We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Had a nice stay and we will be sure to come back” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Acapulco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Hotel Acapulco
Ranked #15 of 179 Hotels in Acapulco
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
1 review
“Had a nice stay and we will be sure to come back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2011

Our suite was beautiful, large, and had a full view of the bay. The entire staff made sure our stay was pleasant. We celebrated our 50th. Wedding Anniversary, and we were happy that we that we decided to go to Acapulco contrary to advice that it wasn't safe. We didn't see any trouble there day or night. Overall, our stay was a memorable one thanks to the staff for their special attentions with us. They became our friends and we look forward and seeing them again. Thanks again Grand Hotel Acapulco.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris41769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    150
    132
    61
    42
See reviews for
269
113
15
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2011

Have come to this hotel for many years. Since becoming the Grand Hotel it has exceeded our expectations. Rooms are beautiful and comfortable. Staff (bell hops to check-in and hotel personnel) helpful and courtious. Breakfast/brunch in El Ciba always a wonderful experience. Food and service top notch. El Pesqador overlooking beach for lunch and dinners is excellent.. Again food and service excellent.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy43432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandler, AZ
Level Contributor
62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2011

Thiis was our second stay at the Grand (last time it was called the Hyatt). We had a renovated room on the 20th floor -- the top seven are renovated. Renovation has stopped for now but supposedly will start up again in May. The room was beautiful--especially the lighting and the spacious shower room. Bathroom had two sinks which is very convenient and good quality toiletries--replenished daily. There was a very convenient ice machine just around the corner from our room.

We had one drawback -- a couple of nights of our stay the hotel was only at 9 % occupancy so they decided to do maintenance on the air conditioner which required turning it off for the entire day. It came back on around 8pm (two hours later than anticipated) and all was well again.

We did not pay extra for the palapas and chairs on the beach -- we just stayed in the lounge chairs on the balcony overlooking the beach at no extra charge. It was the perfect place to enjoy the whole beach scene and water without having to endure endless sales pitches. We did venture out to the water several times and bought a jet ski trip and massage from the vendors then retreated back to our 'base camp' to relax.
Also, the hotel security staff make no effort to keep the beach vendors out of the hotel palapa area or even behind any sort of line (as they do in other Mexican beach resorts), so the vendors can park beside you all day if they like. You will be much happier up on the balcony deck oeverlooking the beach.

A fun little activity for us was to take a cooking class at the Crowne Plaza hotel. We paid $30 USD per person and made a fantastic 4 course meal--you do half the work under the guidance of the chef (we had Aida -- a wonderful teacher). The hotel provided a translator since we speak a little Spanish and she spoke only a little English.

The hotel wi fi is expensive - $15USD per day. The business center is better priced but closes early. Try the Office Depot which has fast computers, great air conditioning and chanrge 6 pesos per 15 minutes and is 2 minutes away and on the same side of the street. The Starbucks mentioned by other reviewers is also only 10 minutes away and the wi fi is free, and is open until 11pm.

Ther is a mini-fridge in the room (empty) which is locked with a cable tie.Supposedly there is a $4/day charge to use it to store the items you bring in (from Wal Mart across the street), but the front desk clerk let us use it for free.

All in all Acapulco felt very safe (with cops on every corner and truck loads driving up and down the main boulevard), and we had nothing but positive experiences with the locals. The vendors can get a little pushy in town- probably because they are desperate for business.

We also went scuba diving (we have been before here), and the visibility was poor and the water temperature fairly cold (65) at depth- not really recommended. Enjoy yourselves!

Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Solperros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Area, CA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2011

You want to stay here for several reasons.

A. It's not going to break the bank. I had a partial view, two bed w/ balcony, and essential amenities. Beds were comfortable, strong shower, clean with friendly staff and housekeeping... I stayed for 7 nights and felt extremely satisfied for the price.

B. It's on the beach. Well, to be honest, beaches in Acapulco aren't as nice as I imagined. Too many people trying to sell you stuff/ sand and water is OK- not Caribbean Great, not Hawaii Great, or Tahiti Great. Chairs are rented (but these guys are friendly and provide travel advice/ beer for cheep). Massage Girls are incredible, 20-25 bucks for 45 minutes- full body on the beach, I got this every day. Same massage is HUNDREDS of dollars here on the California Pacific.. La Playa Beaches are better than those on Costera. Buses are everywhere but be sure to have a drink before you board or else you may have a nervous breakdown:-)

C. Location is nice. Walmart is across the street, (store security at entrance armed with M16's- I know it's Mexico but still interesting...), You got a nearby Casino to blow your last bit of spending cash after a long night of bar hopping( play Bingo- it's fun and social). All the fast food you want- don't eat that stuff. Ica Taco across the street has great lunch/ late night food, the Grands outdoor restaurant (do dinner at least one night here) or indoor buffet is very good. Girls at Starbucks are very nice and cute- recommended great restaurants for me, One for nice seafood was above the public golf course (18 hole; well worth the time if you play), off Monterey but I forgot the name, still not many restaurants are there so surely you can find it. Clubs line the Costera and a Theater w/ a Modern Mall is 5 minutes away via bus.

Overall, the Grand Hotel was relaxing, many older people traveling on cruise ships stay here so in general it's chill. Night life awaits you down the street if you want that, but this hotel is in an area where it's near the end of the beach so you only get the noise on the weekend. It's kinda typical in the Cal. Bay Area (Oakland area on the weekend anyway so I'm accustomed to hearing the Fiesta's at midnight)...

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bremflux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2011

We have been going to Acapulco for many years and were concerned this year about all the stories we were hearing. Not once did we feel the least bit uneasy during our stay. Many evenings we would take a cab to diner and walk back to the hotel .The location of the hotel is perfect .As for the hotel itself, it has been recently re modeled . The re modeled rooms are beautiful .The staff is warm and attentive and treat the guests like family. English is spoken by most staff members and they could not be more attentive.My life and myself are looking forward to returning next Feb. As for the weather it could not be more perfect. One day is better then the one before it. not a cloud in the sky.The two pools at the hotels are perfectly situated next to the hotels' beach. The rooms all have terraces and most over look the ocean. The sunsets are beautiful. The food at the hotel is excellent .

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterS57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2011

I and my family have been vacationing at this hotel for 26 years. This year I stayed for 1 month. The management and hotel staff are top notch. The hotel was recently renovated. It is now truly a 5 star hotel. My room had a great ocean view, large flat screen TV, beautiful furniture and the bathroom and the amenities were first rate. The staff of the executive floor lounge give first class service and upon my arrival always say "Welcome Home." The Grand Hotel Acapulco is truly my home in Acapulco. Great resort, management, gourmet restaurant and staff - what more could you want!!!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1660Patti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
72 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2011

In general this hotel is good, the location is superb, the pool area is great and rooms are in good shape (even the ones that have not been renovated).

However some minor issues that need to be addressed.
First, I find defensive that they charge $5USD is you use a chair from the hotel in the beach area
Second. the attitude of some of the staff needs to more service oriented
Third, on the last day of our stay the water of our room was BROWN, this is unacceptable.
Fourth, The music on the Villa/Zapata restaurant is too loud!!! it seemed we were at a club at 2PM for lunch
Fifth, they charge for the GYM.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank leoncioreyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Acapulco hotels
3.4 km away
Crowne Plaza Acapulco
Crowne Plaza Acapulco
#11 of 179 in Acapulco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
2.3 km away
Fiesta Americana Villas Acapulco
2.1 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Acapulco
Holiday Inn Resort Acapulco
#13 of 179 in Acapulco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Emporio Acapulco Hotel
Emporio Acapulco Hotel
#7 of 179 in Acapulco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
8.5 km away
Pierre Mundo Imperial
Pierre Mundo Imperial
#9 of 179 in Acapulco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
1.3 km away
Copacabana Beach Hotel
Copacabana Beach Hotel
#23 of 179 in Acapulco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Acapulco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Acapulco

Property: Grand Hotel Acapulco
Address: Costera Miguel Aleman # 1 | Col. Icacos, Acapulco 39869, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Acapulco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Acapulco
#7 Spa Hotel in Acapulco
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Acapulco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Hotel Acapulco 3.5*
Number of rooms: 573
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privileged with one the best locations on one of the most exclusive beaches in Acapulco, and with a spectacular view of the bay, also conveniently located near the main local restaurants, shopping malls, and nightlife. Experience and enjoy an excellent service of the most exquisite dining experience and outstanding service, accentuated with the most high quality standards and comfort. The enjoyable experience of our elegant and luxurious guestrooms along with the general living areas, will indulge in a pleasant experience during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity.ca and Priceline so you can book your Grand Hotel Acapulco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Acapulco
Hyatt Acapulco
Acapulco Grand Hotel
Acapulco Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing