We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (511)
Filter reviews
511 results
Traveller rating
217
144
91
29
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
217
144
91
29
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviews grand hotel macro plaza executive room traditional hotel walking distance taxi service front desk staff downtown salon chain university barrio
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 511 reviews
Reviewed November 14, 2017 via mobile

Hotel is dated and needs improvements. Rooms are small and the bathroom is even smaller. The bathtub drain did not work properly so every time I took a shower the water level was just above my ankles. The worst part of this hotel is the internet which is slow and keeps dropping every minute. I will not be staying here again and I do not recommend.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Thank Connector572200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 25, 2017 via mobile

When we entered the hotel we were immediately taken aback by its sweeping stairway and grand lobby. Photos really don’t do the hotel the justice it deserves - it is stunning! Stayed here for five days for a wedding and some sightseeing and we were very impressed with a lot of aspects but after some time some cracks seemed to show in our first impressions. One day both our rooms weren’t cleaned and the next day they were but they left dirty coffee cups on the side.

The first day we were also blown away by the buffet breakfast selection - bacon, sausage, chilaquiles, pozole, menudo, omelettes, an egg and quesadilla station, barbacoa... the choice and quality was great. However come Sunday morning it was a disaster. All hot food plates were empty and we had to wait for refills for half an hour, giving us just 15 minutes for a quick dash around before breakfast ended. Thankfully this only happened on Sunday and the other days were as good as our first day.

The executive room we had was lovely and the beds are very comfortable. Only downside is we could hear everything from the adjoining room and the executive lounge advertised seemed to be randomly open so we were never able to make use of it. Therefore we missed out on the complimentary drinks and sandwiches. Wi-fi was reliable in the room but a bit temperamental in the lobby.

The bar is a lovely room with wooden panelling and does serve food although we didn’t try it. One day it did seem to be randomly closed but other than that it seemed a reliable place to grab a drink and snack.

Reception staff were a bit hit and miss often congregating in groups for a chat so it felt a bit strange everyone listening in when you wanted something. One woman was very unhelpful and the bell boy came to assist me instead. He is definitely one of the stars of this place - really helpful and polite and nothing was too much trouble. A credit to the establishment.

Overall it was a good stay and I would return but it just missed the outstanding mark.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Accadeque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 3, 2017

This is a world class hotel with a pretty reasonable price. The lobby is beautiful the rooms are just perfect and the restaurant is superb. Its centrally located and within walking distance to many venues and the amazing "Fundidora park"

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angelrL5252EB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenteG15, Gerente at Gamma Monterrey Gran Hotel Ancira, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2018

Dear guest
We appreciate the trust of staying and evaluating our service, we are pleased to know that our location has been to your liking, we hope soon in this your home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 2, 2017

This is a traditional hotel in Monterrey. Usually I stay in San Pedro, but this time it was more convenient to be near the university where I was having meetings. The room is comfortable, with excellent beds and bathroom. The staff is kind and the atmosphere is nice. I walked around the hotel and found the location to be very safe. I would skip the breakfast, which could be improved.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MauricioBabilonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenteG15, Gerente at Gamma Monterrey Gran Hotel Ancira, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2018

Dear guest
We appreciate the trust of staying and comments of feedback, we are gratified to know that our facilities and service have been to your liking. We hope soon in this your house.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 30, 2017

You have to stay here at least once while in Monterrey. This grand hotel, close to all of the downtown attractions and shopping really is a gem of Monterrey. The history, the rooms, the fabulous dining, and bar all need to be appreciated. Stay in one of the executive rooms and enjoy the exclusive lounge. You always feel special when you stay here. Eat a Sunday brunch too- perfect.

Room Tip: Book a corner room on an upper floor and overlook the plaza.
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank WanderingOso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenteG15, Gerente at Gamma Monterrey Gran Hotel Ancira, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2018

Dear guest
We appreciate the confidence of staying, we are pleased to know that our facilities and service have been to your liking, we hope soon in this your home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews