We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$162
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Villas Fa-Sol(Crucecita)
US$115
US$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Barcelo Huatulco(Huatulco)
US$229
US$193
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Villablanca Huatulco(Huatulco)(Great Value!)
US$63
US$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$253
US$191
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$65
US$62
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$295
US$186
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Quinta Bella Huatulco(Huatulco)(Great Value!)
US$77
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Binniguenda All Inclusive(Huatulco)(Great Value!)
US$115
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (5,458)
Filter reviews
5,458 results
Traveller rating
2,570
1,896
657
207
128
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,570
1,896
657
207
128
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssnorkel beachmar sectionthe mexican restaurantbelly dancermiddle beacha la carte restaurantsfishmain beachla crucecitael mexicanosecret beachmain barbella vistaclub medtennis courtssnack barbird watching
Filter
Updating list...
1,850 - 1,855 of 5,458 reviews
Reviewed February 2, 2007

Just returned(Jan29th) from a relaxing week in Huatulco. The weather in Huatulco is as close to perfect as you can get. Everyday is the same.(Sunwing even offers a rain guarantee which I do not think they have to payout on too much!)

THe resort is a large complex built on the hills surrounding the bay.The views are very good. THere are lots of stairs however trolleys will take you anywhere within resort if you want.

Upgrade to the BBC Suites (well worth money).THese rooms are outstanding!! Majority of regular rooms do not have balconies.The BBC Suites also gives you access to the lounge for continental breakfast and evening appetizers. Patio off the lounge is great.

Service at the hotel is amazing. They go out of their way to ensure things are right and you are catered to.

Beaches are small but sand and water are very good. Can't go for long walks on beach due to size but there was no fear of undertow or waves crashing on you when in water. Snorkling right off beach is decent. We spent most of the time at middle beach where Reynaldo's service was outstanding.

The nearby towns ($2.50 cab ride) are clean and you feel very safe. Food was excellent and good value! Try La Crema for pizza and Don Portifirio's for steak.

Golfed 3 times at Tagalunda course. $75.00 including caddie. (we walked but you can ride) Decent course for some fun vacation golf. Go early as it is very hot by noon. We teed off at 6:30 am and were back at the resort before 10:00 so we beat the heat.

Only negative during our stay would be the buffet food at lunch, Very monotonous and bland.

Overall you can not beat the weather and Huatulco appears to still be a hidden gem that is overlooked by the masses which is good for the lucky ones who have found it!!

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
15  Thank M'times
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 2, 2007

We enjoyed 2 glorious weeks in Huatulco January 12-26, 2007. The airport is small and pretty quick. The Los Brisas is a huge laid out complex. It looks pretty daunting when you look up to the rooms from the beach area but really not that bad & doesn't take too long to get anywhere. We came back with toned legs & tighter buttocks from the stairs & paths. We rarely took a ride but if you have difficulties with stairs or walking there are plenty of carts to give you rides - just have to call from the room or lobby and will get picked up. There are 4 beaches (one is not really usable and is where they had the weddings and special occassions), the other 3 consist of the snorkelling beach, activity and regular beach. There are so many fish and right close, we fed them bread frequently. Snorkelling is good so if you like it, worth bringing your own as some of the masks leak. The snorkelling beach is best for swimming around too but have to watch when the tide out as coral exposed. A couple people snorkelled out and then couldn't continue and the staff had to go get them.
We always found something to eat, a la carte's were good and it does say to wear pants but not many did - none in our group did, it's way too warm to wear pants. The day temp is always over 30, couldn't find a thermometer, and at night not much cooler, I'd say high 20 (celcius). We only wore tank top & shorts or sundresses as night. Sunny skies all the time too, only cloud cover of the sun was our last day (Jan 25) at about 4:15pm!!
The towns of Santa Cruz and La Crucecita are worth a visit and worth checking our some of the restaurants. If you like pizza you have to go to La Crema in La Crucecita, they have a wood fired stone oven and load on the cheese - thin crust - we went there twice. The cabs are plentiful all over the area and range from $2.50 to $3 each way - we always gave them $5. Santa Cruz shops close by 8pm and not sure what time La Crucecita closes as was always open when we were there. Nice to go there at night, towns all lit up and all the locals are around too, shops open, restaurants & bars, fun. Heard from lots of people that had eaten at various restaurants and no complaints so try one. Most of them are around the town square so get the cab to drop you off there. La Crema's a few blocks from the square and had a big statue on top.
There's a good restaurant behind the Gala & Barcelo that lot's of people went to Don Ponfirio's (not sure of spelling) and really liked it. Restaurants are quite reasonable.
You will need plenty of sunscreen - it is sold at the resorts but cheaper in town at the pharmacy. We all had heat/sun stroke at least once as we can not get out of the sun - we are on the beach all day, in fact we are seen in one of these reviews pictures that are posted! We were in the water so much as it's warm.
Most all rooms have a view, either of the bay or the Pacific ocean - we had a view of the bay and the hotel zone accross. Friends had the Pacific side but none of us were in our rooms much at all. We did have one scorpion in our shower and steamed it with hot water and then whacked it. I double checked the suitcase before packing to ensure I had no hitch hikers! The rooms were very clean.
We did go on the Catamaran which was nice to see the ocean as all that you can see from the beach too is the bay (Tangolunda). It was a nice day as were all of them! You go to a few beach area's, lunch is not included.
Friends of ours went fishing and when you are out further you see hundreds of Dolphins, some seen whales and sea turtles. Our friends caught black tuna, people we know that went out a couple days earlier caught a 10 foot Blue Marlin.
This was the warmest place with consistent weather, nice people, not commercialized at all and let's hope that it stays that way! You can get to see the sun rise from the Los Brisas property or perhaps your room. Our friends in the Mar section could watch the sun rise from their bed! I hiked out to the Mar section near the 4th small beach and got some good pic's of the sun rise and on the last day I just walked to the end of the Cloud section and had a great view - the sun rise is so awesome and worth checking out. It starts to break the horizon at 6:54am but the colors start about 6:50a and it's up completely in a few minutes. The a la Carte's were easy to get into as they had quite a few seatings to offer. We didn't go to the "activity beach" at all but it did appear that the boats were not used too much. They will take you out first to see that you can sail and then you can go on your own. There were kayaks too and you could rent sea do's.
On weekends the hotel is fuller as that is when the Mexicans come to the resort. There was also a convention going on our last few days (Hershey) and added more people.
From Winnipeg the Skyservice plane is a 757 so lots of leg room.
If you don't have a good time and get full and enjoy yourself then you are way too fussy. :)

Deb & Chico

Stayed: January 2007
26  Thank Chico_Deb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 30, 2007

We were at Las Brisas from Jan 23 to Jan 30, 2007 and were absolutely amazed at our experience. we found all the staff members extremely helpful, and a few that we will miss until we can go back. Fernando, Raymondo, Jesus and Isidro were so good to us, we felt more like friends than guests. We stayed in the Estrelles section and found our room clean, comfortable and with a great view. The food was great, lots of variety. The Oaxacan cheese is delicious. We went snorkeling and took a fishing trip. We took the fish we caught to the chef as we were told he would cook it for us and we ended up being served a delicious four course meal with three servers helping us and the chef came out to check how the fish was. One of the servers remebered the drink I had ordered four or five hours prior and brought it to me as we ate, then he made me a flower out of a napkin and took pictures with us. We felt like royalty and the experience was overwhelming. The a la cartes were great and had a good selection of menu items. The beaches were never overcrowded or dirty and the water was clear and calm. We never did go in any of the pools but they were clean and spacious. Temperatures were in the low 30s every day, perfect weather for us. The stairs were plentiful but so were the shuttles so it was never an issue. Overall this resort was a hidden paradise and we cannot praise it enough.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank jentra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 27, 2007

Just got back from a week at Las Brisas, and had a wonderful time. I did a lot of research, using this site and expedia and found this as a last minute very cheap deal.
Went with my husband and 2 kids (aged 7 & 9). The pools were very clean and hardly used. The 3 beaches were absolutely fantastic - very kid friendly and lots of shade. We enjoyed the snorkelling beach the best -:)
It is a HUGE resort, but we found the little shuttle rides to be great to get about - never waiting more than a couple of minutes for them. There are lots of stairs, so be prepared....
Food was good - We always found something to eat, no-one got sick, and there was plently of variety. We ate in the Mexicana for breakfast every morning - Right by the beach, and food prepared for you.
Entertainment wasn't the best - But dancing to the band under the stars was fun.
We did the coffee plantation/waterfall tour which was fun. The road was so winding and bumpy - bring gravol if even slightly travel sick! And the waterfall was spectacular, but COLD! My kids enjoyed travelling thru the little villages to see "real Mexico".
We also did the "Crocs and Turtles tour" - Visiting the mangrove swamps was cool, and seeing "real" crocs in the wild even cooler!!
We found the staff very helpful - Decorating our hotel rooms with flowers and chocolates everyday was such a nice touch.
We stayed in "Mar" section with a great room with a huge balcony and view of the ocean, and a shortcut down to the Mexicana restaurant and beach.
Overall, we think that Las Brisas was a super place to stay, and would go back.
Jacki

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank JazzyBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 27, 2007

We arrived at nite, but when we got our bearings in the morning, we were so pleasantly surprised. Over 50 acres of gorgeous property to explore. The water for swimming and snorkeling was SO warm, it was like a Bath! All 4 beaches were amazing, each with a special purpose, snorkelling, sports, swimming and the secret beach. We Loved the walking, up hills, up Steep stairs, the VIEWS were spectaculor! Loved staying in the Mar Section. 322 was our room, and we couldn't ask for a better view, shower, bed, everything was great. The Mexican Restaurant was our place of choice for breakfast and lunch. Had it all for us. Only did the Main buffet about 3 x's. Wasn't the greatest food, everything looked grey some nites, but we just picked out salads etc. The Desserts were way too good! Beach Club would be the only way we would go again. The appy's from 6 - 7 PM were YUMMY! Never used the pools, only the ocean. It isn't crowded anywhere! lots of space to be alone or not, your choice. Can't wait to go again.. Nature at it's finest. If you are looking for manicured landscape, you won't find much. Just beautiful natural grounds, with lots of colourful birds. Did the gym 3 AM's and it was just fine. Sunrises every morning was my favourite.. over the ocean.. such beauty. If you don't like walking, climbing stairs, don't go here, but we had a guy in a wheelchair at the resort, and he had NO problem, took the shuttles. We only took the shuttle about 3 x's, mostly loved the walking. Hot, beautiful place to go.. Mexico at it's finest !! LOVED THE STAFF!
We just rented a fish boat, by the walkway and he took us out for 3 hrs. for $150. US ( there were 4 of us) Dolphins, stingrays, turtles galore.. awesome trip. Thru the hotel it's $65. US per person. This is the only place in Mexico that we would DEFINETLY RETURN TO !! Go to Santa Cruz at eat at Ve el Mar - for seafood.. Really good, setting - on the beach as the waves come up to your table. Shrimp screwer, shrimp pineapple ( their specialty) was plently and WONDERFUL. 25 pesos for cab. best meal we had. Eating out at La Crucecita is great as well. I would recommend dinners OUT. very resonable too.!

Stayed: January 2007
18  Thank CloverdaleCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews