We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Clean hotel at a reasonable price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta
Ranked #40 of 126 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Whitehorse, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Clean hotel at a reasonable price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights in March. Our first night, we had a room with a double and single bed. It was not comfortable, so we went and got upgraded to a room with a king bed for no charge. The staff are great! Rooms are clean, centrally located near the Malecon and affordable. The restaurant on site was not great, but lots of nearby options to choose from. Overall, the hotel is great and a good price.

Some notes on Puerto Vallarta. We travelled with our two sons, 17 and 20. We went out one night and my oldest wanted to hang out longer, so he stayed on the Malecon. He was walking back along the Malecon by himself one night smoking a cigarette. He was stopped by the policia municipal, accusing him of smoking drugs. He stopped and showed them his cigarette. He was told to empty his pockets onto the ground. He had an iPod and about 700 pesos. He did as instructed. The policia scooped up everything, put it in his pocket and drove off. He chalked it up to life lesson, don't walk alone at night. Three days later, he went for breakfast then needed to go to the bank machine. Again, he was alone. He pulled 800 pesos and was heading back to our hotel. Again, he was stopped by the policia municipal for no reason and told to empty his pockets, with the same result as above. He was not happy! I emailed the Canadian consulate, and was told where to go and what to do, with no assurance that anything would indeed be done. In the end, we didn't do anything, as I did not want to spend my last day wasting my time in a bureaucratic nightmare. Just wanted to let you all know. This definitely colored our opinion of Mexico and has made us question whether a return vacation will be in our future.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lalenawalter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zvictor, Gerente at Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Dear lalenawalter,

We're very sorry to hear what happened to your oldest son during your visit to Puerto Vallarta.

We wish we had known about this situation when it happened, so we could have gone over all of the facts, helped you with the process of approaching the consulate, and maybe found the police officer that behaved in such an unpardonable way.

In Puerto Vallarta, all hotels, restaurants, travel agencies, and citizens in general feel very secure with the safety of our community. We therefore consider it our personal responsibility to prevent this type of event and provide support to victims like you and your son.

Again, I am so sorry about your experience and sincerely hope it has not tainted your view of Puerto Vallarta forever.

I would love to host you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    143
    47
    13
    12
See reviews for
53
165
58
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

Good place to hang out in Vallarta. Just a few meters from the malecon. The hotel has a lovelly courtyard, but the rooms are very basic.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tommy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zvictor, Gerente at Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Hola HdGowner, Thank you for your review.

The hotel is being constantly updated in order to accomodate the changing needs of our guests.

In 2011 all of the double rooms were renewed and now feature more comfortable beds with new mattresses, new decoration, better lighting, LED flat TVs, more spacious bathrooms, hair dryers, and new china and microwaves in the rooms with kitchenette... You can see pictures in our profile!

Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, British Columbia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

This hotel is located right at the Malecon in the centre of town, only a block from the Rio Cuale. The staff was friendly and helpful. The basic room are showing their age, but are kept very clean and tidy. The hotel is located on a very busy street and if you are used to complete silence when you sleep it may be wise to bring along earplugs, or ask for a room away from the main street. I recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a clean and conveniently located budget hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShawnCornell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new west, bc
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

We stayed one week there. We had a kitchen to cook. Very clean and linen changed daily.
Altough situated in a noisy area, windows were good enough to shut out all the noises. Kitchenette does not have enough itmes but you can ask for more from the staff. Better to make the reservation directly using the hotel web-site.

Room Tip: We liked the room no:123.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jaywithanage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

Victor and staff did a great job at making me feel welcome during my 16 day stay at the Hotel Rio. The room was very clean, and the fine hotel cleaning staff kept it looking great day after day. Everybody always offered a smile as I was coming and going, and made sure that I always had everything that I needed.

The restaurant menu was available in English, and provided plenty of variety at a reasonable price.

I own an 1800 square foot beach condo in Nuevo Vallarta, but could not stay there as it was leased for five months. So I searched the internet for a place to stay while I was in Vallarta renewing my FM3 status. Taking a chance on Hotel Rio, I prepaid for only one day. It was an easy decision to extend my stay for another two weeks.

Hotel Rio's location is great; you need only to cross the street to be on the Malecon ...the walkway next to the beach. There are plenty of English speakers to give you directions and answer your questions.

Even when I am staying in my own place in Nuevo (www.NittaCondo.com), when my wife and I want to spend a night or two in downtown Puerto Vallarta, I'll stay overnight at the Hotel Rio.

RichBrott.com

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NittaCondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zvictor, Propietario at Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Thank you very much for your review NittaCondo, we're happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Rio Malecon and that you're planning to come back in the future. Our goal is to provide our guests with all the necesary tools to spend a perfect vacation and to put a smile upon their faces every single day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

Just returned from a week stay at the Rio. The room was clean and comfortable. The a/c worked great and the bed was fine. The staff was friendly. Great location very close to the Malecon, Central PV and Zona Romantica. Never used the pool because it is in an interior courtyard and gets little sun - It's surrounded by tables from the restaraunt Co-Exist. There is noise from the street, but the balcony door seemed to keep it to a minimum. Overall, very pleased with our stay and would recommend it to others. Good value for the money.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CBinAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

We've stayed in a lot of places in PV (resorts and hotels) and have found the usual things everyone whines About (hard beds, crappy a/c etc) This hotel surprised us with an awesome location, cleanliness, excellent a/c, attentive staff. Rooms are quiet with triple pane glass so you can sit outside and enjoy the street noise (quite comical at times) and when you need a break close the noise out. Oh ya the beds are hard lol... Go buy a matress pad for 15 bucks..stop whining! We left everyday and when the doors open thought how cool is this, all of PV is our resort!! The Malecon is across the street, restaurants everywhere, shopping galore. You can go to a resort and pay 4 times as much, or enjoy the freedom of being in the heart of PV. We felt very safe there, and will return.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Miss_Marlain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.1 km away
Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel
Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel
#48 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Porto Allegro
Hotel Porto Allegro
#37 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#59 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hotel Posada de Roger
Hotel Posada de Roger
#18 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
0.1 km away
Encino Hotel
Encino Hotel
#69 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.9 km away
Rosita Hotel
Rosita Hotel
#55 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta

Property: Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta
Address: Morelos No. 170 | Col. Centro, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#11 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#24 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#31 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An affordable boutique style hotel located in the heart of downtown Puerto Vallarta. Only 5 miles away from the international airport and walking distance from the main attractions in the area, such as the traditional and recently restored Malecon, Los Muertos Beach, the Flea Market, the Romantic Zone, Restaurant Row, as well as Puerto Vallarta’s exciting night life. Our facilities include 47 comfortable rooms (featuring plasma TV with cable, private bathroom with shower, double glass windows, balcony and some with kitchenette), COEXISTbistro and International Bar (open daily 8am – 2am), outdoor chlorine-free swimming pool, complementary Wi-Fi, private club room for special events, and 24 hour in-house concierge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rio Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing