We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very welcome stay in San Felipe”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel San Felipe de Jesus
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in San Felipe
Reviewed 1 December 2016

The room we got assigned was a room on the second floor with ocean view. The room was very spacious and also had a balcony on the roof top. This is not a trendy hotel, but is does provide you with a very good place to sleep. Bathroom amenities and beds were good. The hosts are very nice and friendly people that take good care of you.

Room Tip: Choose a room with ocean view if possible. This way you can see the birds and the fishermen in actio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mbroek2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (13)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 13 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2015

A great Fishing and Lodging operation right on the water front. Very Clean and Comfortable rooms with great ocean views. The hotel staff along with the great tarpon fishing makes for a great experience.

Room Tip: Great ocean Views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Crazyrainbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2015

Only hotel in town, rooms were clean and a bit tired looking. No wifi. Staff were friendly and helpful. Owners were nice. Nice view of the sea and of Pelicans and frigate birds. Onsite parking. Moderate vale for money.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 192holidaymaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2015

Hotel San Felipe de Jesus was an unexpected delight to find in the tiny (but gorgeous) village of San Felipe. We had a room with an upstairs balcony which gave us great views of sunrise and sunset and over the estuary. While we were located above the boat marina they did not prove to be a problem. We also saw flamingos from our balcony grazing on the opposite shore - since it was flamingos we were largely here for this was a bonus. The room was large and the bathroom was fine. Unlike other reviewers I have to say the beds were some of the most comfy we had in our entire trip. Jesus and his wife are very friendly and do everything to help with your stay. We did not eat at the restaurant but it looked lovely and the menu was interesting. I would thoroughly recommend a stay in this lovely little hotel.

Room Tip: Room 10 is recommended as it has an upstairs balcony which is wonderful at sunrise and sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suebru_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2014

Very fun time here! Fished three days with guide,Chris, who was patient, knowledgeable and very good at spotting the tarpon. We found numerous tarpon that were eager to eat in shallow water. Our host/manager, Beto, was very friendly and informative about local Mayan history. The food was good and plentiful for all meals. Trip was booked through yucatanflyfishing and Marco was top notch. The fishing day was split into two sessions, 6-11:30 and then 3:30 to 6:30 or 7 PM. This provided a nice rest during the hottest part of the day. Will return to "Tarpon Cay Lodge".

Room Tip: Second or third floors probably quieter. Rooftop deck has nice view. Wifi available by request in lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank danielt2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Visited San Felipe with a friend in June for a fly fishing trip. The hotel is known as Tarpon Cay Lodge in the fly fishing community and has served as a home base for some well-known anglers in the past, but also serves as a hotel for folks who visit the area for bird watching. We arrived on June 24th and found the hotel to be vacant, primarily due to the heavy rains that caused many cancellations. We had our choice of rooms and went with #8 on the 3rd floor, overlooking the bay. The room was comfortable and clean with 3 beds, working air conditioning and a functional bathroom. The beds were a little uncomfortable and small, but served their purpose for the short time we were there. Dinner and breakfast at the hotel were great and the hotel owner and his family were more than accommodating. Its a safe, simple, and bare necessities kind of place. The town is clean and "La Vaselina" is a nice restaurant/bar to grab a few cold beers.

and... the tarpon fishing is fantastic.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank steelhdr80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

The hotel overlooks the ria (estuary) and is in a beautiful setting. We were there for the village's January fiesta and had a great time at the bullfights and rodeo. A few good restaurants with really good seafood. The hotel was attractive and the owners were terrific, but we awoke each morning with nasty backaches from the beds. Ouch. Our room had a rooftop terrace that gave us spectacular views. We stayed two nights. The town, by the way, is VERY quiet. The tour of Ria Lagartos was spectacular, but more for the other wildlife and birds we saw, and not so much for the flamingos.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dbuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Hotel San Felipe de Jesus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Felipe de Jesus

Address: Calle 9 A, 16, San Felipe 97616, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Norte > San Felipe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in San Felipe
Price Range: $50 - $51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel San Felipe de Jesus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing