We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (440)
Filter reviews
440 results
Traveller rating
112
148
93
50
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
112
148
93
50
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the breakfast area best feature security guard beds toaster cereal cleanliness elevator border
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 440 reviews
Reviewed June 7, 2018

The room was garbage,The phone did not work, the bathroom was filthy and the soap was used for starters. The room was said to me by the cust service agent it is clean and nice .... was very disappointed.

Room Tip: Too much going on
Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank mobarr1021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cityexpress Tij... G, Gerente at City Express Tijuana Rio, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2018

Thank you very much for your comments, please lets us konw a way to contact you and takl about it.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 10, 2018 via mobile

Good weekend escape, turned not so good when it came to the hotel. Found semi-stained bed sheets, in two rooms, smelly and backed up shower area in two others and simply not 5 star clean, mostly 2 star. Outside view of the hotel seems modern and art deco, but rooms have a lot to be desired, walls were not completely clean, sink had residue, issues and more issues. Not all bad, and staff try to fix it when we complained , but I guess management really struggles with the "top hotel expectations ", as they tried, but details were not there and it seemed like we were micro-managing when we brought stuff up. $100 a night price tag over a weekend did not help and they did not perform like that price a night hotel. Does have gym, no pool, tried 4th, 5th and 7th floor, none were as clean as we expected.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank R V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cetir, City Express Tijuana Rio Staff at City Express Tijuana Rio, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2018


Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. All your comments are essential to improve our service. We will make sure that your complaints are transmitted to everyone, and make the changes to improve.

City Express Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 7, 2018 via mobile

I stayed here on friday on april 6th had a sinlge room.. It was way to small and not worth the price. I guess the only good thing i cam say it had free breakfast and close to the mall and food place.. Like other poster s say the bed was hard the a.c. was loud.. The room does not have a closet just a place to hang towels . the room did not have an in room safe. I know they probably have one at front desk. But i prefer in room..there was not enough room to move around. I can tell the rooms were for business people mainly even that.. For the same price at most hotels in Tijuana you get two bottles of water free sometimes if you ask they will give another one for free..here they give you one bottle of water free and than you would have to buy the orher in a vending machine..othee hotels have in room safe in all there roooms my room did not...rhey had shampoo but ni Conditner. If you forgot any toiletries you would have to buy them from the vending machine...for the price you pay for the hotel you can better hotel for the same price and even cheaper. The whole hotel jest felt to congested. One of the reason i chose this hotel it was one of the only hotel that was not sold out on Friday. But there was another i could of taken which i should have.. It just fekt like i was staying in a hospital or an old dormitory. Would not recommend this hotel anybody . it reminds me of a motel 6 but not as big... Everthing was basic .not worth the price..yes you do save money if you do the internet rate but still not worth that and the walk in rate is not worth it all. But the only other good thing i have to say it is in a safe area other than that i won't be returning...or recommending this hotel

Stayed: April 2018, travelled solo
Thank adam s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cetir, City Express Staff at City Express Tijuana Rio, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2018

Mr. Adma,

We appreciate your comments, and we are sorry to hear you didn’t like the concept. We look forward to see you again in our hotel.
Best Regards,
City Express Tijuana Rio Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 18, 2018

nice comfortable room and location. I would recommend this location for business or vacation travel. The security during the day was friendly and helpful. I also like that they mostly have a few taxi drivers who are on site throughout the day.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank bench796
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cetir, Director de Recepción at City Express Tijuana Rio, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2018

Dear Guest
Thank you for your comment, we will share this with our staff, and hope to see you soon in the future

Sincerely
Jorge Peon
City Express Tijuana Rio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 20, 2017

Stay was pleasant, staff friendly and easy to get to. Only con room didn't have a fridge like other city express we have stayed at and could of used extra pillows room only had two. Location is near a lot of things to do.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Marisol T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cityexpress Tij... G, Equipo City Express Tijuana Rio at City Express Tijuana Rio, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We take all guest feedback very seriously, and we're constantly improving all aspects of our service and facilities. I hope you will consider staying with us again so that we can demonstrate the level of service that we are known for.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews