We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Panama best of the west”
Review of Panama

Panama
Ranked #1 of 2 Dessert in Culiacan
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Panama best of the west”
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Panama is a growing chain of restaurants located in Mazatlan and Culiacan, 8 last I counted. They have awesome service, total quality control from when you enter, get seated, get your order, get serve. the menu is pretty huge, and if you dont like what you see they prepared exacly what you want.

I find Panama cheap if compared with Sanborns, Vips or Chicks, also the food a lot better than all of these

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Salvador S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    113
    31
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southern California
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Had the unfortunate rogue waitress”
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Panamas in Mazatlan always have great food and great service. Completely caught off guard with our visit in Culiacan. Went for breakfast before the morning rush. There were so many employees standing around talking to each other and ignoring our table. It was the strangest surreal visit. It's the morning. I WANT COFEE! Keep bringing coffee to my table, I'm asking. But no coffee for our table. I had to get up and ask other employees for coffee. Our waitress I think walked off the job or something. She just disappeared.

The food was delicious and I hope our rogue waitress is having better days :)

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KellenKellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Typical but tending to be massive”
Reviewed 29 April 2013

There are some limited plates you want to try because you won't be served anywahere else in the country like chicken tostadas (marinated in tomato spicy sauce), corn tamales, puerco (pork style) beans, chorizo (Sinaloa style red sausage), pollo a la plaza (broiled chicken), colachi (smashed zucchini with metled cheese) or asado de res (fried cooked beef salad). They are delicious but portiosn at Panama reduce every season, so soon, these will be nouvelle cuisine plates. Desserts are just plain flour and sugar. Overrated dinners but good if you want to know about local dishes in one single place. Several locations in town. Reservations: 717 43 43

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelMexicoOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Brunch!”
Reviewed 22 April 2013

One of our favourite places for a special breakfast! We love to share the Morning Roll, which is a giant crepe stuffed with a tasty omelete, meant for 2 to share. An interesting variety of cold fruit drinks on the menu, tho if you like a robust cup of coffee, don't order it here - it's rather watered down.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank MazatlanMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Much better than Denny's!”
Reviewed 26 March 2013

I don't think there's been a visit to Culiacan that doesn't include a stop at one of the Panamas. Honestly, they are very consistent and the food is very good. Their cakes are also incredible so it's really hard to go wrong at this place. That being said, I agree with Casabear that the service could be improved. This last trip in February, even though the place was not real busy, we kept having to ask for coffee. Our waitress did seem to be more interested in carrying a conversation with other wait staff than on looking out for us. After we were done with our meal we still had to wait a bit and finally wave her over because we had to be somewhere else. Nevertheless, the food is worth the trip. We've had groups of all ages and they all love it there.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ElPasoKid2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Panama also viewed

 

Been to Panama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing