We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is in decline.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villas El Rancho Green Resort
Ranked #16 of 80 Hotels in Mazatlan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 January 2012

This used to be a quiet beautiful place that you could depend on......alas no more. It is badly in need of repairs. Biggest problem now is the on site manager. We were there this past month and during our stay he rented out half of the entire place to a bus load of sixty young adults and gave them free rein of the place. They were blasting their music until 4am each day and refused to turn it down. Even though about ten of us complained to the manager he just laughed and said they were having fun. The front desk was exasperated but said the group was friends of the manager so nothing could be done. Hopefully the owner will take a interest and realize how bad this manager is. Also the pool is not heated as promised and was freezing cold, the wi-fi around the pool was not working, the cable TV has only three american stations now and pretty much every promise and expected upgrade to the property has never been done......very disappointed.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 22savytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElRanchoMzt, Guest Relations Manager at Villas El Rancho Green Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2012

Dear 22SavvyTraveler,

Thank you for sharing your experiences. We sincerely apologize, because as you say the manager did not act at all according to El Rancho policy. At El Rancho, our primary goal is to provide you with a relaxing and peaceful vacation, and the manager did not enforce that. He has been severely reprimanded, and we would like to offer you free nights on a future vacation with us in order to make up for the part of your vacation that was affected by the group of young adults. Please contact the reservations office. Also, we would like to make clear that even if a manager is doing something that is contrary to the spirit of El Rancho, you can request that the staff contact the owner in order for the situation to be dealt with.

We promise that we will always preserve El Rancho as the place where you can enjoy true relaxation and a peaceful vacation, and we look forward to seeing you many times in the future.

Sincerely,
Larry Flathmann
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (510)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 510 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2012

We stayed at the Villas El Rancho from January 18 - 23, 2012 and we were not at all happy with this hotel. We were scheduled to stay for 10 days but gladly left early and moved to the Golden Zone.

This place is 25 years old and in dire need of a total facelift. Our unit was very musty, smelly and dirty. The kitchen was disgusting with a fridge that was totally rusted out both inside and out. The bathroom had rust and mold everywhere. The towels are all grey and stained. It is very humid at this location due to all the vegetation and the bed sheets, towels and even your clothes are always damp.

This is a timeshare property mainly and you will be bugged from when you check in and daily by the four timeshare reps that work there. Be prepared.

It is very quiet with absolutely nothing going on. The two adjoining high rises block the sun around noon so the pool area is shaded. The pool is not heated and the hot tub is lukewarm and the hot tub at the beach has no water in it. Once it's dark the place is deserted and the lights are off around 9:00 pm. It is very far from downtown although bus service is good right out the door.

The restaurant has good meals with good service. The office staff and manager are wonderful and provide excellent service but they are very limited to what they can do In a very aging property that seems to only want to sell timeshares.

In closing I would like to say that the manager did everything he could do to get us to stay but once we were firm on telling him that we wanted to leave he was very accommodating. Too bad he has to deal with the complaints resulting from such a run down place that simply needs a total overhaul.....top to bottom.

Room Tip: You need to be in a poolside unit to be able to get Internet reception.......which is intermittent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank aliceb5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElRanchoMzt, Guest Relations Manager at Villas El Rancho Green Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2012

Dear Aliceb5,

Thank you for sharing your comments with us.

We do admit that there is a lot of humidity - we are directly on the beach, after all, and our villas are at ground level and open directly on the lush tropical gardens. In all honesty, clothes and linens may be a little damp, but we've never had guests complain about it. Of course, some people prefer to be in a sterile tower, not actually close to nature, and so they don't value what El Rancho offers.

We are serious about offering a peaceful and relaxing environment for your vacation. That does mean that we don't encourage a lot of "night life" (although all of the Golden Zone's attractions are only 10 minutes away). It also means that we don't want you to feel pestered, and we apologize if you felt bothered by the timeshare representatives. Unfortunately, the timeshare culture in Mazatlan is something we have to fight against, but we will continue to instruct our representatives to respect the peace of our guests.

We're glad that you appreciated our restaurant, and we're sorry that the beachfront hot tub was under repair while you visited.

Sincerely,
Larry Flathmann
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

I did read below that it was a private beach with no vendors and was very happy to have seen that...well that is incorrect information because the vendors park themselves right on their stairs! I couldn't sit out and relax. At the pool there is about 2 hours of sun during the day. We turned down there timeshare offer and after that I just felt uncomfortable. Other guests told us they just keep after you. The landscape is very well mantained. BUT, the villas are OLD Mexio! Clean and no smell in ours but, nothing is updated in them.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ZUREALSOON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElRanchoMzt, Guest Relations Manager at Villas El Rancho Green Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2012

Dear Zurealsoon,

Thank you for sharing your comments.

We're sorry that you were uncomfortable with the vendors. We have always found them to be friendly and respectful, and we provide our private beach area where they are not allowed to enter so that you can enjoy yourself in peace.

I also want to reassure you that we value our regular guests, and that we do not want to pressure anyone to buy a membership/timeshare. We do offer memberships because many of our guests want to take advantage of the many extra benefits both in savings and expanded options for vacations, but we understand that some people are not interested and we respect that.

We're glad that you appreciated our beautiful tropical gardens and beach. We will always maintain our villas clean and in good order, and we think that Old Mexico has great charm. We freely admit that El Rancho is not "new and shiny," and that's how we like it. We want to offer our guests a taste of Old Mexico that is very difficult to find in the modern world.

Sincerely,
Larry Flathmann
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

I stayed here with family and friends and is the most wonderful place to spent time.... Neatness place ever with the most relaxing atmosphere by the beach!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I really highly recommed this place to everyone that vistits Mexico it is peaceful and have never heard issues about this exciting Hote.....

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank visits86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

My best friend and I decided to visit Mazatlan on a "ladies only" vacation so we could catch up with each other's busy lives. We were looking for a nice quiet place and we found it at Villas El Rancho! Our villa was WONDERFUL! It was a two story oceanfront condo! We each had our own bedroom and bathroom in addition to a nicely sized living room, kitchen and dining area. The beds were very comfortable and the decorations were rustic and beautiful. The first thing you notice upon arrival is the lush foilage of the tropical garden that is beautifully landscaped.The second thing you notice is the helpful staff. Everything was nice and clean (even the beach) and the staff all take pride in their work. Everyone was wonderful and went out of their way to make us feel at home. The restaurant La Fonda served delicious food (Tip: The staff knows what they are talking about so eat whatever they recommend and you won't be displeased!) and daily happy hour at the bar was fun too! After we relaxed and caught up with each other in this peaceful setting, the helpful staff recommended places for us to visit and arranged for safe transportation to and from various sites in Mazatlan. We spent a little over a week at this wonderful resort and decided the next time we might even let the families join us! I totally recommend The Villas el Rancho for anyone looking for a nice, clean and safe place to visit!

Room Tip: The Oceanfront rooms are truly right on the beach but the poolside rooms are nicely placed too if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhonda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

I stayed here with relatives in Jan 2012 and feel I have to let other prospective visitors know that El Rancho is really not like it looks in the website photos and quite frankly very poor value for the money spent. I do not know how they can be rated # 4 in Mazatlan.We were really disappointed with most of it. Where to start? Our biggest complaint is one that I don't think can be fixed.The overpowering smell in the unit was terrible! I think that this place has been flooded out a few times given how close it is to the beach.It was a cross between mold
and insecticide.My brother in law washed the floor with a bleach solution himself and he said the floor was not dirty but could not get rid of the smell.We would have moved but all of the units are like that and he knows because he looked at several of them to try to find one that smelled OK.I don't think that a lot can be done to improve this other than demolition and rebuilding.It is a dark and dank very old place and everything is well worn with really only basic amenities. The staff are quite cordial and I feel badly for them because they are trying
and wonder why no one returns for a second visit.The gardens are well kept and very tropical but towers on either side shade the pool area except at midday which does not help. The coconut trees are dangerous and should be trimmed of their large coconuts. One fell right on the path in our garden seconds before my husband walked there. It could
have killed him.I noticed other large coconut palms near units as well. I could go on about the shortcomings but these are the main concerns. We are not overly demanding in our needs but will definitely not be returning here.

Room Tip: Don't go
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank aircanadagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElRanchoMzt, Guest Relations Manager at Villas El Rancho Green Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2012

Dear Aircanadagirl,

Thank you for sharing your comments.

We're very sorry that you felt that there was a disagreeable smell in your room. In all honesty, we're surprised and confused, because we maintain a very high level of cleanliness in our villas, and we have not received complaints from any of our guests, but we certainly respect your opinion. Please do understand, however, that your standards are different than any of our other guests.

We're glad that you appreciated our staff. We're very proud of the service that we provide our guests, and we'll share your compliment with our staff.

I'd also like to point out that, contrary to your opinion, the great majority of our guests are people who come back, because they have experienced the relaxing atmosphere of El Rancho, and can't resist coming back!

It is true that there are condominium towers on both sides of El Rancho, as in most of Mazatlan. That's part of what makes El Rancho unique - our small size and individual villas. However, only one of those towers gives shade to our pool area, and only for an hour or two. None of our guests seem to mind that, given that we offer two heated jacuzzis and that our beach area, which is always sunny, always has plenty of room.

We're sorry that you felt that the coconuts are dangerous. It's not every resort that can offer fresh coconuts and coconut milk from the trees in their own tropical gardens, and we're proud to offer that authentic touch. We do harvest the coconuts regularly, but we don't cut them before they are ripe. If it helps to calm your fears, we haven't had a single person hurt by a falling coconut since El Rancho was built (and we guarantee that they're not deadly!).

Our desire is for every guest to be fully satisfied with their vacation with us. If there's anything we can do for you, please contact us directly.

In the meantime, we'll continue providing great service and the uniquely relaxing atmosphere that makes all our other guests rave about us! :)

Sincerely,
Larry Flathmann
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2011

We had a wonderfully relaxing vacation at Villas El Rancho Green Resort, where we stayed for a week at the end of November 2011. Since it was my first time staying at this resort, I didn't know what to expect.The resort was absolutely beautiful and was very peaceful with beautiful tropical gardens. Each villa had 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, a full kitchen, living room, dining room and was just steps from a pool and the beach. I liked the idea of not having a phone in the villas, which made my vacation quite relaxing. Every night, I could hear the waves while I drifted off to sleep. It was so soothing. Everyone at the resort was very nice. Whenever I had a question or needed help with something, there was always someone available to assist me. I want to thank everyone at Villas El Rancho Green Resort for making my stay enjoyable. I especially want to thank Isabel and Wiston for their assistance, services, friendliness, and for always having a smile on their face whenever I saw them. I plan to return to the resort in the near future. Thank you again! :-)

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cheebschubbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mazatlan hotels
3.6 km away
Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay
3.6 km away
The Inn at Mazatlan
The Inn at Mazatlan
#12 of 80 in Mazatlan
698 reviews
1.9 km away
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
#7 of 80 in Mazatlan
1,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel
4.8 km away
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
#3 of 80 in Mazatlan
1,856 reviews
23.9 km away
Estrella Del Mar Resort Mazatlan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas El Rancho Green Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas El Rancho Green Resort

Address: Avenida Sabalo-Cerritos 3170, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range: $182 - $361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villas El Rancho Green Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relaxation, enjoyment, peace, and good food all in one beautiful place, Villas El Rancho! Welcome to our family friendly hotel where you'll find a great beach front location and the calm and privacy that you deserve. Featuring Mexican rustic style, Villas El Rancho offers you 28 completely private, quiet and relaxing rooms with the capacity to welcome 6 people per "villa". All our rooms have a large living area, comfortable bedrooms, and a kitchenette with all the utensils to enjoy the art of cooking and have a family or romantic dinner (But if you also want to take a rest from the kitchen, you can join us at "Lupita's", our delicious Mexican food restaurant). If you are looking for the best place to relax, what are you waiting for? Get away with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Villas El Rancho Green Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas El Rancho Green Hotel Mazatlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing