We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,655)
Filter reviews
5,655 results
Traveller rating
2,682
1,953
669
216
135
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,682
1,953
669
216
135
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssnorkel beachmar sectionthe mexican restaurantbelly dancermiddle beacha la carte restaurantsfishmain beachla crucecitael mexicanosecret beachmain barbella vistaclub medtennis courtssnack barbird watching
Filter
Updating list...
1,432 - 1,437 of 5,655 reviews
Reviewed December 16, 2011

Booked a junior suite and was given a room that was close to all the pathways that the small carts drive along. Room was old and needed redecorating and was noisy. Was advertised on the website as having beautiful views (true if you like to look at rooptops of adjacent rooms. Had to pay for an upgrade to a more "deluxe" room. That was fine for two days until I had to again change to another room because of a very offensive odor (smelled like a dead rat) in the room. The third room was fine. This resort is good if you are looking for a family vacation with a lot of Canadians or are a couple who wants that type of experience. The beach at the resort is nice; food is mediocre, drinks are watery. Wouldn't return. I heard that some of the other resorts (Dreams, Barcelo, Camino Real) are a lot better.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sharpeiSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 28, 2011

My husband and I were booked into the Las Brisas for a two week period from Nov. 8th to 22nd, 2011. However, we transferred over to the Barcelo after eight days and would have done so sooner if we could have.

Overall, the resort is lovely with lush tropical foliage and three secluded beaches with no access for vendors. During the time period we were there, there were jellyfish in the snorkeling area due to some tradewinds in the area. Several individuals we spoke to had been biten.

The junior suite is massive. I'm not sure if they are configured differently because ours was nothing like the brochure or website pictures, which were modern in comparison to ours. Our room was certainly showing its age. There was a separate room with a large balcony, dining area, pull out bed, bar area with a sink and mini bar and coffee maker. The other room was our bedroom with a full picturesque window of the Tangolunda Bay. The bathroom was large with two sinks and, my favorite, a huge marble shower. Truly, way more room than we needed but still appreciated. Air conditioning worked very well. The balcony sliding door and window did not slide together too well which allowed insects into the rooms.

Two families we met found three scorpions in their rooms. We only encountered a little gecko, who we welcomed since they eat the little "no-see-ums" that bite you when you don't know it but the bites still continue to itch after two weeks.

The main buffet is completely indoors and the windows do not open. We really enjoy eating our meals outdoors whenever possible, so were somewhat discouraged by this. It was a 20 minute walk everytime we left our junior suite for either the buffet, restaurants, beach, lobby, taxis, entertainment, pools, etc. Yes, there are shuttles and they were frequent but they proved to be a nuisance. There are absolutely no elevators anywhere even to the lobby. Now I only mention all of this not because we don't like to walk but that I experienced some major intestinal issues after my meal at the a la carte Mexican restaurant on our second night. Walking the 153 stairs on only one section of the jaunt up the hill or even riding in the winding shuttles did not make for a pleasureable experience. My husband was fine the whole time.

The entertainment team tried really, really hard. However, in the eight days we were there, there were only two major shows and they were poorly executed to say the least. Very few guests showed up for these shows either. Chairs were very uncomfortable to sit on for any length of time.

We flew with Sunwing. The reps in our hotel were helpful but mostly seemed interested in getting you to sign up for tours and then really didn't want anything further to do with you after that. However, Antonio did manage (for a price) to get us moved to another resort, which we very grateful for.

We took three Sunwing tours viz. Coffee Plantation (which we really enjoyed), crocs and turtles (which was interesting) and the City & Pluma Hidalgo (which was an adventure in itself given the condition of the roads in the Huatulco area). Be forewarned, the roads are windy and in poor repair. Bring your gravol with you if you in any way have issues with motion sickness. My husband was downing them like Pez candy LOL.

Some of the a la carte restaurants are only open a few days during the week, so you have to make sure to book when they become available. The Mexican Restaurant is open every night for dinner. We did eat at the snack bar on a few occasions but unless you like burgers, hot dogs, fries and bad pizza, I would opt for the buffet. The menu in the buffet changed daily.

Taxis to and from the resort were readily available at a cost of 30 to 40 pesos depending on whether you were coming or going, it varied, but we just handed the driver a 50 peso bill every time. Going into either La Crucecita or Santa Cruz was fun. We even walked from LC to SC on one occasion. It was a nice 30 minute walk.

We enjoyed clay oven baked pizza at La Crema one night in La Crucecita. Delicious! Beer, alcoholic drink and medium pizza came out to $16 Cdn. They open at 7 every night. The town is alive in the evenings, so it is fun to experience that as well. Very safe any time of day, especially around the main square.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Cathlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 24, 2011

Staying at 10 all inclusive hotels in Mexico this is the worst food we had in Mex io

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Brunorb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 18, 2011

My 17-year-old daughter, husband and I traveled to Huatulco in April 2011 and stayed at Las Brisas, basing our decision on an exceptional price ($800 all-inclusive) and reviews that said the ocean was the most swim-friendly of the hotels along Tangolunda Bay.

Firstly, let me just say that the DIRECT Sunwing flights from and back to Edmonton were the BEST we have ever encountered on ANY airline. Exceptional service, no turbulence, great food, entertaining movies, champagne, and delicious coffee were highlights!! Pay for the extra leg room seats (emergency aisle) if you're tall, and the baggage upgrade. We brought home HEAVY artisan-made carpets in our bags and were not charged any weight overage.

Secondly, Huatulco is in a near-desert climate. The hills are not lush and green, but the dry heat feels heavenly. Iguanas roam everywhere, geckos are abundant, and the variety of birds we saw was unreal. In contrast to the brown countryside, the hotel grounds are lush with flowers and very well-kept. There are stairs everywhere, but shuttles transport you around without so much as a 5-minute wait.

Las Brisas is an older hotel but left nothing to be desired in stellar service, room cleanliness, breathtaking views, variety of food choices both at the buffet and in the a la carte restaurants (Oaxacan cheese and coffee...YUM!), and the staff bent over backwards to be helpful and accommodating. (When our return flight was delayed 16 hours, we were allowed to remain guests long past our check-out time with no extra charges; we took FULL advantage of our 'bonus day'!)

Wi-fi is a little iffy in the rooms (we were in Estrella, facing open ocean - cruise ships and submarines were early morning sightings) and we had to sit near the window to get a connection. The lobby was problem-free in that regard. Make sure to tip the beach servers well and you will never be without a cold drink! Suggestion: rum and Fresca was the perfect antidote to the mid- to high-30s temps.

When you're tired of exploring the hotel, a $4.00 taxi ride takes you into nearby towns (La Crucecita/Santa Cruz, Tangolunda). There are amazing shops with silver and high-quality, handmade items (such as the 100% wool rugs we found). There are fabulous little restaurants all around, too, so be adventurous!

The beaches are the best we have seen on the Pacific side of Mexico. Golden sand gives way to rare turquoise, super-crystalline, very warm water. There is a reef right off the main beach, so grab snorkeling gear and bananas off the breakfast buffet and hand-feed the multitudes of fish! What a gas!

We would go back in an instant if the price was right again, and do nothing differently. It was the perfect, carefree vacation!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank CravingAdventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 22, 2011

We went with another couple in March/11. Expected a lot of stairs but were still surprised by how many. There are a lot of shuttles to drive you to room/beach though. Great weather (mid 30's) every day. Rooms were clean but a couple days had a lot of tiny bugs in the room. Beds were good, maid service was excellent & mini bars were stocked each day with 2 coronitas, pop & water. Pool had umbrellas but they weren't really big enough to give sufficient shade. Draft beer was too watered down for my liking (& it takes a lot before I'll say that) and found it very hard to find a good alternate drink: Fresca pop was used (aspartame) & lime juice was very very salty (which affected margaritas & dacquiris). They charge too much if you wish to buy & drink Corona or other beer. Staff; most only spoke limited english but all were very very friendly & it was fun trying to learn each others language. Entertainment wasn't as good as I've seen at other resorts & the only place to hang out at night was the same area as the entertainment so it was quite loud & congested. Went to town a couple times (Le Crucecita); oddly enough the taxi was $3 to town & $2 back to the hotel. The pizza place in town was great food & great entertainment. Stop at Blue for a beer; it has a great owner/host named "Chewy" who is extremely accomodating, gives a complimentary tequila shot & serves snacks with your beer...highly recommend a visit to his bar. Back to the resort...beach is gorgeous, there's a coral reef right in the bay so nice for easy snorkelling. Food at buffet & a la carte's was lower than average. Quite a few people got montezuma's revenge at least once during the trip, including myself who has never gotten sick at a resort before. Overall, resort is nice but drinks & food made it barely average rating for me.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TravellinWeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews