We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First trip but not our last!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
El Cid Marina Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 78 Hotels in Mazatlan
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
calgary
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“First trip but not our last!”
Reviewed 19 February 2012

What an amazing stay we had at the El Cid Marina! We cannot say enough about the resort or the wonderful staff.

Check in was absolutely quick and easy, a task that has never been done at other resorts we have stayed at. We were taken to our room by Isreal who pointed out different areas around the resort and from that day till our last day, Isreal always was a help.

Our room was amazing, we had a view of the ocean and a wonderful one bedroom suite with all of the amenities that we could possibly need. Our housekeeper, Claudia was very efficient and made a point of speaking to us wherever she saw us on the resort.

Breakfast was ready early (which we loved) and thanks to Victoria we had wonderful service. Also a wonderful young man named Octavio made sure we left with bottled water for our walk. So thoughtful!

Lunch at the Calipso Pool Bar was great, thanks to the wonderful service from Angel, Miguel & Jose Luis (not to mention the great drink service they provided) and we also had a very nice lunch at the Marina Restaurant. A special note has to be made about the bartender at the Calipso Pool, his name is Raul. We have never seen a man work so hard and make such wonderful drinks as our friend Raul. This man moves! He makes any drink you may want and he has to be the most organized bartender we have seen anywhere!

Dinner at the Marina Restaurant was always fantastic, Ramone is the manager who greeted us with a handshake and worked very hard with his staff to make sure our meal and evening was perfect. Thanks also to Daniel, Jorge and Caesar!! Live music was every night and many got up and sang their favorite song, and it was common for dancing to occur whenever we felt the need! Lots of fun.

It was also fun after dinner to go down to the Marina Bar, drinks and service from Roberto were appreciated and it was a great place to end the evening.

Thanks also to Fabian, who always had a big smile for us when we picked up our towels at the Laguana Pool.

We enjoyed the short 5 minute water taxi to the Beach where you could relax and have a lovely lunch at the Beach Club Snack Bar, and take a walk along the beach for as much as an hour one way. The beach is great!

Jaimie is one of the activities directors and he was always so friendly and open for suggestions for things that we would like to do. The pool volleyball was a hoot to be part of and even more entertaining to watch!!

It seems that a lot of people write their reviews mentioning staff at the Marina. How can we not- these people made out stay most enjoyable. All of the staff need to be thanked.

This was a great vacation, we had so much fun with all of the people that we met from all over Canada and the USA. Never a dull moment around that pool. Lots of laughs and just a comfort of feeling at home, no wonder that so many have been going to the El Cid Marina for years.

Also of note is that we never felt anything but safe in Mazatlan. We spent an entire day in Old Mazatlan, went one evening to a festival, and went out a couple of evening with new friends. Never did we feel anything but welcomed by the people of Mazatlan.

Randy and Sandy Ogilvie

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CalgarySandram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSElCid, General Manager at El Cid Marina Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Dear Calgarysandram

First at all thank you so much to choose Marina El Cid to spend your vacations with us. Also for this wonderful review, it is awesome to know that you had a great time during your stay with us.

The whole staff works very hard every day to make you feel just like home. All the employees that you mentioned on your review are a very important part of this hotel, we are proud that they are part of our big family of Marina El Cid. Our goal is that you have an unforgettable vacations! We strive to provide an excellent and warm service!

Im sure that the next time that you visit us we are going to receive you with a big smile and a positive attitude!

Hope to see you soon!

Best Regards,

Isaias Gomez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,505
    504
    120
    47
    17
See reviews for
825
788
63
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (493)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milltown, WI
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We stayed for 10 days at the El Cid Marina and we loved it!! Stayed in building A (great view of the ocean). Our friends had a room next to the pool bar and the service was great! The waiters came right to our balcony and took our orders. Fidel and Alberto were the best!

The rooms were great and the food was pretty good. Went to a couple places in town and another El Cid resort for dinner.

Ww would go back to El Cid Marina for sure!! But only can trade our timeshare every 4 years there.

Miss you guys already!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ssaubart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSElCid, General Manager at El Cid Marina Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Dear Ssaubart

Thank you for selecting our hotel to spend your vacations. It is great to hear that you have a fun time with us and enjoyed of our facilities, food service and to hear as well that our staff took an excellent care of you; our whole staff works very hard to make your stay more comfortable, and we are very proud to have them on our team!

Hopefully we will see you in a near future! We will gladly assist you !

Best Regards,

Isaias Gomez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chestermere, Alberta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

I just came back from a short golf trip in Mazatlan, Feb 10-14. The purpose of the trip was golfing with the guys, but the wife and the son wanted to come along. We got there at 1:30pm and Rogelio quickly checked us in. Jorge was there to welcome us and made sure that we were well taken care of. We had two Junior Suite Rooms, with connecting doors between them. After we checked in, we took the shuttle and went to the El Cid golf course, and played 9 holes. After the game, the guys went back to the Marina and the wife and my little boy were still in the poor. Our room were 142 & 143 and it were right at the pool and the pool restaurant. We ordered snack and drinks and had them delivered right to our balcony. Danniel at the restaurant was always eager to serve us.

Our room attendant was Aida, and she took care of us really well. I left $100 pesos after the first night for tips, but Aida didn't take it. I had to put an extra $100 Pesos the next day and wrote a note to Aida and she finally took the tips. We had dinner twice at the Marina restaurant, and Rigo, the waiter was wonderful. We had the elite All Inclusive plan so there were lobster on the menu.

The marina resort is a nice and quiet resort, just north of the golden zone. The purpose of the trip was golfing. We golfed three times at the El Cid golf club, and our Caddy, George who won all the money on all three days (We golf and bet every day, but all the winning money, we tipped to George). We decided to play at the Estrella Del Mar golf course on our last day in Mazatlan, and what a good decision we made. The golf course was in top notch condition and for $75/round, power cart included was well worth it. Also, we replayed the course and it was only $18/person. I have to say Estrella Del Mar was awesome and there are about 6 holes along the ocean.

By the way, with all the negative media hype about the safety in Mazatlan, we were a bit scare when we booked the trip. However, when we got there we found out that the people of Mazatlan are the nicest and friendliest people. We decide to tour Mazatlan by taxi. We hired a taxi for two hours at $25/hour (5 peoples) and our driver, Carlos was wonderful. He took us out on the town and showed the old Mazatlan. That was an eye opener. The guys loved it, and the wife and my little boy really enjoyed it. The guys decided to go out and had a few drinks the next night, and Carlos didn't disappointed us. He tooked us to the local bar and we had a few drinks with and had lot of funs.

This is my first ever trip to Matzalan and it won't be my last. Next year we will have at least 8 guys and for golf and who knows, the wives and the kids will want to join us again.

Once again, thank you Jorge, Daniel, Rigo, Aida, the reception staff, the bell boys and George at the golf course for making our trip a wonderful one.

Room Tip: If your kids love the pool, then stay at room 142 & 143.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Haphilong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSElCid, General Manager at El Cid Marina Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Dear Haphliling

We kindly would like to thank you for having taken the time to detail your experience about our property. El Cid offers something for everyone, a proof of this is that you enjoyed playing Golf, and your family of the multiple options of entertainment in our property.

A personalized service is something that characterizes to El Cid, and I read with pleasure that our staff (as always) did it successfully. We thank you for allow us to take care of you and your family.

Please tell to your friends that this beautiful port of Mazatlan and us will be anxious waiting for their visit. I will make sure to share this encouraging review with the personnel you mention by name, we thank you for such compliments.

Remember we will be waiting for you.

sincerely,

Isaias Gomez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Rooms are great and well maintained but if you are travelling single I found I was ignored quite a few times while trying to get a drink or dinner. If you want more action than just Bingo poolside, I would suggest one of the other El Cids in the more central areas

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MSJ1145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSElCid, General Manager at El Cid Marina Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 16 February 2012
Dear MSJ1145

Thanks for choosing El Cid Marina to spend your vacations and also thank you for the time to write this review, we really appreciate it. I am glad to read that you enjoyed our facilities.

While mostly of our guests have a memorable vacation with us, I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your vacation. We always take an excellent care of all our guest no matter if they are couples, singles or are travelling in group.

We will gladly receive you next time, I am sure that you will enjoy of all the services El Cid offers, we have something for everyone.

Hope to see you soon.

Isaias Gomez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 10 February 2012

This was our third year at El Cid Marina Beach and once again it was amazing. The resort is quiet which is what we look for - great rooms that are huge suites, great pool and most of all the great staff and service. The staff at El Cid Marina will make your stay memorable - Rogelio made the checkin a breeze and made us feel very welcome. Angel, Miguel and Jose Luis at the calipso pool bar are the best servers there! Francisco and Edy serve breakfast at the Marina restaurant and are great - they always remembered what we have in the morning and bring it to us without even asking including our special green juice in the morning. You also have to check out the great omelettes made to order by Lupita. You also have to see Jesus in the dining room for a great Mexican coffee. The resort is not huge but I think that makes it the most special - you will make great friends and always have amazing service. Thanks to the staff at El Cid Marina for another great and memorable vacation (and to all our friends - old and new we met at the resort)!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JStew23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSElCid, General Manager at El Cid Marina Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2012
Dear JStew23

Very emotional review. I am very excited to read all your compliments and that you have made very good friends here at El Cid Marina. We thank you for allowing us being part of your life.
I read with pleasure that again you had a wonderful vacation at this your home, we are aware that there are many options of hotels, for that reason we value a lot your loyalty and offer you a very personalized service.

Your comments have been shared with all of your friends here at El Cid Marina and thanks again for your loyalty.

We hope to see you very soon!!!

Isaias Gomez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oshawa, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

One hears all of the negative reports of going to Mexico and are leary to go. I dont know where people get these twisted ideas. Just got back from our golf vacation and stayed at ElCid Castilla hotel. The staff are WONDERFUL, pools heated and clean, food Exceptional in all ala carts, rooms spotless and maid service wonderful and friendly. We were in Room 1502 starting Jan 31st 2012. I thank all the staff for there friendly service with special kudos to Alisha and Gisel at the Elite club and Carlos in Customer service desk. And one cannot forget Ramone in the El Cid Marina ala cart dinner. What a gentleman and pleasure it was to dine there. We went back it was so wonderful. Thankyou one and all from the Elite club staff to the gardeners. You people made our vacation a memorable wonderful experience.Walking through town was also a non issue. The towns people were friendly and greeted you with a smile, yes they want you to shop in there stores but what store keeper dosent. I felt safer walking through Mazatlan than I would right here in Toronto any day of the week, day or night. The golf course ( 27 holes) was a treat and great fun with great caddies that sure help your game. My only issue was internet service was on and off, but that happens in my own home with ROGERS . Ide give El cid 4.9 stars with great thanks and an assurance Ill be back but for LONGER next time. The vendors on the beach will try to sell to you of course but a simple no thankyou or no Gracias is all it takes. Be civil to people and you will have No problem. I firmly believe the trouble on trips we read about are from those who do not use there heads and do foolish things or treat the people badly and ask for trouble. Treat them as you wish to be treated.Thank you EL CID and Mazatlan one and all. Youll be missed untill next time . Esta la Vista

Mike Pantalleresco

Room Tip: Go with the ELITE package, It is WELL worth it. Just say no Gracias to the beach vendors and they wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mbassmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSElCid, General Manager at El Cid Marina Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2012
Dear mbassmaster

Thanks a lot for sharing this wonderful review of our sister hotel, El Cid Castilla. We are more than happy to note that our associates are doing an excellent job and that you have overall enjoyed your stay.

I ensure you that I will share this comment with the staff at Castilla, I can imagine the pleasure that it will give them to read that you had a great time and are planning to come back, hopefully in your second visit you decide to stay with us at El Cid Marina, be assured that we will treat you with a personalized service.

Receive our best wishes,

Isaias Gomez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yonkers, New York
Level Contributor
87 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

the marina beach was lovely & quiet,unlike their sister hotel El cid moro. pool area very nice unless you like a bit of shade. restaurant is fair,but many more not far.free shuttle to moro which has a few restaurants,inc. good mex.NOWHERE did I get a decent Margaritta untill I went to a bar!
Two complaints about this place:elevator closed too quiclky,almost cutting my arm off. it seemd a bit better 2 days later but still required running in. be careful of tours,even thru hotel.we were steered to expensive shops,not given enough time downtown on the "city tour",not one real crafts store or t shirt shop.& hard to take pics on a moving bus! Take the city bus-real cheap & walk around for yourself. and no need for fear here! just common sence!

Room Tip: all rooms face poo/bay. even right across from pool it was not noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunwalker2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSElCid, General Manager at El Cid Marina Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2012
Dear sunwalker2001

Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know your impressions in regards to your stay at this your home. While most of our guests come back home with great memories of their stay, I regret that we did not meet your expectations in a 100%. I totally understand your displeasure for this regretful experience in regards to the elevator service, but fortunately, the most of the comments that we get from our guest are positives but, when they are not, we make use of the complaints to detect and correct our faults. We take advantage of all the opportunities to improve our service.

Please accept once again our apologies and we would be very grateful having the opportunity of serving you in the near future and be assured you will have my personal attention.

Best regards,

Isaias Gomez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mazatlan hotels
1.7 km away
El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel
2.0 km away
El Cid Granada Country Club
5.2 km away
Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
The Inn at Mazatlan
The Inn at Mazatlan
#9 of 78 in Mazatlan
665 reviews
3.3 km away
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
#5 of 78 in Mazatlan
1,760 reviews
0.3 km away
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
#8 of 78 in Mazatlan
1,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Cid Marina Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cid Marina Beach Hotel

Property: El Cid Marina Beach Hotel
Address: Av. Camaron Sabalo 1705, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Mazatlan
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Mazatlan
#1 Business Hotel in Mazatlan
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mazatlan
#3 Family Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Cid Marina Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the tranquil atmosphere and impeccable luxury of one of Mexico's finest beachfront properties located just five minutes from the cultural epicenter of Mazatlan's Golden Zone with attractive shops, restaurants, nightclubs and El Cid Golf & Country Club. This premier Mediterranean-style hotel is the preferred secluded spot for families who want to reconnect or couples looking for romance. Defined by our unparalleled hospitality, amazing marina-front location, inviting swimming pools, peaceful private beach and tantalizing cuisine, El Cid Marina Beach offers a memorable vacation experience. • Beautifully Appointed Suites • European, All-Inclusive & Elite All-inclusive Plans • Upscale Atmosphere • Secluded Golden Sandy Beach reachable by a quick water taxi ride • Two restaurants • Two pools and a spacious Jacuzzi • Two Snack Bars • Full Service Marina with Aries Sports fishing Fleet • Access to facilities of three nearby El Cid hotels and El Cid Golf & Country Club by complimentary shuttle • WIFI Internet Access (fee) • Only 20 miles from Mazatlan Airport • Pronatours Tour Desk in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your El Cid Marina Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Marina El Cid
El Cid Marina Beach Resort
Marina El Cid Hotel
El Cid Mazatlan Mexico
El Cid Marina Mazatlan
Mazatlan El Cid
Hotel El Cid Marina Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing