We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
6 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
US$51
US$41
View deal
Hotels.comUS$51
Expedia.comUS$51
FindHotelUS$49
PricelineUS$41
Trip.comUS$48
eDreamsUS$41
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (973)
Filter reviews
973 results
Traveller rating
212
416
164
86
95
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
212
416
164
86
95
Show reviews that mention
All reviews superior room breakfast plan romantic zone ocean view on los muertos beach zona romantica beach service an older hotel bit dated sound of the waves beach area king bed beach vendors the wait staff noemi pv pesos
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 973 reviews
Reviewed January 10, 2021

Wife and I just returned from a four week stay which was wonderful. Our room with a balcony had a viewl over looking the spectacular beach. Room was very spacious and was kept spotless by Leticia. Front desk staff was always very helpful and friendly. Due to Covid-19 all hotel staff always wore facial coverings. Salvador the beach security was OUTSTANDING always very friendly and he did an outstanding job keeping non hotel guests alway from umbrellas and chairs. My only complaint had nothing to do with the hotel. Large groups of Mexican citizens would set up in front of the umbrellas on the beach and 95% not wearing facial coverings, they would blast their music without any regard of others and beer cans on the ground.
Hotel is only a few blocks away from old town where there were plenty of eating establishments. Also do not miss the Saturday market a paradise for wonderful fresh food.

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Barry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tropicana Vallarta Administradora Turistica, Director General at Hotel Tropicana Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2021

Hello
Mr.Barry T

Thank you soo much for chossing us,we are working for you safety as well for us, we do apologyze for the issues you hade in the beach area we ofen have that problem but we are working on that .

Kind Regards,
Hospitality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 7, 2021 via mobile

Spent 3 nights over New Years, had a room on ground floor that walked out to the pool. Room was pretty basic but I’m ok with that. Only complaint was lady who checked us in was a little rude. Other than that I would totally stay at this hotel again. We didn’t really use any of the facilities, restaurant, pool, beach, so can’t comment on them.

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank ShootDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tropicana Vallarta Administradora Turistica, Director General at Hotel Tropicana Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2021

Hello
Mr, ShootDog

Thank you for choosing us..!! We are sorry for the inconvenient you hade on you check in.

Kind Regards,
Hospitalily Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 3, 2021

Thanks to Naomi's very friendly and competent help at the check-in counter - despite a computer glitch that threatened to ruin everything - we were given a very nice standard room, number 627, in the best part of the hotel overlooking the beach. When we decided to extend our reservation another six nights, Naomi again arranged for us to keep the same room at a great discounted rate we booked online. All of the hotel staff were very friendly and do a great job - especially Marinna of the house-keeping staff (who taught us a lot of Spanish), Israel, Senor Feliciano (who's been there 34 years) and many others. After exploring the city and coast north and south, we now realize that Hotel Tropicana is in the best location possible for a first-time vacation in Puerto Vallarta.

Date of stay: December 2020
1  Thank jamesbH899FH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tropicana Vallarta Administradora Turistica, Director General at Hotel Tropicana Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2021

Hello
Mr,James B.

Hotel Tropicana Thanks you for chossing us as you best stay , ..! We hope seen you soon ..!

Kind Regards,
Hospitality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 1, 2021

Stayed in the hotel the last week of December. The hotel was a winner from when I first arrived. Beautiful and right on the beach. The room view was spectacular. I turned off the A/C ay night and just listened to the waves. Rooms are a little old and there are only two electrical outlets. Staff was always friendly.

Now for the bad part. WiFi is provided but only in the lobby and pool areas. No service in the rooms. I used all of my phone plan for the month when I stayed there for 5 days. They don't allow guests to visit your room no matter what and they lock all of the gates surrounding the hotel. Felt like a prison.

I won't be staying there again. I need WiFi and like to entertain friends when in PV.

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank J1058AMgregg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tropicana Vallarta Administradora Turistica, Director General at Hotel Tropicana Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2021

Hello ,

Thank you for choosing us on you stay, we do apologyze for the issues you hade during you stay, we will work more the make betters for the hotel.

King Regards,
Hospitality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 28, 2020 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Tropicana for 2 weeks in December. We were very pleased with our choice. Not only was the room spacious, comfortable and clean, it also had an amazing balcony and ocean view. The real treat was the staff. Very helpful without being asked. They have your back. They know your name and you know theirs. Extra thanks to our housekeeper, Marina, who made us feel special. Also Shn and everyone else at the bar/restaurant. The property is well kept. Great location close to the Malecon. If you are looking for a major chain hotel, this is not it. This place has character and Mexican flavor. Recommend.

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank cherylmD1821NE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews