We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as expected!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Las Brisas Huatulco
Ranked #7 of 48 Hotels in Huatulco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 January 2018

Definitely not 4 star by US standards
Does not compare to other local premium resorts such as Dreams or Secrets
Dated resort and facilities
Crowded (probably due to time of year/holidays)
Poor customer service (esp. hotel management)
Staff did not speak English (or poor English)
Resort and service geared towards locals (large percentage of guests from Mexico)
Generally dirty facility (see images)
Many areas under renovation
Subpar food quality/options
Resort very spread out (diesel carts transporting guests throughout, resulted in gasoline odor
Bars on windows in basic rooms


Pro's
Very nice beaches/bays
Beautiful mountainous area
Great weather over winter holiday

Very surprised by other reviews! We are a young professional couple from the US that travel and vacation a great deal all over the world. Other reviews appear to less than fully objective or based on relative perspective. See images.

Avoid Sunwing!

Expensive for what you get.

Room Tip: Rooms not as described! Deluxe king room did not have a balcony or ocean view Bars on windows, vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Julian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisas H, Public Relations Manager at Las Brisas Huatulco, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

It is always interesting to find out about the different opinions on our configuration and services and, we respect everybody else´s viewpoints, on this particular opportunity, we most openly disagree on several statements expressed at the current review, since, as mentioned at the end of the text in itself,"appear to less than fully objective or based on relative perspective"... It is fair to mention that every pointed criticism mentioned on the prevailing comments, are quite shallow and lack fairness, nonetheless, it is relevant, to simply clear at some of the biased exegesis: Well, being in Mexico, we definitely welcome a huge amount of mexicans, and we doubtlessly enjoy their pressence,just as we appreciate every one of our guests visit. About the non speaking english staff, we most state that this is inaccurate, we simply could not operate this resort-wich we have for over 15 years- with a non speaking english staff, we can admit though, that we can improve our performance about this particular matter. We most dispassionate mention that, our resort is actually ratify under "US standards"...(AAA Diamond Classified) wich involves cleanliness, food and customer services standards, among many other aspects that allow us to be a pleasant and conspicuous resort for many years in the beautiful Huatulco Bays
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,560)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

133 - 139 of 4,560 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2018 via mobile

I love the feel of this place, the beaches are gorgeous and the snorkelling, right on the property, is fantastic. We're going back for our third time in a couple of weeks.
It's very hilly, so might not be for everyone, but you can always get a cart to take you around.
The only part I didn't like was the difficulty in making dinner reservations, but that seems to be the way at all these resorts.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
2  Thank kdaviau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2018

Hotel and staff were wonderful, always smiling and pleasant. Food was typical of all inclusive, OK but not over the top. Mexican restaurant was great for breakfast. Lots of stairs to climb but good after big meal. Beaches were great, nice snorkeling with some small fish to observe. Overall, a very nice place with great staff. My only negative comment was the tour company located in the lower lobby
" XP travel ", lots of promises but no execution. Took the sunset cruise, supposed to be in a catamaran was in fact a small boat that would not fit the 10 people including the crew, sat onboard looking at each other, face to face, two feet apart, could not see a thing let alone a sunset, very poor. Spoke to the rep after, " too bad so sad.." was the attitude, more interested in the US dollars than customer satisfaction. I would look online with other tour providers and book the tours through them if I was to return.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank beverlyannl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2018

We enjoyed our stay! I was concerned about all the walking but in fact this became the highlight of our trip! Anytime we did not wish to walk, we could take a shuttle which was like a ride through Jurassic park but without the carnivorous dinosaurs! There’s lots to explore here and lots of stairs an pathways which we loved, even in the heat because we felt we were getting good exercise to work off all those food and drinks! Perhaps it would’ve been a pain if we had a lot of little ones to tote around or if we were mobility challenged.

We were not part of all inclusive so can’t comment on that. But because of this, we didn’t need reservations to the ala cartes which was a bonus! We loved the views from the Mexican restaurant and was our favorites for that. The fruit stuffed chicken with tamarind was our favorite there at dinner. It was outside as was the seafood restaurant (although it’s adjacent to the bar so noisier and less romantic ambiance). The solarium was open air but didn’t get there for dinner sadly. We also didn’t eat at the other 3 restaurants (the main buffet, the kasbah or the Mediterranean as they were all indoors with air conditioning which we do not prefer. The buffet looked large with cook to order stations and lots of variety.

We found the prices a bit high for stuff compared to what we paid in town. For example pop was about $4 a can (60p), in town 10p. They state no outside food or drinks allowed in your room which I find disturbing but not sure if they enforce this rule. If I was staying longer, I’m pretty sure I would’ve broken this rule to save some money! All inclusive is the way to go here for sure. We LOVED our room in mar section with ocean view!! Star gazing, sunset, sunrises and moon rises were a highlight. We were in a suite with jacuzzi. I don’t think the extra for jacuzzi is worth it as it takes a long time and a lot of water to fill and doesn’t stay warm. Needs to be emptied daily so seemed like a waste of water, IMO. Bed was comfortable. AC was ok but we didn’t use much.
The only big downsides we felt were the lack of wifi and coffee service. On our room, we got ZERO internet, nothing! Also they use special pods for their coffee but wasn’t replaced daily with maid service unless we requested it. My husband loves his coffee so next time we may bring our own coffee maker. Overall we loved this property for its lush tropical grounds, areas to explore and lovely hardworking staff. If you stay here pleadd tip generously!

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Z5967VQchristineh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2018

This resort we will rate a 5 star as we have been to many all inclusive and non inclusive properties over the past 20 years and had a lot of experiences. The reason I would rate Las Brisas a 5 star is the employees going above and beyond in every way. We have never been to a resort where every area is so well managed It is probably the best managed resort I have been too. I own my own business and can appreciate how hard it is to manage and pay attention to every detail, they do it so well here! The weather is amazing-guaranteed sunshine and heat. The grounds are beautiful and you can walk if you feel like excercise or sit on a trolley which were always available. The food was amazing-we did try 3 nights a la carte but honestly loved the buffet. We travelled with my husband and three adult children and we all loved the whole experience. Even the drinks were great, which you normally don't get at a 4 star all inclusive. Honestly,we have said there are so many places to go in the world, so we never return to the same resort, but this is one that we may return to one day. Certainly Huatulco is our new favourite spots. Friendly and safe.

Again congrats to the amazing managers. We had an issue with our children's room and after the managers came to our room, they moved both of our rooms with no questions asked. Anyone who can say anything negative about this resort simply has not had many experiences or are just negative people. This hotel will be hard to beat.

Thanks for a great family vacation and wonderful memories!

Room Tip: Mar rooms are very nice and updated
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank 534cherylM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2018

Stayed here for one week over New Years with family of 5 which included 2 teens and an 80 yr old grandmother. Loved the huatulco area. We chose this resort because of the swimable beaches and snorkeling The beaches were great. We never went without loungers even though we showed up in the middle of the day or late morning. Only once could we not get a spot under an umbrella/palapa however there was enough shade provided by the palm trees. Service on the beach is unbelievable. Never have we had such attentive waiters anywhere-including Beaches. They work so hard and are so pleasant. Ola Martin! The staff on the entire resort is exemplary.
The sport beach was our favourite as there is lots to do and we enjoy the waves. Next was the snorkelling beach where there was lots to see-not the greatest snorkeling in the world but not the worst either. Certainly something fun to do. The fish will swarm around you and eat out of your hand. My husband enjoyed snorkeling at the “secret” beach more as he saw a sting ray and a star fish there and it is less crowded. They never ran out of towels -a problem at many resorts
We stayed in the beach club rooms-caribe - and loved it. The rooms are very nice , maybe a little tired looking- specifically the bathroom ceiling which is a dropped ceiling panel style that is kind of falling apart. It’s unfortunate because really the rest of the room is great. Loungers on the balcony or nicer chairs would be nice. My only complaint is with the lounge area for the beach club. Unlike other hotels it is not open all day and does not allow you a separate check in and concierge service- that is shared with everyone in the lobby.
There is a lot of walking and tons of stairs at this resort. I like that. My mother who is 80 only took the shuttle a couple of times so it is certainly manageable. It is very hot but the abundance of vegetation tempers it somewhat. There are lots of birds to see and iguanas. We even saw an armadillo one night.
We ate in a specialty restaurant every night and enjoyed them all. The Moroccan was the most fun The buffet for lunch was fine. We didn’t starve or lose weight. The dress code was very casual at the restaurants
The drinks were good. I usually insist that there is not alcohol in the drinks at the AIs we have been to however there was here lol
The entertainment was rather amateurish but didn’t detract from our overall enjoyment of the resort

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Nicsaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2018

We loved it! The rooms! The walks ! The service! 3 beaches! Breakfast outside! The Christmas Party no words can describe! Felt like we were living in a villa! Everyone we met there loves the place. We’re coming back !

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank gavinb890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Huatulco hotels
2.5 km away
Quinta Bella Huatulco
Quinta Bella Huatulco
#8 of 48 in Huatulco
286 reviews
4.3 km away
Isla Natura Beach Huatulco
2.1 km away
Hotel Villablanca Huatulco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Holiday Inn Huatulco
Holiday Inn Huatulco
#11 of 48 in Huatulco
195 reviews
4.9 km away
Barcelo Huatulco
Barcelo Huatulco
#6 of 48 in Huatulco
3,992 reviews
5.1 km away
Dreams Huatulco Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Brisas Huatulco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Brisas Huatulco

Address: Bahia Tangolunda Lote 1, Huatulco 70989, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Huatulco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Huatulco
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Huatulco
#8 Family Hotel in Huatulco
#10 Romantic Hotel in Huatulco
Price Range: $136 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Las Brisas Huatulco 4*
Number of rooms: 486
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Preferred Hotels, Evoline ltd, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Las Brisas Huatulco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Brisas Huatulco Hotel Huatulco
Las Brisas Hotel Huatulco
Brisas Huatulco Los
Las Brisas Huatulco Mexico
Huatulco Las Brisas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing