We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (15)
Filter reviews
15 results
Traveller rating
1
8
5
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1
8
5
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 15 reviews
Reviewed July 2, 2015

A great Fishing and Lodging operation right on the water front. Very Clean and Comfortable rooms with great ocean views. The hotel staff along with the great tarpon fishing makes for a great experience.

Room Tip: Great ocean Views
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Crazyrainbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 16, 2015

Only hotel in town, rooms were clean and a bit tired looking. No wifi. Staff were friendly and helpful. Owners were nice. Nice view of the sea and of Pelicans and frigate birds. Onsite parking. Moderate vale for money.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 192holidaymaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 17, 2015

Hotel San Felipe de Jesus was an unexpected delight to find in the tiny (but gorgeous) village of San Felipe. We had a room with an upstairs balcony which gave us great views of sunrise and sunset and over the estuary. While we were located above the boat marina they did not prove to be a problem. We also saw flamingos from our balcony grazing on the opposite shore - since it was flamingos we were largely here for this was a bonus. The room was large and the bathroom was fine. Unlike other reviewers I have to say the beds were some of the most comfy we had in our entire trip. Jesus and his wife are very friendly and do everything to help with your stay. We did not eat at the restaurant but it looked lovely and the menu was interesting. I would thoroughly recommend a stay in this lovely little hotel.

Room Tip: Room 10 is recommended as it has an upstairs balcony which is wonderful at sunrise and sunset.
  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Suebru_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 16, 2014

Very fun time here! Fished three days with guide,Chris, who was patient, knowledgeable and very good at spotting the tarpon. We found numerous tarpon that were eager to eat in shallow water. Our host/manager, Beto, was very friendly and informative about local Mayan history. The food was good and plentiful for all meals. Trip was booked through yucatanflyfishing and Marco was top notch. The fishing day was split into two sessions, 6-11:30 and then 3:30 to 6:30 or 7 PM. This provided a nice rest during the hottest part of the day. Will return to "Tarpon Cay Lodge".

Room Tip: Second or third floors probably quieter. Rooftop deck has nice view. Wifi available by request in lobby.
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank danielt2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Visited San Felipe with a friend in June for a fly fishing trip. The hotel is known as Tarpon Cay Lodge in the fly fishing community and has served as a home base for some well-known anglers in the past, but also serves as a hotel for folks who visit the area for bird watching. We arrived on June 24th and found the hotel to be vacant, primarily due to the heavy rains that caused many cancellations. We had our choice of rooms and went with #8 on the 3rd floor, overlooking the bay. The room was comfortable and clean with 3 beds, working air conditioning and a functional bathroom. The beds were a little uncomfortable and small, but served their purpose for the short time we were there. Dinner and breakfast at the hotel were great and the hotel owner and his family were more than accommodating. Its a safe, simple, and bare necessities kind of place. The town is clean and "La Vaselina" is a nice restaurant/bar to grab a few cold beers.

and... the tarpon fishing is fantastic.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank steelhdr80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews