We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Barcelo Puerto Vallarta
Ranked #29 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Our family of 5 enjoyed this resort very much. We loved the food, drinks, rooms, and all what this place had to offer. We enjoyed painting the dishes and loved the photos taken on the beach - two very neat keepsakes. It is a good idea to do the premium upgrade for a good view of the ocean and the other bonuses it has to offer. Over all an excellent place to stay and out of the city and you will feel very safe.

Room Tip: I was going to set up tours before we went but did not and the best tours were ones you can do from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janel548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,598)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,940 - 1,946 of 4,598 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2012

We stayed in PV 11 days at 2 resorts, the 1st being the Friendly Vallata. We took a cab to the Barcelo from there arriving about 11AM. Upon approaching the front desk, all of whom seem sullen, we were asked if we came from the Friendly, which I confirmed. I was then told check in was at 3PM, which it is. We were given our braclets and towel cards, told to come back at 3 We did waunder around the resort to see where everything is. Then had lunch. We returned to lobby at approx. 1:30 PM where we waited. The bellman approached us to see if we had a room yet at 2:15PM. Told him no and he went to the desk. After talking with them, he told me to check at the desk. When I did that, it was reaffirmed to me check in was indeed 3PM and to wait until room was ready. Housekeeping was generally in our room to clean at 9:30AM. Guess they did not think I should have stayed elsewhere before there. One morning at 10Am while waiting to exchange currency, a family was checking in. They were all brought drinks AND GIVEN THEIR ROOM.Also appeared to be nationals not US. So much for the 3PM rule. The staff: no one ever smiles, all are glum looking until you are talked to. Never did I feel welcome until our last night. Then 1 employee of the cantina bar, Mayra, actually talked to us. The shows: very fresh with house band and no lip syncing. However. the locals allow their kids to run all over. very distracting to us, but did not seem to phase the entertaineers. Several toddlers had to be removed from steps to stage just to return over and over. Grounds: well maintained, just gorgeous. The surrounding vista excellent with a view to John Hustons ruins of his Night of the Iguana grounds. The food: buffets as usual not very warm. The choices are good though, with many options. The specialty dining options were all right. Los Acros is open with people going from pools to beach to rooms dripping wet walking through. Also, the bar seems to allow drunks in while you are trying to enjoy your dinner. Some threw their drinks on a table and were still allowed to stay and being vulgar. The rib eye was better at the Friendly. Maybe they should move this one indoors away from this, like the other 2. The Spanish dining was better. We did not try the Italian as never like the way they cook it down there. The rooms: very nice, with all the extras. The beds extemely soft, the way my wife likes them. This was the only bright spot of our stay here. Housekeeping was not quite what it should be. 2 people 1 robe. Would not replace bathmats when removed until next day. Only 2 beers in fridge- tecate- which is house brand. Boy did i miss the Riu and DosXX. The pools: Very nice except not enought lounges for there and the beach, or umbrellas. People start savivg them by 8Am but you never see anyone until later. Kids allowed to use hand rails for the steps as slides. Lounges placed in front of steps. Not enought glasses at swim up bar, have to wait while they go gather more . Oh to have went to Cancun and the Riu. This is the last time for PV. Overall a very disappointing stay. This was our second stay with a Barcelo'. Each time one of us ended up with sore throats and ear problems. Nice when you need to fly home. Mine actually started at the beginning of our stay so was able to get to town to purchase some amoxacillin and decongestant. Only had minor discomfort flying.

Room Tip: Try the RIU
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank tom s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

The Barcelo in Puerto Vallarta was beyond our expectations. Everything from the staff, the food, the pools, the activities, the beach, and the resort facilities were wonderful. This place is worth the drive from the airport. We liked the smaller but spacious resort setting. Our room was always clean and well stocked. The food and drinks were abundant and soooo delicious. We took nightly walks on the beach and took in the sounds. All of the staff were very friendly and welcoming from the minute we arrived to the moment we sadly had to leave. This resort will definitely be a place we will return to soon!

Room Tip: We had a 2nd floor room about in the middle and we could see the ocean from our balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vacation2012_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We stayed at the Barcelo at the end of March 2012. Our goal was to get away from it all, and this was the perfect place. It's about a half hour taxi ride from the airport but well worth it. It's not a huge resort which was fine with us - there were never lineups for anything. The food was always fresh at the buffet and there was plenty of it. All 3 a al carte restaurants were phenomenal, and the service everywhere was fantastic. We'd definitely go back for a quiet week in the sun. We hired Ralph and Roland (brothers - ask for them on the beach, they were awesome) and their boat to take us up to the boardwalk at PV, but they also stopped along the way, snorkelling to show us all kinds of colorful fish (the pufferfish was my favorite). For a few extra pesos they brought along some ice cold cervezas. The beach does have some vendors constantly selling things, but they are not agressive at all. First trip to Mexico, and it was wonderful.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pgdiamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We traveled to Barcelo PV the first week of April (Mar 31st to Apr 7th) for our annual family reunion trip. This year we had 13 family members ranging in age from 13 to 90 and everyone had a very nice time including Grandma who is almost 91 years old. NO ONE GOT SICK and the reviews about the food sickness issues did not affect our family. The location of the resort is a big plus being on the far side of PV and the vibe of the property is very good. We booked 3 family suites and had a gathering spot using one presidential suite. The presidential suite is around 2,700 sqft with 3 bathrooms and 2 bedrooms and has a dining room,large living room and gigantic outdoor area.

Overall the resort is as advertised on Trip Advisor reviews with great service, very clean and well kept grounds, and the standard cheesy cruise ship dance troupe performing each night. The outdoor movie night under the stars is a nice touch with the pool lounge chairs serving as your seats. The staff makes this place but they need to hire a decent Chef or invest in higher quality food. The only complaint we have is that the food quality and cooking techniques were very sub-standard and some dishes had potential but were either overcooked or had poor quality food cuts. I think the resort has cooks but not real chefs in each specialty restaurant. We have two chefs in the family and we are all foodies so when you burn a lamb chop or overcook a steak it is a real crime. The food choices have good potential but they do not know how to cook. With a resort on the water you would expect a good local fish, but that is not the case. The taco bar is great and is the only real mexican experience. The Los Arcos Grill is the best (not gourmet but decent) and the Spanish and Italian have hit or miss dishes. The buffet is good for breakfast and the woman making the crepes at night is awesome. The Spanish restaurant has so much potential and the front house manager is great, but the food is very lacking.

We booked the premium service and drinks flowed day and night both poolside and at each restaurant and bar. The premium lounge is a nice plus and it allows guest to pour there own drinks, eat snacks and use the internet. I used the lounge mainly for seltzer water and snacks. The pool was great and the beach was quite nice for our needs. Yes the beach is small and drops off sharply into the water, but it works fine for getting wet and jumping waves. We even got my grandmother (almost 91) in the water up to her ankles. The big plus of the resort is that you do not really need to go anywhere. There is something for everyone and if you want an adventure it can be arranged easily.

Our group is a fairly active group so we did the PV Adventure tour of zip lines and rappelling down waterfalls. This is a very well done activity and completely different then the one we did on Kauai Hawaii. Kudos to the team at PV Adventures for making the trip very safe and fun. A big plus of the trip is that you get picked up and returned on the beach by a boat. My uncle and his family did the dolphin encounter and really liked that excursion as well. We also did a nice all day tour of PV by Jose in his air conditioned 14 passenger van. It works well when we can travel together on a tour. Jose showed us the sites of downtown, toured a tequilla distillery and then took us up to el Eden to look around at the Predator film site.

Finally, a few of us walked to the PV Zoo and had a really nice time. The PV Zoo is very unique where you can buy food and feed the animals and then play with tiger cubs and young tigers. They let us play and pet two 2 week old tigers, a 2 month old tiger, and a 4 month old tiger. We also had two small monkeys to walk around your shoulders and head. The Zoo was an unexpected surprise and the town between the hotel and the Zoo is in my mind the real mexico with a dirt road and small restaurants and shops. The bar in town was called "Juan and Only Bar". Good name.

A good time was enjoyed by all and I would recommend the resort for both young and old alike. We will go back in the future and hope that the food quality improves. It is such a nice location that if they just did a few adjustments it would be #1 in the PV area.

Room Tip: Rooms in Building #1 are quieter than Building #2 due to the late night Cantina. Try the lamb cho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank MAGICK_HEX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

When we arrived at Barcelo Puerto Vallarta, we were greeted with a welcome drink of sparkling shampagne! The staff totally spoiled us during stay.Our room was not only clean but, spacious as well with pool and ocean view. The restaurants provided wide variety of scrumptious foods and staff were very friendly. We loved our evening walks on the beach, and the weather was good the whole time we were there.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lattery I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We were at Barcelo from March 31st - April 5th. We went with one other couple and had an absolute blast. We also meet several other couples that really made the trip even better. The resort is very clean and I was amazed at how much work they were doing to constantly keep it up (workers however never seemed to be in the way). The rooms were far beyond what we have experienced in the past (bigger than our first apartment). We went with Apple and got an upgraded room when we arrived which put us on the 8th floor with amazing views. We also got upgraded so we could eat dinner at the reservation only choices (Spanish, Italian, and Steak/seafood) every night. All options were really good but the steak/seafood one was our favorite because it was open air and our table was right next to the beach during the sunset. Food was by far the best i have ever had at an all inclusive resort. The breakfast buffet was awesome, omlet station was our favorite. Los Arcos, the lunch/snack bar, was my wife's favorite because it had a pizza and taco station that you could eat at anytime and both were very good. The seafood we had was amazing as well (must try the shrimp burrito and fillet of fish at the snack bar). The Maha Maha at the Spanish and Italian was some of the best I have ever had. The night entertainment is not for party goers but for two couples in there thirties it was pretty darn good. The singers and band are really good but they only play for 45 minutes to an hour. The pool was wonderful, very warm and exceptionally clean.

Overall, this is a great resort and I would highly recommend it.

Tim
Minnesota

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
8.2 km away
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites & Residences
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites ...
#12 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
774 reviews
3.7 km away
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & ...
#14 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,943 reviews
15 km away
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort ...
#11 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
3,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 km away
Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive
Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclus...
#49 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
3,804 reviews
14.7 km away
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto ...
#34 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,902 reviews
15 km away
Velas Vallarta
Velas Vallarta
#5 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
3,762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Puerto Vallarta

Address: Zona Hotelera Sur Km. 11.5, Puerto Vallarta 48294, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#17 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#18 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#27 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#29 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: $255 - $791 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Puerto Vallarta 4*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barceló Puerto Vallarta***** (formerly Barceló La Jolla de Mismaloya) in Puerto Vallarta, is an elegant, all-inclusive Mexican-style resort. It offers 316 completely renovated and comfortable suites with excellent service, leisure, history, beautiful scenery, exuberant flora and privacy.Relax after a hard day’s work in the hotel spa, catch some rays at one of the hotel pools or take time out to practice your favourite water sport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Barcelo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Barcelo Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Jolla Mismaloya
Barcelo La Jolla De Mismaloya Puerto Vallarta
La Jolla Puerto Vallarta
Puerto Vallarta La Jolla De Mismaloya
Barcelo De Mismaloya
Barcelo Mismaloya Puerto Vallarta
Barcelo La Jolla Mismaloya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing