We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Las Brisas Huatulco
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Villablanca Huatulco(Huatulco)(Great Value!)
US$57
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$74/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Quinta Bella Huatulco(Huatulco)(Great Value!)
US$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$103/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

La Isla Huatulco & Beach Club(Huatulco)(Great Value!)
US$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Princess Mayev Hotel(Huatulco)(Great Value!)
US$54
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$68/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$58
US$56
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$69/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Binniguenda All Inclusive(Huatulco)(Great Value!)
US$72
US$61
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$80/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$294
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$240
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$197
US$181
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (5,128)
Filter reviews
5,128 results
Traveller rating
2,358
1,820
625
200
125
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,358
1,820
625
200
125
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssnorkel beachmar sectionthe mexican restaurantbelly dancermiddle beachfishmain beacha la carte restaurantsla crucecitael mexicanosecret beachmain barclub medbella vistabird watchingtennis courtsshuttle service
Filter
Updating list...
1,365 - 1,370 of 5,128 reviews
Reviewed March 10, 2012

We were in this resort for one week at the end of February...here are some of our observations:

1. Friendly service: We've been to 10 Mexican all-inclusives, usually 5 stars...this resort was near the top in punctional service...we phoned each morning to have our room cleaned in the morning and it was every day, usually within an hour...our requests for a shuttle resulted in one arriving within five minutes...our requests for miscellanous sundries were met within 30-minutes...amazing for Mexico! As mentioned in other reviews, the staff were very friendly and spoke english relatively well...pool and beach drink service was at a 5-star level.

2. Great value: Our price point for this resort was great ($795+taxes)...shop around if you can as prices varied considerably judging from other guests comments...

3. Weather: Huatulco has incredible weather...we averaged 36 degrees (96F) during the day and 28 at night with no rain and little wind...we have never had better weather anywhere...we thought St. Lucia was the best to this point...if you want a warm vacation in Jan. or Feb. this is the place for you.

4. Resort: Don't be intimidated by the comments about the excessive stairs...yes, there are a lot of stairs and no elevators, but their shuttle service is second to none...you can always get one from the lobby and we called from our room for shuttles to friend's rooms and restaurants...no problems, quick and friendly service...hint: press the "Las Brisas Express" button on your phone and all your requests are met...the three beaches are beautiful and each has it's own vibe...if you want snorkeling off the beach, you have it here...we saw the beaches at the other resorts and none come close to these...

5. Restaurants: There are five al-la-cartes..all were very good although the buffet was mostly average...the Mexican restaurant serves great breakfasts...

6. Room: We upgraded at the resort for $35/night for a room with a balcony and got a one-bedroom suite - an amazing deal! The room was freshly upgraded with a comfortable bed and pillow menu and had a marble bathroom with large shower...most of the rooms have ocean views...it was not 5-star quality, but exceeded our expectations.

In summary, you won't be disappointed with the value, weather, or with the friendly service...the resort exceeded our expectations...

Room Tip: Upgrade to a balcony room at the resort for a good value
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank TravelersAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalesHuatulco, Guest Services at Las Brisas Huatulco, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2012

March 14th, 2012.
Bahías de Huatulco, Oaxaca.

Thank you very much for your recent visit to Las Brisas Huatulco.

We really appreciate your comments about our services, we are happy to know you enjoyed Beaches, Restaurants and room and that you considered it a godd service.

Thank you again for your preference and we look forward to the pleasure of hosting you in the not-too-distant future.

Best regards,

Guest Services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 8, 2012

I just got back from a week at Las Brisas, Huatulco, and had a fabulous time. This is a great resort on a huge property with fabulous manicured grounds, lots of birds chirping as you stroll to breakfast, good food, fantastic views from every room, great beach, staff that always smile. However, if you go please note that you will climb the equivalent of 150-200 steps each time you go to your room. There are NO elevators, so you will get lots of exercise. There are very frequent carts to ferry you around if you have trouble getting around, and they are easy to use, but it still takes time to call them and wait for the ride. We loved the walking so it was great for us.

Beach:
We have been to many all-inclusives in Mexico over the years, and Las Brisas has one of the better beaches. It is not at the quality of Varadero, but still very good. There are 3 beaches at Las Brisas. Playa Tornillo is at the kids cub area, and wasn't too crowded most days, but is quite far from most activities and we didn't spend much time there. Playa Ventura is by the Mexican restaurant and was closer to many people's rooms. This beach has umbrellas instead of palapa's for shade, and less beach chairs. Spots still available until about 11 AM most days. The sand does not extend too far out and you risk getting caught on coral at low tide, so it was not as popular. Free snorkel gear was used a lot, but again take care at low tide. Playa Manzanilla was the most popular and best beach. 3 rows of palappas provided good shade for those who wanted it. Prime spots were gone by 9 AM most days, and all spots gone by 10 most days, but after lunch some spots were available. Sand was good, but gets hot on feet in middle of day. Right at the water line there were small stones that bothered my feet but most people had no problem. The water temperature was fine for spending long times, and you could swim quite far out without any large waves (conversely lack of waves would be a problem if you like body surfing). Fabulous views across the bay from all beach chairs.

Pools:
They had several pools. Kids pool way out of the way, that nobody used. Sports pool was separate and used by some teenagers and parents/kids. Adult pool was quiet. Main pool had shallow end that was used mostly by families (mostly Mexican). As usual not many people swimming in larger lap-pool. You could always get a beach chair by the pool at any time of day. The pools overall were OK, but not used because most people stayed by the beach, and there was a bit of a hike to get back and forth.

Rooms:
Every room has an ocean view, although you should ask for top floors to get better views. Also cathedral ceilings in top rooms give sense of larger rooms. As everything is low rise, most buildings have just 2-3 floors. And after walking up 200 steps to get to your room, one extra floor of steps is worth it for the views. Rooms were large. Relatively simple decor, but nice tiles on floors, and white stucco walls inside. Comfortable beds, air conditioning, ceiling fans all worked well. Many days there was a nice breeze and we opened windows to get breeze first thing ebfore it gets too hot. Counter tops were all granite. Safe in room was a bit tricky to learn how to operate but easy after first time.

Food:
Everyone got 4 coupons for a-la-carte meals, but buffet was just as good. We liked the Kasbah restaurant because the Morroccan food and atmosphere was "different". Even had a dancer floating around while we ate. Low tables and seats were awkward to get food but still fun. The Solarium restaurant had good fresh-cooked grill food, but seemed weird to have appetizers and dessert as buffets in an a-la-carte restaurant. The main buffet was good food, and you always had something to like. As usual, if you experiment, there will be some items not to your taste, but still worth trying. The number of selections was less here than at some other places we have stayed, but still adequate. Overall food was average compared to most resorts, with less selection than average.

Grounds:
This is where Las Brisas really stands out! Flowering shrubs and bushes everywhere, with lots of birds to serenade you as you walk the huge grounds. If you don't like stairs, you can walk up the paths used by the carts, and still get your cardio exercise. People with less mobility or tired, would use the many carts that come quickly once you call. Definitely the most beautiful grounds we have ever stayed at. The grounds keepers all had a smile and said Ola as you passed by.

Entertainment:
The in-house dancers performed 3 nights and were really good. Certainly as good as any other resort of similar size that we have stayed at. A few nights they had really ppor entertainment though (when dancers not on). One night they had a local marachi band perform who were really very good as well. Before the evening show they had a lounge singer in the bar who was OK but not great.

Guests:
This was the first resort I have stayed at where the guests were as uniform in background. Overall, 80% of guests were from Canada. We spoke with one American during the week, who was there visiting with a Canadian sister. The rest were from Mexico, mostly families. The Canadian guests were mostly in 50's and 60's, although there were a few families and some larger multi-generational family gatherings. Not very many older guests (because of the mobility requirements I guess). Most everyone loved to walk, and were in good shape. It was fun talking to people from all over Canada, although most were from western Canada as 5 of 6 plane loads that week were from western Canada.

Tours:
We only took one tour, to ancient ruins and float on river. It was well run as most tours seemed to be from talking to everyone. Reasonable prices for all tours, as SunWing checks them all out carefully, for quality and safety and price.

Other points:
The front desk was very good about providing change that we could use for tipping. We kept a pile of 10 peso and 20 peso for tips and handed them out whenever we could. The staff really appreciate the tips, from their smiles. The exchange rate from canadian to pesos at the front desk was also as good as we had got back in canada from bank, so you don't have to run into town to get exchange. The taxis all have set rates for whereever you are going, so you won't get ripped off, and the taxis are so cheap. About $3 for a ride into town.

La Cruceita:
Everyone should explore the town. Just take taxi to main square and walk down side streets. Lots of shops. This is a real town where locals spend time. When we were there, the was an anniversary celebration of 40 years of the local primary school, with speaches by dignitaries, and dances by students. Lots of parents there to watch their kids perform, just like at any school event back-home. It was great to watch the pride of parents as their kids peformed.

Overall:
So many people at Las Brisas were there for their 2nd, 3rd, 4th time. Everyone loved it. However I can bet some people who didn't know about the hills and steps might be disappointed. The place is over 25 years old, but they are making many improvements (as some returnees explained the improvements from previous visits). If you look close you can see the age, but the staff work hard, and you get a great week. There are always little issues (a couple of times we couldn't get hot water for showers), but that happens at most resorts. This is not 5 stars, but still pretty good luxury for our week. I give it a big thumbs up!

Room Tip: Please request a top floor room when booking.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank will-from-Calgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 7, 2012

I´ve stay in this hotel last year about and entire week, I can tell you is an astonishing resort in one of the most beautiful towns Mexico have to offer (old style, relaxing, friendly people). The resort is over hills and cliff but with private beaches (hard to describe but its amazing), the staff at the front desk a little bit rude so the staff that handles the shuttle in the resort (you can walk or take this shuttle some parts of this resort are far); nice to walk arround the hotel, lotts of vegetation and fauna to see, the room I´ve have was little bit old with and old TV but with an icredible ocean view; breakfast buffet a little bit repetitive through the days although nice to have a many choices of food, fruit and omelette. restaurant staff helpfull and friendly; it have a good variety of restaurants in the resort, the best time of the year to go is between february and may (less tourist at the hotel and really good weather conditions "sunny all day"), really good and delicious food at downtown, it´s near this hotel by taxi. My wife and me have a really nice time at this hotel, I really recomend it and will return in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 7, 2012

This was our first time in Huatulco ,we were with a group of 14 and had a fabulous time , we heard bad reviews about the food but we really had no complaints ,the rooms were clean, the weather was very hot, above 34 degrees every day ,smokin hot , waves were nice to play in and the snorkeling was good also and there was always enough chairs. There are alot of stairs but there were always enough shuttles to take you where you wanted to go .The waiters were always there for you in the restaurant, at the bars and at the beach.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hansDeroche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 5, 2012

We just came back from our first stay at Las Brisas/ I must say that the beaches and scenery are amazing there. You can float on a floatie in the bay and just relax and see fish swim around your feet. The weather there is pretty consistant hot hot hot even in the evening which I love. The food however is average, not a 4 star but definetly good. Now the entertainment is horrible, the bad played only Mexican songs so if you cant salsa forget about dancing this trip. My son who did not come with us is disable and they are making wheelchair ramps throughout the resort however this would not really make it any easier to get around if you have mobility issues so I dont recomend this place if you have any issues like this. Over all loved the place had great fun and throughly enjoyed the sunshine and beaches.

Room Tip: pick the beach club the rooms are large and the views are amazing
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cdurocher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews