We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Christmas at The Westin!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta
Ranked #29 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 February 2012

We stayed for a week over Christmas this year at The Westin and had a great time. We were some of the very few guests that were on the "all-inclusive" package. This was the perfect way to go for us--2 adults and a college kid that just wanted to relax. We have been to PVR many times so sitting on the beach was important. I can't comment on the price of the food since EVERYTHING was included but we thoroughly enjoyed the food. We ate all but one dinner and two lunches at the hotel. The service was wonderful--Edgar was our favorite. The bar service on the beach was good. You do need to do the "save the chair" thing to get a good spot on the beach or by the pool--I don't like this but it was necessary. Our room was on the 7th floor with a hot tub on the balcony---a great way to end the evenings. Housekeeping was somewhat inconsistent throughout our stay, but after a phonecall we got the necessary towels. We got a great deal on the inclusive package although I don't see it offered on the website anymore which is a shame. This made for an effortless vacation. We would only go back if we could do the all-inclusive again. We did go on a whale watching trip which was great--saw LOTS of whales!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CocoaPortlandOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cristina_castillo, Director of Sales at The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2012

Dear guest

We are very happy to learn that you enjoy your stay at The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta. Definitively our house keeping team will work on providing consistency to improve our guest’s experiences.

Edgar is a star in our hotel, he make a difference with our clients offering exceptional services and make them feel at home.

This time of the year is great to see whales in our bay; it is a magnificent encounter with nature and a peaceful moment to enjoy when you see them moving through the ocean…their home.

Our very best regards

Cristina Castillo
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,885)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,025 - 1,031 of 1,885 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2012

My husband and I celebrated our 40th anniversary at the Westin in Puerto Vallarta. It was a beautiful location with a friendly, helpful staff. The area felt safe and secure (an important factor!) and we would go back tomorrow if we could!

Our room was very nice and clean with lots of beautiful tile. We loved the folding doors in the bathroom area that allowed us to see the wonderful view while we were getting dressed.

This hotel is close to the Marina and we enjoyed an afternoon walking and shopping there. The beach is well-kept and has lots of sitting/sunning areas. My husband especially loved the pool area and enjoyed spending time there. We also loved to watch the cruise ships come and go in the bay.

We were concerned there might be a noise problem the last night because a large group came in and had a party on the beach. We were pleasantly surprised, though, that everything was very 'under control' the whole time and noise was never an issue. Overall, this is a quieter area than where we've stayed before. We loved it!

Room Tip: We were 7th floor and it was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GuylaRae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cristina_castillo, Director of Sales at The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2012

Dear guest

We are delight it to learn that you enjoy your stay at The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta, we thank you for choosing us for your vacation and that you could relax and feel renovated. We are looking forward to have you back; this is your home in Puerto Vallarta.

Our very best regards

CRISTINA
CASTILLO
Sales & Marketing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Excellent week long stay. Never an issue. Staff was most accommodating. Angel in the club lounge was exceptional in his service. We have coming to PV for over 20 years and have always found it safe and the people most hospitable. There are over 300 Restaurants, most are unique and offer most every cuisine and price range. Taxis are everywhere and reasonably priced. PV and the Westin are a good values.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bsu2106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cristina_castillo, Director of Sales at The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2012

Dear guest

Thank you for sharing your comments at The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta. We are vey lucky to have Angel as part of our staff, he is very committed and service oriented. Our objective is to create memorable experiences during your vacations. We are looking forward to have you back soon.

Our very best regards

CRISTINA
CASTILLO
Sales & Marketing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

When you're on vacation and a bartender is adding the Cuervo 1800 to your margarita, it's always nice to hear the words "say when." Those words were often repeated at the pool/beach bar over our five night stay. So, spring for the 120 peso "golden margaritas" and you'll only have to leave the hotel for dinner at El Arrayan, Melissa's or Barcelona Tapas or to shop for original "fair traded" arts and crafts at Peyote People in the Central District.

The grounds and pools are well maintained and the beach, albeit small, is fine for sunbathing. if you want to go into the saltwater for a dip, however, i'd wait until your next trip to Hawaii. Much of the coastline along the Sea of Cortez is well populated with jelly fish and the water is not the crystal clear blue that some visitors may be looking for. In any case, poolside is fine and the lack of humidity in the tropical breezes was welcome (though I might not be saying that if it was the middle of summer).

as has been said elsewhere on trip advisor, this is a pretty good hotel with clean spacious rooms and great bay/ocean views, including night time fireworks from the main town. we kept checking the spg website for price changes and actually got a king/ocean view room for under $100. as for food, we only had pool lunches here and, sorry, the food was unremarkable in every respect. if you can keep intake to a minimum during the day, save your pennies and your appetite for the trip downtown and work with the concierge to secure reservatons at the abovementioned places.

the other thing about the westin that is important to remember, also applies to many properties at which we've stayed: some staff are more interested in, or better at, their jobs than others. without going into the specifics, do know that, if something is amiss in your accommodations, what works best at this westin is to "speak with the manager on duty." You'll notice him/her by the pale blue shirt and our several interactions (regarding late night noise from a beach wedding, terrible wireless connectivity, and one day of botched housecleaning schedule) were all dealt with quickly and to our complete satisfaction.

nonetheless, it would be nice if the first rate service that this hotel is capable of was more consistent. at the bottom line, however, if we come back to PV, we'd stay here again if the price was right.

Room Tip: get the SPG floor with bay/ocean view and non-smoking rooms. if you don't belong to SPG, do so b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlatbushFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cristina_castillo, Director of Sales at The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2012

Dear guest

First of all thank you for sharing your vacation experience at The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta, this is a great opportunity for us to get better in our Food variety in our restaurants so you can spend more time in our resort. At this moment we are working to improve our wireless connectivity. Your feedback is very valuable and we will develop a plan.

We appreciate you have chosen our hotel for your vacation and we are looking forward to have you back at The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta…your home.

Our very best regards

CRISTINA
CASTILLO
Sales & Marketing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Gorgeous pool, clean beach, spacious room overlooking pool and beach, and friendly staff. Quality and price of meals are what you would expect at a Westjn resort. It was convienent to have a mini mart across the street and a range of restaurants around the Marina which is easy walking distance. Proximity to the airport is a plus but distance to downtown is not. If you want a relaxing and quiet stay this place is for you.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buyco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cristina_castillo, Director of Sales at The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2012

Dear guest

We are glad to learn that you liked our hotel, The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta. Our objective is creating memorable experiences by providing intuitive and personal service and you can feel renovated and relax during your stay.

Thank you for your business and for choosing The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta…your home in Mexico, see you soon!

Our very best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

We split our stay in PV between the Sheraton Buganvilias (I rated 3 stars) and the Westin. The Westin is in the Marina area closer to the airport and further from Old Town/Malecon - about 10-15min by cab and costs 100MXN (currently about $8USD). I travel a fair bit, so maybe that makes me more picky, but overall we liked this hotel a lot better, the room, bar, pools, everything were definitely a step or two above the Sheraton, and the rate was only $10/night more - well worth it. The Marina area is also a very nice place to walk around, grab drinks/meal too, more sedate than the busy town. I would definitely stay here on future PV visits, and just taxi into town when as desired.

Room Tip: I can't remember if Wifi was free, possibly comped due to SPG status. Many rooms have an outdoo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ashi_seattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cristina_castillo, Director of Sales at The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2012

Dear guest

Thank you very much for sharing your experience in our hotel The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta. Our location is very convenient due to the fact that we are in a exclusive area, as you have mentioned close to the airport and just 15 minutes to down town. We are glad that you enjoy your stay with us and we are waiting ready for your next visit to our hotel…your home in Puerto Vallarta!

Our very best regards

CRISTINA
CASTILLO
Sales & Marketing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Having ended up at the Westin Puerto Vallarta on a whim when circumstances kept us from our original plans in Costa Rica, I was extremely pleasantly surprised by how much I liked Puerto Vallarta, and the Westin hotel stay was excellent.

Shout outs to Noe (bartender) and Juan (server at breakfast) for their stellar service. These gentleman remembered details about us and our likes that went above and beyond. In fact, all the hotel employees were so friendly and seemed to genuinely care that we had a good stay. We went all-inclusive, and felt we received a very good deal. The food was above average, although we only ate dinner at the hotel one night. We did eat breakfast and many lunches there, and consumed a lot of beverages!

The town was a fairly short cab ride away; about 15 - 20 minutes but only 80 pesos (which was about 8 dollars). The restaurants in town were great! The scene gets going after midnight, so I didn't experience too much of it. There are a lot of restaurants and bars in the marina area too, so that was a nice option as well.

Overall, the Westin Puerto Vallarta exceeded my expectations and left me with a very favorable opinion of the city. And all of the locals were great too!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeaSmoke74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cristina_castillo, Director of Sales at The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2012

Dear guest

It is great that we had the opportunity to have you in our hotel The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta and hat you enjoyed your vacation with us.

We are very proud of Juan and Noe; they are exceptional providing good experience to our guests. Thank your for sharing your opinion about our beautiful hotel….your home in Puerto Vallarta

Our very best regards

Cristina Castillo
Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
6.5 km away
Los Arcos Suites
Los Arcos Suites
#23 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
559 reviews
1.4 km away
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
#37 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,707 reviews
6.5 km away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#25 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great...
#26 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,586 reviews
4.1 km away
Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center
Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Co...
#28 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
3,716 reviews
0.8 km away
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort ...
#9 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
3,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Address: Paseo de la Marina Sur No. 205 | Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#14 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#18 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#18 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#25 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#27 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: $153 - $453 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the charm of a vibrant Mexican city from accommodations at The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta. Our beachside resort in Puerto Vallarta sits just 15 minutes from downtown, where you'll find quaint cobblestone streets, lively shops, excellent dining, and a pulsating nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Resort And Spa Puerto Vallarta
Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Westin Puerto Vallarta
Westin Regina Puerto Vallarta
Puerto Vallarta Westin
Westin Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Westin Resort Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing