We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tino's Sport Fishing & Bay Tours

Tino's Sport Fishing & Bay Tours
Ranked #5 of 33 Tours in Huatulco
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hello, I'm Tino and I would love to spend the day with you out on the ocean fishing,looking for dolphins and whales while you take in the sites of our beautiful bays in Huatulco. Locally born and bred fisherman with a few tricks to help you catch Sailfish, Mahi Mahi or even the elusive Marlin.Bay tours and snorkelling for family adventures aswell so drop me a line and book your trip today
Edmonton
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unbelievable Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

My girlfriend and I booked Tino for a deep sea fishing tour in Dec. 2011. He was recommended by a local business man. I have been deep sea fishing before but it was never like this. It was an incredible day! I was skeptical of the small boat having only been in large fishing boats before but it was even better because it keep the cost down but we had the intimacy of only 4 people on board. We saw 5 different whales, countless sea turtles, jumping string rays out of the ocean, flying fish, and numerous dolphins. At one point well over 200 dolphins were following the boat and jumping right beside us.

We caught 3 mahi mahi (the largest being over 45 pounds), a sail fish and 6 bonito's. We had an approx. 140 lb. marlin on the line. I fought him for 20 minutes, having him jump out of the water numerous times. He was only 100 feet from the boat when he got away. It was such an exciting day! We had scheduled 6 hours to fish but Tino and Toni (his assistant) really wanted me to bring in a marlin to check off my bucket list so we stayed out for 9 hours. They went above and beyond.

If you are visiting Huatulco, you must book Tino for a fishing excursion. You won't be disappointed!!!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Brad R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    9
    1
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lloydminster, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Fishing day with Tino and Tony”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2011

We spent the day with Tino and Tony. We caught Mahi Mahi and Spanish Mackeral. The day started out slow and only through Tino's persistence and information from a friend we were able to locate a school of Mahi Mahi. The action was fast and ferious with two 30 plus lbs. fish on at the same time. It was a great trip and they went above and beyond for us to catch fish.

From Bob and Randy

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank BobPro_51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Another great time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2011

Fishing, Snorkeling, we even went out to eat with him after our trip

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank forevercustomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Day with Tino”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2011

During our trip to Dreams Huatulco Resort, we met Tino on our beach and talked to him for several days in a row before booking. Our group of four felt confident in booking a tour with Tino due to his professionalism when we talked to him. He was soft spoken and not pushy at all. He emphasized that he was fully insured and that safety was his top concern. Tino customized our tour specifically for us as we wanted to snorkel and see sea turtles and dolphins.

Tino delivered! As promised, he picked us up at our hotel at 8:00 am sharp and drove us a short distance to the Santa Cruz marina. We boarded his boat which was immaculate and obviously well-maintained. Tino and his assistant Tony first took us to a calm bay to snorkel. For a small fee we rented snorkel gear (you can bring your own if you want). We also rented an underwater camera which captured some fantastic pictures of our snorkeling. This particular bay was good for a beginner snorkeler; it was very calm and we didn't go too far from shore. We saw and held starfish, blowfish, and sea urchins. We kept our belongings on the boat and everything was kept safe and dry.

Our next stop was a public beach where we stopped for a local lunch. We were somewhat skeptical at first but enjoyed an incredible feast of fish (some of the best fish I have ever tasted) and cold beer.

We boarded the boat again and headed out to find sea turtles and dolphins. Once again Tino didn't disappoint. We saw several sea turtles and then a school of dolphins. Tino whistled and the dolphins swam with our boat and performed for us for several minutes. We had never seen anything like it! As Tino drove us in the boat, he pointed out several landmarks and provided us with some local history.

Again, Tino's professionalism and courteous manner made our day very enjoyable. I would not hesitate to recommend his services to anyone. As there were only four of us, it was very personal tour compared to "mass" tours I have taken before.

Be sure to bring extra pesos for tips, lunch, and for fees for photos if you wish to purchase any.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“fishing paradise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

We decided to leave the hotel and do some fishing, and we went with Tino.
Tino took us out and caught us three Mahi Mahi , and lots of yellowtail jacks, despite reports of other boats being skunked that day and the day before!
We had the best time, as Tino showed us the seashore, beautiful beaches and wildlife that should not be missed when you visit Hualtuco.
Tino was a very knowledgeable guide, and we felt very safe on his boat. His buddy was great at getting us the fish, and they were very hospitable. They had lunch and drinks aboard, and we never had to ask for anything.
If you go to Hualtuco, you must call Tino, or see his website at www.tinossportfishing.com.
You will not regret fishing with Tino - We'll be back, and i can't wait!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank dave a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tino's Sport Fishing & Bay Tours also viewed

 

Been to Tino's Sport Fishing & Bay Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing