We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great value and location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palacio Azteca Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Palacio Azteca Hotel
Ranked #13 of 45 Hotels in Tijuana
Costa Mesa, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great value and location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012 via mobile

The hotel is very convenient located in Tijuana. The valet parking is free as well is the Internet. Book always the room with 2 queen beds or the king size bed.... these rooms are bigger and newer. Don't even think of booking with breakfast included - this is a waste of money.

Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank Ingo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    75
    25
    8
    15
See reviews for
42
40
19
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
169 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

Very clean - staff is very nice and they offer help for everything.
Rooms are nice and nicely decorated. Pool was not open for end of April but that was ok as it was a bit cool anyway. Taxi stand right on the property. An OXO 24 hours across the street and a pharmacy at the light. The hotel had everything we needed. They even put bottles of water in the room.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monetsgardens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

Stayed for a week and in February. The staff was friendly and most speak English.
The rooms are clean and have a relaxed atmosphere.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HKL909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

This is not a cheap looking hotel but the price is great. I stayed there for 5 days the rooms r great it has satellite. Room service is good, they speak English @ service, it has gym pool n WiFi free. U could park car there at hotel but valet only. Resturant at hotel sucks dough. Would definetly recommend it and will go there again. There are lots of resturants near by and a store right in front.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sirfar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

I loved that i arrived 1 1/2 hrs before check-in time, not expecting to be given my room key, but I was. There were 3 receptionist working togethere to get about 4 rooms checked in, without even a mention about the ACTUAL check in time or any type of early check-in fees. The room was very nice and well kept, all the furniture, bathroom and bedding looked new and clean as it should. My only regret was not dinning in the onsite restaurant which judging by the menu would have been lovely also. I would definitely stay in this hotel again and highly recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fun_in_the_sun29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tri-Cities, WA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

I'd like to start by saying that the city of Tijuana has made some great improvements over the last several years. There are newly resurfaced streets, new sidewalks, handicap accessible street/sidewalk corners, nicely maintained parks, and obvious upgrades in their electrical structure. Although I've visitied TJ several times in the past decade, I've never opted to stay in town. Because the friends I was meeting with were Mexican, we decided on meeting at the Palacio Azteca.

SAFETY --- I know that there are safety advisories associated with Mexico, especially border towns. However, I travel on business throughout the USA, and I've felt more unsafe in cities like New Orleans and Detroit, where in both cases, I was threatened by knife wielding individuals. Think about how many drug related murders occur in the USA...the statistics are astounding, and yet our media does not make a big issue over it. However, an occasional rampage at the border (where literally thousands of people cross each day) is a big news item. If you do the math, your odds of encountering a problem are extremely low (keeping in mind that you travel safely as you would anywhere...no walking alone at night, etc.).

My freinds and I decided to stay at the Palacio Azteca based on the reviews and the price. Although the hotel is a old hotel, it is well maintained, updated, and very clean. My room was spotless (I'm the type of guy that checks for grime build-up in corner, dirty doors, etc.). The room and hallways smelled fresh. My bed was very comfortable. The TV was an older CRT style television, but a decent size (I'm not a TV watcher, so not much more on that). The bathroom had a full bath/shower, toilet, and sink with large counter. The hot water was actually hot, plentiful, and of decent pressure (this is a first in my Mexico visits!).

The hotel staff were cheerful and helpful. The desk staff spoke good English (and allowed me to practice my Espanol with giggles and prompting). During my three day stay, the staff provided good recommendations for shopping and eateries. They also give you a choice in how you want your fincancial transactions processed...either in USD or Pesos. I chose pesos since my Credit Union credit card has a great exchange rate and no fees (however, the hotel exchange rate was good...not gouging like some places I've encountered).

We ate breakfast at the hotel restaurant. It was a fantastic spread of food (breakfast and lunch items, along with made-to-order omelets). The weather was a bit stormy while visiting, so we did not make use of the pool facilities, however, we did walk around the pool area and noticed its cleanliness and beauty.

Upon my departure, I had packed in a hurry, and managed to forget my laptop. I had made it back into the USA when I realized my error. I travelled back to the hotel to find my laptop waiting for me (very honest people).

In summary, this is a great place to stay-and-play at an amazing value (around $50 per night).

Room Tip: The back side of the hotel is a bit noisier because it directly overlooks a major boulevard. Street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank finewine57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

I booked my room through price line paid for it in full once I checked into hotel the receptionist insisted Priceline does not collect payment and that I would have to pay them I did and of course when I got home I called my credit card company and confirmed I paid twice I'm really upset and feel taken advantage of especially after I tried to explain to her that that's not the way it works !

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mar827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tijuana hotels
1.0 km away
Hotel Real del Rio Tijuana
1.8 km away
Hotel Ticuan
Hotel Ticuan
#4 of 45 in Tijuana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
1.0 km away
Hyatt Place Tijuana
Hyatt Place Tijuana
#1 of 45 in Tijuana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Hacienda del Rio
Hacienda del Rio
#16 of 45 in Tijuana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
1.5 km away
Grand Hotel Tijuana
Grand Hotel Tijuana
#10 of 45 in Tijuana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Lucerna Tijuana
Hotel Lucerna Tijuana
#5 of 45 in Tijuana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palacio Azteca Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palacio Azteca Hotel

Property: Palacio Azteca Hotel
Address: Boulevard Cuauhtemoc sur Oriente 213 | Col. Davila, Tijuana 22044, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Norte > Tijuana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 45 Hotels in Tijuana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palacio Azteca Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 201
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, HotelTravel.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Palacio Azteca Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing