We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Older hotel but very quaint.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Tropicana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tropicana Hotel
Ranked #60 of 126 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Older hotel but very quaint.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

Even though this is an older hotel without a lot of amenities we love it. We stayed in the superior room this time as it is newer and has a balcony that you can sit and look out. We have stayed in the other sections before and there is nothing wrong with them. Washrooms are older and you can't sit on the chairs and look out from the balcony. The location is excellent. Everything is within walking distance and you get the real feel of the place. There are restaurants, coffee shops, pharmacies, shopping, etc. almost right out the door. The staff is very friendly. The rooms are very clean. The beds are hard but we have come across that in other hotels also. The tv isn't the newest but who comes here to watch tv? The beach is the nicest in the bay although the waves are almost always too much. The food is pretty basic but we like to go out to different restaurants anyway. There are a lot of gays staying there but we don't have any prejudice against them. The people that we do find annoying are the French Canadians. There are quite a few of them that stay here. The tend to be very unfriendly and rude.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cardlady13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    311
    123
    50
    45
See reviews for
96
257
72
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brantford
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

My wife and I stayed at this hotel March 2012. After reading all the posts I had a very clear understanding of the hotel before arrival. The lobby and pool area are beautiful and the beach is the best in PV. The Internet sucked but as you eat at the restaurants within walking distance most of them have wifi. By mid week we had Internet where ever we went. One of the most reliable spots was at Dee's Coffee Shop around the corner. The room was as basic as they come but it was very clean and we had a great view of the pool and ocean. The bed was a bit hard but it worked. We got the breakfast package but to be honest it wasn't very good, save your money. You can walk just out the door and there is a restaurant that has a 49peso($4CAD) breakfast menu. We never ate at the hotel for dinner as there are too many places to choose from. There is service on the beach and around the pool if you like, with $2CAD beers or you can go to the oxxo(local convenience store) one block away and get a bag of ice, and all the drinks you want for $1 each and take them down to the beach. The vendors on the beach are very annoying. You just have to say no but there is a constant stream of them. Seems like every 3 min someone is asking you to buy something(no joke). You would think the hotel would put a stop to it but it is pretty normal everywhere you go in PV. If you look like a tourist you will be bothered. In the end, I would absolutely go back to this hotel. The location is great and the hotel is clean. The area is very gay friendly and if that doesn't bother you, you will be fine. I really like PV because all your conveniences you have at home are there including Walmart and Costco. If you need money you can use your bank card at one of the thousands of ATM's and there are pharmacies on every corner. As for money, go to your bank at home and buy pesos and don't take American or Canadian. You will have convert when you get there anyways! We felt very safe contrary to all the news reports. PV is a major tourist destination and they work very hard at keeping it safe.

Room Tip: Dont buy the all inclusive package. There are sooo many good resturants within walking distance that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pickerington
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

We were staying with friends a short distance from the beach. We talked to a man working the palapa huts in front of this hotel about what it costs to rent one for our family of four. He took us to the pool bar where we were told that it would be 540 pesos total (~$45) and it was called a DEPOSIT. My husband asked if that meant we would get our money back. Si. We hung at the beach for a while, left our own towels, etc., and got some lunch at Daiquiri Dick's on the beach nearby. Sometime after that, the man serving the people on the beach said something about us not using our CREDIT for any food or drinks. He said we had money to use. We got one water, one beer, and one mixed drink. When we went up to the bar to get our deposit back, the original lady wasn't there. This is when we found out that it's NOT a deposit. We paid $45 for 3 drinks. Definite communication problem. There would be no refund of any money. We even offered to pay for our drinks. Nope. So just know that it's NOT a deposit.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sandirp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
akron
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

My husband and I stayed for 10 days at Christmas - I just read many reviews and agee with the good ones. Close to everything. We walked down street for 1/2 block and got coffee and fresh juice from a lady who had a small sidewalk shop. Best coffee we had anywhere. Breakfast was anywhere down the beach and yummy everywhere. The beds are hard but they brought us a mat ress topper. Our view was great if you were standing or leaned over the cement balcony rail, we really spent very little time in the room, so not a big issue for us. Don't know much about customer service, because we had no issues and require very little customer service. As far as Gay friendly. Most people don't enjoy watching public dislays of affection for any sexual preference. We saw many gay couples on the beach and never witnesses any public affection, PVR has brochures everywhere advertising it as Gay friendly and I believe it was from the many places we went! We found the gay population to be alot of fun and even went to show where we sat with a gay professional couple who were very nice and fun!
Loved the beach, location was the best we have ever had inPVR! We really had no complaints, we go toPVR every year, and found the Tropicana to be pretty similar to other 3 star hotels. Would we go back! Absolutely !

Room Tip: The tower rooms had nicer balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank lucyAkron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

The hotel has a great view and is very clean but the beds are like stone. Most importantly though, if you're gay, this is probably not the place for you. The hotel strongly discourages any form of public affection between gay people; kind of sad in my opinion. If you're wanting to get off the grid, this place is perfect - I was only able to connect to their wifi twice in two weeks, lol.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tartu, Estonia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

We stayed there cause first night cause arrived at night and couldn't find other available hotels on the beach. Never will stay there again! Mattress is cheap and horrible, there were no places for parking and WiFi (that was important for work) is there only on the lobby and this day it didn't work! No breakfast, room is nothing special - in any hostel or motel I've seen better!
Only positive thing - they give big towels when you go to the beach.
We had sea view and there were no cockroaches.. but it is not worth this money. Better go for a bit cheaper but much better hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank na_kryliah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, BC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

My wife and I were booked for March 10-17th including breakfast and direct flights from/to Victoria for a decent price through RedTag (booked in Jan.). We were with another couple and two of my wife's girlfriends. We, as many have advised, upgraded to a superior room so we could look over the pools and ocean for $20 extra per night. By the second day we were jokingly referring to it as our "four star" hotel - 1 star on the inside and 3 on the outside. The rooms are pretty basic but are extremely clean (as is the entire hotel). Water pressure in our bathroom was excellent and we had all we needed for a comfortable stay. There is a shortage of electrical outlets if you are bringing additional electronics and need to bring an adaptor. Small potatoes. The pool area is excellent however there is limited shade if you are trying to avoid too much sun. Beach area is excellent as well and service to both was top notch. Yes, wifi was alwasys touch and go however one can always go and have a coffee at Dee's around the corner and use their's if you really need to. Breakfast at hotel was average, but we were usually able to have something decent from the buffet or off the menu. Coffee was ok contrary to what I have read. We stayed on the 7th floor of the main building, our friends talked there way into an upgrade (free) to a beautiful large room on the second floor of the building to the far south, had two balconies, new ac and large bathroom. Worth checking out. We will stay here again as the location is excellent and it's excellent bang for the buck.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gbola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.2 km away
Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Hotel & Suites
Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Ho...
#58 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
0.4 km away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#28 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,431 reviews
0.2 km away
San Marino Hotel
San Marino Hotel
#85 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Costa Sur Resort & Spa
Costa Sur Resort & Spa
#37 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,294 reviews
7.5 km away
Flamingo Vallarta Hotel & Marina
Flamingo Vallarta Hotel & Marina
#70 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
0.1 km away
Villa Mercedes Petit Hotel
Villa Mercedes Petit Hotel
#29 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropicana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropicana Hotel

Property: Tropicana Hotel
Address: Amapas 214 | Col. Emiliano Zapata, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tropicana Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 203
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Tropicana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropicana Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Tropicana Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing