room Tip: Second or third floors probably quieter. Rooftop deck has nice view. Wifi available by request in lobby.
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank danielt2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Visited San Felipe with a friend in June for a fly fishing trip. The hotel is known as Tarpon Cay Lodge in the fly fishing community and has served as a home base for some well-known anglers in the past, but also serves as a hotel for folks who visit the area for bird watching. We arrived on June 24th and found the hotel to be vacant, primarily due to the heavy rains that caused many cancellations. We had our choice of rooms and went with #8 on the 3rd floor, overlooking the bay. The room was comfortable and clean with 3 beds, working air conditioning and a functional bathroom. The beds were a little uncomfortable and small, but served their purpose for the short time we were there. Dinner and breakfast at the hotel were great and the hotel owner and his family were more than accommodating. Its a safe, simple, and bare necessities kind of place. The town is clean and "La Vaselina" is a nice restaurant/bar to grab a few cold beers.

and... the tarpon fishing is fantastic.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank steelhdr80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 22, 2011

The hotel overlooks the ria (estuary) and is in a beautiful setting. We were there for the village's January fiesta and had a great time at the bullfights and rodeo. A few good restaurants with really good seafood. The hotel was attractive and the owners were terrific, but we awoke each morning with nasty backaches from the beds. Ouch. Our room had a rooftop terrace that gave us spectacular views. We stayed two nights. The town, by the way, is VERY quiet. The tour of Ria Lagartos was spectacular, but more for the other wildlife and birds we saw, and not so much for the flamingos.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dbuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 20, 2011

This place was a surprise from the moment we arrived. A pleasant surprise, that is. Its not modern, nor terribly attractive. There is no pool or easy beach access, so you're very limited to a handful of activites. The marina ajacent to the hotel is filled with fishing boats, old tires, broken concrete and mud. Next door is the abandoned squid processing plant. But if you can look past these issues, you'll find a quite hotel with a great great staff and an EXCELLENT restaurant. I stayed here for 6 days on a Tarpon Fishing Adventure. The hotel was clean and the rooms comfortable. I had a patio on the top floor that looked out over the entire area. It is beautiful, breezy and a great look out to watch the going's on in the harbor and beyond. The locals fish, fish and fish some more. We ate fish, shrimp, conch everyday and it was excellent. We had mexican food, grilled steak, fried chicken. It was a lot of fun. Beto the server and general hosptiality manager was fantastic. We all came to enjoy his enthusiam and friendly smile.
If you are interested, you can arrange for a local to take you by boat out to the public beach. Its very pretty beach and worth a visit if you are going to stay in San Felipe for more than a day or so. I should mention that the Tarpon fishing was incredible. We saw more fish in one week than you might see in a lifetime. check it out yucatanflyfishingadventures.com ask for Marco.

Room Tip: stay on the top floor with the open air roof patio
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank getsmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews