We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unsafe in Capital Letters.”
Review of Hotel Nelson

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tijuana
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Nelson
Ranked #26 of 45 Hotels in Tijuana
Reviewed 30 June 2007

Hotel Nelson is on the corner of Ave revolucion by the "arches".
I had stayed there before without any problem for a weekend, but on this stay, I let my guard down, and decided to trust the front desk with my papers including an envelope with $700 cash in it to be kept in the safe. Very Bad and unsafe idea, do not ever do this there. To make a long story short, the desk clerk tipped off the local policia for that corner, and this led to my returning to the hotel later that night, being handed my envelope from the safe, and led out the door, into a waiting van, and off to a deserted street corner by the waiting local starsky and hutch.
They took my things in a most obtuse manner. I've not been back to the city since, and I am not even sure they will post this , as Hotel Nelson is an advertiser to the website. If you are reading this , Trip advisor is to be applauded for thier honesty and fairness.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank vincentto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (25)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2007

Whoever believes the NONSENSE about this being a "safe hotel", ..OBVIOUSLY did not put anything worth more than $50
in the hotel safe. TRUTH is; the hotel desk clerks have an arrangment with the local "cops" on the corner, and NOTHING is to be put past this group of crooks!
I had stayed there in the past, and had no trouble, though I did hide my cash in my locked suitcase. This recent LAST time, I ignorantly decided to trust the desk clerks with a sealed envelope of $700 in it, to be kept in the hotel safe. Came back after dinner that night, only to find a cop patiently waiting for me in the lobby, with the desk clerk who handed me my belongings, and said simply, " he wanted me to leave, no reason given.
One minute later, because I started to protest, {it became clear, this was all part of the plan}, the cop threw some handcuffs on me, drove me to a vacant corner,.. and you can imagine what happened there,.. , and then emptied my pockets taking only the envelope with the cash in it that he was tipped offf over, and was after.
$700 is not worth a life, but believe me- they would have done anything, to get that money. This was reported to the state dept in D.C., where it was quietly dropped, the Mexican embassy (ignored) and the San Diego police, who refused to take a report.
So go ahead and stay at the hotel nelson!


  • Stayed: March 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
12  Thank vincentto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2006

The Hotel Nelson is located in the heart of downtown TJ, on the tourist drag, Avenue Revolucion. On the first floor, off the lobby, there is a barbershop and a cafe. The rooms run around 45 or 50 bucks. While the rooms are a bit frayed and worn, in my few times at this hotel, I have found them to be clean. Getting a good, long night's rest is probably not going to happen at the Nelson: the street noise, the bars and the music and the craziness of TJ goes on into the wee hours, but that's one of the reasons I choose to stay in TJ---the people-watching, the street-life, the excitement of that. At the Hotel Nelson, you are a few steps from the red zone area of street prostitutes and brothel bars along Coahuila and Constitution, etc., and if you frequent those streets, please do so with some caution and common sense. Don't be stupid by breaking the law, being drunk in public, etc., and you will most likely be OK: I know there are regular troubles with cops and scams, but I've not run into problems personally, and "watching your back", not letting your guard down, is a good idea. The Hotel Nelson has been a good place for me to stay: to enjoy TJ and not have to scurry back to the border. Staying the night can be fun and the Nelson's location is right in the heart of it all.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Yodelman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank CARLOS J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Irvng W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
1  Thank Ingrid B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2010
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 相模原Make
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tijuana hotels
0.4 km away
Hotel Velario
Hotel Velario
#35 of 45 in Tijuana
29 reviews
0.5 km away
Caesar's
Caesar's
#18 of 45 in Tijuana
46 reviews
0.6 km away
B my Hotel
B my Hotel
#12 of 45 in Tijuana
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
La Villa de Zaragoza
La Villa de Zaragoza
#23 of 45 in Tijuana
58 reviews
1.1 km away
Aqua Rio Hotel
Aqua Rio Hotel
#17 of 45 in Tijuana
109 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Ticuan
Hotel Ticuan
#3 of 45 in Tijuana
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nelson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nelson

Address: Avenida Revolucion 721, Tijuana, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Norte > Tijuana
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 45 Hotels in Tijuana
Number of rooms: 92
Also Known As:
Nelson Hotel Tijuana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing