We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Resort” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tesoro Manzanillo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tesoro Manzanillo
Ranked #6 of 53 Hotels in Manzanillo
Ajax, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely Resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

Travelled to the Tesoro, Manzanillo on February 20-27, 2012. What a lovely resort. Very clean, staff are very accommodating, rooms were clean and large (we had a master suite with two balcony's that overlooked the pool and ocean). What a gorgeous view!

The beach was nice....but not very long.....it takes about 10 minutes to walk it as the hotel is lcoated in a cove!

A little far from the shopping area.....and if you are walker....be prepared for the very steep hills......great exercise though!

Would highly recommend this resort and it was reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Master Suite with balcony overlooking pool and ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    438
    288
    158
    126
See reviews for
483
335
21
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Ontario
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

We have traveled allot in Mexico but elsewhere also, always on the ocean so we are aware of the mustiness when a room has been empty and most of the drawbacks that you can encounter. We take hotel reviews with a grain of salt and we are not picky travelers at all.
We went to the Tesoro for 2 weeks expecting to go out for dinner, which is what we like to do anyways. Check-in was easy, we had a suite on the 15th floor overlooking the pool and ocean. We were thrilled at the size and layout of the room. They used to have timeshares and this was actually a 2 bedroom suite that was one of them, It must have been fabulous when it was new but it was beyond tired. The kitchenette was disgusting, it had wall to wall carpeting in the diningroom and living room which of course does'nt like the humidity. The bedroom was huge and the bed great. The bathroom was huge, it dark and and worn out but the shower was perfect. We had water all the time on the floor in the hall to the door, they came up 6 times to repair the a/c but it had nothing to do with it. It was actually coming up from under the tiles so it was a leak maybe from next door.
The first week was fine because all the room is is a place to sleep but it was a Mexican holiday weekend our first weekend there and the resort was over capacity from Fri nite to Monday. WOW is all I can say. There is a beautiful kids pool area but it was rarely used so we had (ALLOT) diapers in the main pool all day. We went to the buffet 1 nite and it was crazy; people cutting in front of you, bumping, rushing and the noise....we left. You are not supposed to reserve loungers with your towels in the morning but by 8am very lounger at the pool and beach had towels on them. The pool was disgusting! Monday morning when I looked down you could barely see the bottom of the pool because it was so cloudy. We had to fight for elevators. You could not get a bottled beer anywhere in the resort and the draft is well, draft. There is no imternational alcohol brands included, Baileys and others were served out of 1 gallon milk containers - it was mixed together!! No liquers here. We moved Monday pm to the Barcello and we had just a great time. Food, pools, room and everything else was great.
We thoroughly enjoyed the towns, found some great places to eat and drink and made new friends.
Bottom line is that we will be going back to Manzanillo but if you GAVE me a room at the Tesoro I would have decline.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gary-Melody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Manzanillo hotels

Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
299 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

We went to Tesoro Manzanillo, Mexico again for the third time. We reguested suite 402 and got it again no problem. It has 2 balconies and a fantastic view of the ocean. The maid Maria Gracia is fantastic and makes sure you have everything you need in your room. She is in and gets it done and out. This year they only put water and pop in the frig (no beer) but are willing to give you all water, or all pop or a combination. The buffet resturant's roof got damaged in the hurricane last october and needs repair yet but they have a temporary measure in use. The pool is in excellent condition and they repainted the blue around the edge one night after the pool was closed. They are always touching up the white all over the resort. The food in the buffet is average but always lots of everything so no one can go hungry. The snack bar food is not very good, and never has been, but a lot of people eat it anyway. The bartenders are extremely good in the snack bar and recognize us from the previous years, and the waiters in the buffet are extremely nice and try there best to please you. the furniture in the lobby bar that was so ugly and uncomfortable has been changed to proper small tables and comfortable chairs. The reservation restaurant is mexican one night and italian the next night. It is okay but we prefer to go and eat when we want to rather than have a specific time so we only went once this year.We always take the buses and travel around to centro or santiago or walk.
The main change this year was that you had to pay for the safety deposit box,
Our main complaint is the extreme noise from the entertainment people at the pool.
The whole area is very safe and that is one of the reasons that we have gone back and the price is reasonable especially for the one bedroom suite.

Room Tip: Email ahead and reguest the section you want and if you want ground floor or higher up
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JBJOHNSON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meadow Lake, Saskatchewan, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

My experience at Hotel Tesoro was great! The staff are so so friendly!! The resort, acivities, entertainment, food, beach, and music were great! The hotel is a little run down but we were hardly ever in there that it didn't matter. The elevators are extremely slow, but what's the rush when you're on vacation, right?! The stairs were a great option for us. On Saturdays there is a HUGE market that is about a 30 minute walk from the resort or a cheap cab ride. This is a great place to get souveniers! I found it neat and safe to go to Colima and see the big fish and the port. No one bothered us and everyone was friendly. Overall, I had a great time! The staff and other people we met on vacation made it all worth while. This is definately a resort to go to and have a great time while on vacation!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

Had a really great vacation here! Travelled with my boyfriend and another couple. It was great value. We didn't spend too much time at the resort because we enjoyed exploring the culture. We booked excursions through our Transat reps (Jean Clément Renaud and Miguel) and we booked surfing lessons through a local guy. One of our excursions was deep sea fishing which was a lot of fun. The buffet restaurant cooked up the fish we caught and served it to us!

If you want to SURF contact Ricardo at http://colimasurfside.com/ !! If you email, don't be put off by his written English. His English speaking skills are great! He came and picked us up at the resort and took us down to the beach. He was very patient with me as a beginner. The water is a bit rough in Manzanillo but I still had a great time and Ricardo will not put you in anything dangerous. Ricardo ended up taking us snorkelling on the last day of our trip and I think he does other excursions as well. He's a great guy so if you're looking for a more authentic Mexican experience, talk to him!

Our room was nice. It was just a standard room with a king size bed. The bed was very comfortable. I did not notice a weird smell. Sunsets were gorgeous every night.

The buffet was good. The Mexican food was really yummy but when they tried to make "American" food it was not as good. But being in Mexico, I preferred to eat Mexican food anyways. The other restaurant was good too. Most people make reservations but we ended up getting in by going later (around 9 pm) and tipping the maître d.

When we were at the resort, we would sit on the beach. Sometimes we couldn't get beach chairs so we would just sit on our towels. There were jellyfish in the water but they are completely harmless. The ones that were washing up on shore were dead and one did brush up on me and I was fine. There's a market on Saturdays that is walking distance. Great place for souvenirs.

It's really just what you make of it... It's not a huge Sandels type resort but we had a great vacation because we don't enjoy spending all our time at the resort. If you are looking for a resort with 24/7 entertainment, this place is not for you. If you want a nice place to stay but enjoy venturing off the resort, I would highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: We had a room close to ground level so we didn't have to bother with the elevator to go to the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JBerg90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

The hotel was very nice for the first 2 days, and then we woke up with Legionaires Disease, from the mold in the A/C duct !!! We were sick in bed with a horrible bronchial illness for the remaining 3 days, and had to order room service. Still , really feeling too sick to travel, we had to get our flight anyway and return home, and stayed sick another week. At least we had a gorgeous suite with a fantastic oceanfront view . Choose another hotel to be able to enjoy your whole vacation, and not just part of it.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Janell_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drumheller, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

Found a good price for this trip & had a sister who went here a couple of years ago & enjoyed it so thought what the heck. Hotel is nicely designed with all rooms ocean facing (beautifull sunsets everynight) and everything is close by (don't have to walk 300 yards for dinner...). Getting a little run down but not bad, a/c does smell musty but open the patio doors for a bit & it's ok, wouldn't hurt to bring some kind of freshener though. Entertainment crew was alot of fun, tried very hard to get you involved. Not a very wild night life but that was fine with us. Buffet food was pretty good, snack bar same, Italian A le carte was really good, other one ok., Nightly entertainment was average to good. Pool was a good size & drink lineups were ok. Beach was ok, a bit dirty but some kind of smokin hot. Almost had to run to get to the damp sand. Had alot of big waves coming in & often had jelly fish getting washed ashore.so it wasn't easy to swim or use the kyaks. Did some snorkeling on the left side of the bay which was not bad except the waves pulled you in & out more than I liked. Had some neat little shops right in the hotel & some just down the beach that were as good a deal as you could find in town. About 1/2 Canadians & 1/2 Mexican people made up which was a little awkward with the language barrier (a sure wish I spoke spanish). Would go again if the price was right.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Darcy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manzanillo hotels
0.5 km away
Dolphin Cove Inn
Dolphin Cove Inn
#11 of 53 in Manzanillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
7.0 km away
Holiday Inn Express Manzanillo
Holiday Inn Express Manzanillo
#10 of 53 in Manzanillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
1.4 km away
Camino Real Manzanillo
Camino Real Manzanillo
#12 of 53 in Manzanillo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
City Express Manzanillo
City Express Manzanillo
#2 of 53 in Manzanillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
5.8 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Luna Del Mar
0.8 km away
Barcelo Karmina
Barcelo Karmina
#1 of 53 in Manzanillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tesoro Manzanillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tesoro Manzanillo

Property: Tesoro Manzanillo
Address: Avenida Audiencia 1, Manzanillo 28867, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Colima > Manzanillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Manzanillo
#5 Spa Hotel in Manzanillo
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Manzanillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tesoro Manzanillo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 331
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Tesoro Manzanillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tesoro Manzanillo Hotel Manzanillo
Hotel Tesoro Manzanillo
Manzanillo Tesoro Hotel
Tesoro Hotel Manzanillo
Tesoro Manzanillo Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing