We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great stay in great hotel, but not quite 4 stars” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta
Ranked #25 of 126 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Bentonville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great stay in great hotel, but not quite 4 stars”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

Traveled with my 6-year old daughter on a week get away

Here is what we liked:
Great pool area
Always possible to found loungers
Nice room with comfy beds, nice view of the ocean and the pool area
Location is good with easy bus access to PVR
Loved the Marina area and all the restaurants there
Excellent and friendly staff all around, very family friendly without being loud or obnoxious. Shout-out to Pedro the door man. He was so nice to us, had great recommendations, very helpful and excellent with my daughter
Would definitely recommend and plan to stay here again next time we come
OK beach, but then we prefer the pool anyways
We asked for a quiet room and got 428. No noise at night or in the evening. The Mayan Palace is right next door and their pool music and activities are a little on the annoying side, but since we didn't spend any time in the room during the day, we were hardly affected

Why this is not 4 stars
The property is dated in areas (paint chipping), bathroom chalking, etc
Hotel restaurants are expensive and mediocre
The room service was inconsistent. While we always had towels, we only got shampoo twice, the minibar did not have a price sheet associated with it and was not restocked either

Recommendations:
Stock up on water, beer, etc in the OXXO across the street
Try a price line bid. We paid less than $60/night and that was well worth it
Try one of the many restaurants on the Marina instead of eating at the hotel
If you get your girl's hair braided, wait until the end of the vacation. The scalp burns easily and having a sunburn on your head can be very painful
Buy water and sand toys at the local Walmart and hand them down to the next family at the end of your trip. The hotel rents them for 100 pesos a day. For that you can buy stuff

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,648 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    682
    585
    220
    100
    61
See reviews for
379
666
66
105
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (375)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

My boyfriend and I both thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Westin and chose this location because of the all-inclusive option and convenient location--both to the airport and into town. We stayed for 8 days and met many friendly guests also staying at this property. The resort accommodated a range of travelers--all appeared to be there vacationing and for relaxation purposes. My best estimate is that about a third of the guests there this past week were couples like us, on a romantic getaway, another third were families traveling with all ages of children and grandparents, etc., and about a third were friends/girls getaway type vacations. I think regardless of whatever group you're a part of, the hotel seemed to meet the needs of each quite effectively. Also, it felt safe and comfortable for families with small children. We spent a lot of time mostly just relaxing at the pool, on the beach, or at the beach bar. The bartenders were friendly and we had excellent service at the beach bar in particular. The food was pretty good--better than other all-inclusive resorts I've stayed at in Mexico. However, there was only one main restaurant to eat at. Of course, room service, the beach bar and poolside cafe, and lobby bar were all other places to get some food, but there was only one main restaurant and we were a little tired of the food by the end of the week.

There were some other things I also really appreciated about this resort and its location. The pool was not nearly as crowded as other resorts I've stayed at even though there were many guests staying here. It was easy to get a towel, even though people reserved chairs early in the morning, it was totally unnecessary, and I never found it difficult to get a comfortable chair in the sun or shade depending on my preference. Although a hot tub would've been nice, we were just fine without one. The beach was a little on the smaller side, but it was a really nice beach and we had plenty of space. We went into town one day and really enjoyed walking on the board walk. I highly recommend doing this if you've never been to Puerto Vallarta. We took a cab from the hotel, which was only 80 pesos. Some people told us they took the bus instead for 20 pesos, but I thought a cab ride was worth the extra 60 pesos when I heard how packed the buses. We also walked around the marina area where the Westin is, which was fun but had far less to offer than the boardwalk. There's tons to do--from fishing to excursions of all kind, but we were pretty content just to sunbathe and drink tequila.

There were only a few downsides to the week. My biggest complaint is that there was no bathroom fan, the hotel was pretty but could use some updates, and the bathroom tub felt grimy. It was a little weird to be all-inclusive at a property where not all travelers were--it just felt kind of awkward at times, but the all-inclusive plan itself was great and worth it! Otherwise, it was a clean property, the management was excellent, and the staff was very accommodating and friendly. Anyway, it was a great vacation and an excellent price! One of the best values for the money! And, being all-inclusive, we had the easiest check out either of us have probably ever had anywhere.

Room Tip: The 2nd floor is the only smoking floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alijseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

I stayed here a few years ago and decided to come back for a quick visit and I was not disappointed!

We did the Royal Beach club, which included a high-floor room, daily breakfast and happy hour in the suite on the 12th floor.

Our room was spectacular -- much nicer than the room we stayed in a few years ago. The beds were so comfortable and everything was very clean. The shower had great water pressure and the AC worked perfectly, etc.

The daily breakfast was good, but not as great as the breakfast served downstairs (you can pay an additional $10 to eat downstairs, which we did). The happy hour choices and beverages are great -- just what you need after a day in the sun!

The pools were great and there were lots of shady sitting options around the pool -- something we are always looking for!

Complaints:
-no free wifi ANYWHERE (not even in lobby). It's $15/day and more than one person can log-on from their device, which helps, but it's still lame.

-not enough umbrellas on the beach

-music is way too loud near the beach bar (and it's obnoxious -- play something people enjoy!)

Despite these minor issues, we still had a great time and will return!

Room Tip: The higher the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

We had a two day stay at this hotel and chose the all-inclusive format. The price was reasonable giving good service food, and excellent accommodation. The location was great, a short walk to the Marina and its amenities, a short cab ride to the Malecon. I would recommend this hotel highly.

Room Tip: Elevators can be slow so stay low.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chad1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melaque, Mexico
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

We stayed at the Westin because we got a great deal on Priceline and wanted a hotel close to the airport.We stayed 3 nights.The staff at the hotel were from check in to check out unceasingly friendly and helpful.Our room was on the 4th floor and overlooked the pool and had an ocean view.The room was large,clean and comfortable.As stated in a previous review,the floors were a rocky tile but I enjoyed this feature as it prevented slipping with wet feet.Being somewhat frugal,we did not purchase the internet for 15.00 (U.S) for 24 hours.We thought that was just a cash grab.Fifty pesos for a beer at the pool was also a bit pricey but it is a resort charging what the market will bear.The pool is quite large and very warm and comfortable.There is also a kids pool.The Westin location although far from downtown does offer some excellent restaurant choices.The marina across the street from the hotel offers an excellent lunch at reasonable prices.The marina is gated but tell the attendant that you are going to the restaurant and they will allow you to enter.The restaurant is on the water and offers great views of the boats.The seafood soup and the lobster sandwich were excellent.The staff was fabulous to the point of moving the umbrella on two occasions to keep us in the shade.The bill came to 270 pesos total for the two of us.A great deal.If you turn left on the street in front of the hotel and then turn right at the Logo store and then left thru a walkway,you will enter another area of the marina that offers shops and restaurants.
We ate at Victors and at El Coleguitos.You will have a great meal at either place for a very reasonable price.Victors is a bit more upscale and Victor is a gracious and generous host but be careful with the tequila.We had breakfast at the NoName restaurant for 55 pesos and free internet.It is easy to access old town by walking out of the marina area to the statues...turn right ..and walk to the bus stop.It is about 7 pesos to get downtown and the ride can get the adrenalin flowing.Overall,we quite enjoyed the Westin and would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: The fourth floor offers great views and an easy walk to the lobby or ground floor without having to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrchips232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

We usually stay at the Club Regina (the hotel next door that they "share" a property with, ill get to that later) but they were sold out the last night so we had to stay at this hotel. First off, this hotel is BEAUTIFUL. The colors were pretty and you really got that mexican feel.
Usually, the club regina and the westin share a HUGE, beautiful, and tropical property were you can eat at both hotels and both pool bars with just charging to the room but they got into a "fight" so if you want to eat at the other hotel you have to pay in cash. Also, as a result of the fight there is a fence dividing the property with only one opening, making it rather difficult to go to the other hotel, very annoying.
The club regina definantly got better ever since this "fight". The food is much better at the club (my kids liked there chips better :) ). the club has free wifii in the lobby and the Westin doesn't. The club is of course a timeshare so the rooms are going to be bigger with a kitchenette, but the rooms at the Westin were very odd. The floors were rock-y tile that were super uncomfortable and the shower didn't have a door and the water got everywhere! The elevators are super slow too.
I know you need a timeshare and such for the Club Regina but if you got a way to stay at the Club rather then the westin then do it.
Overall, the westin wasn't terrible, i'm sure you would have a good vacation (the location is marvelous) but the club is better.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
266 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

I've never stayed at a hotel that charges extra for an extra key. They also charge for the coffee and tea in the room and around 15 dollars a day for internet! Having said that, I assume there is an all-inclusive option here, and perhaps this encourages people to take this option. Relatively far from downtown PV - we went into town and it was a 30 minute cab ride. So for people who visit PV to just enjoy the warm weather and stay put on a resort, this might be a option. If you want to be close to a variety of restaurants and bars, you might want to stay in town.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EatnDrinknRoamn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
6.4 km away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#26 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,124 reviews
1.3 km away
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
#31 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,147 reviews
1.2 km away
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Mexican Charm All Inclusive
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Me...
#33 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallar...
#9 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,714 reviews
4.1 km away
Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center
Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Co...
#24 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,035 reviews
0.5 km away
Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive
Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclus...
#49 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta

Property: Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta
Address: Paseo de la Marina Sur No. 205 | Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#14 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#16 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#16 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#25 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#27 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Westin Resort And Spa Puerto Vallarta
Westin Puerto Vallarta
Westin Regina Puerto Vallarta
Puerto Vallarta Westin
Westin Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Westin Resort Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing