We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“low-key friendly hotel on the beach” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Pescador

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
El Pescador
Ranked #67 of 127 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Toronto
Level Contributor
150 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“low-key friendly hotel on the beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

This hotel is quiet and low-key; many of the other guests were Mexican couples, families and business travellers. It is within walking distance or an inexpensive cab ride from attractions and restaurants. The included (hot) breakfast is quite good and the open-air restaurant which has a view of the pool and the beach is a pleasant place to sit. Service is friendly. The restaurant is also good for lunch and dinner, and more reasonable than other places in the hotel zone (except maybe the taco stands!). We had lunch by the pool one day, ordered at the restaurant and brought out on a tray to our lounges, consisting of ceviche, tortilla chips and salsa for $5 each.

Our room, on the second floor overlooking the pool, was spacious and pleasant. The balcony was a wonderful place from which to watch sunsets and hearing the waves lapping at night was a wonderful way to drift off to sleep. As others have said, I would pay the bit extra for an ocean view room. I would also add you may want to ask for a room overlooking the pool as it is quieter: the oceanview rooms directly on the beach neighbour with Mango's nightclub which can get loud at night.

THE BEDS ARE HARD. But there are blankets in each room and we found putting these under the fitted sheet helped pad it enough to be comfortable.

There is a grocery store one block away where you can get all necessities. The hotel has large coolers of water on every floor, and there is a jug and glasses in each room, so no need to buy water.

The tour desk operators are very friendly and helpful: they booked several day trips for us as well as reservations at two restaurants we wanted to try but needed someone to call and make the reservation in Spanish for us.

We would definitely recommend this as a pleasant and reasonable place to stay in PV.

Room Tip: Paying extra for ocean view overlooking the pool is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NoFixedPlans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    119
    60
    26
    15
See reviews for
50
103
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
vancouver
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

This hotel is a great deal for what you pay. the breakfast was basic but no complaints. The pool was nice but the location is what really makes El Pescador a great place to stay

Room Tip: Pay a bit more and get the beach side rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank theuglycanadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

Hubby and I stayed here Feb. 16-22, 2012 and our stay was exactly as we expected. We had an ocean view room, with a small balcony. Room was VERY basic, but clean. When we first arrived there was a sewer gas smell, but after the first 2 showers, and covering the drain in the shower, we did not have that problem any more. Since there was no refrigerator in the room, we went to the Ley Grocery store, one block away and bought a small styrofoam cooler and ice and were able to keep a few things cool as needed. (Got that suggestion from another T/A poster!) The view was fabulous, the pool was clean, although the concrete right around the pool looks like it needs some attention. The beach area was very nice right outside our hotel too! The included breakfast each morning was plenty adequate for us. Coffee, juice, bread, scrambled eggs, refried beans and then each morning there was one additional item that changed every day. One day was pancakes, one day french toast, one day was some sort of tortilla dish that I didn't recognize, but it was very good! Overall, plenty to get you going! TV and air conditioning worked just fine. Staff was always friendly. Location was excellent to the Malecon. Just a few blocks walk. Plenty of restaurants, etc in close proximity. Taxis were always readily available right next to the Ley Grocery store. Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel because you cannot beat the price with the view you get! The only negative, which is not the hotel's fault, it that there were 3 dogs on the property next door to the hotel (which our room was right by the property line) and their dogs barked every night from about 10 pm to midnight off and on. I'm a light sleeper and that was rather irritating, but again, not the hotel's fault.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtravellerks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamloops
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

my wife and I stayed at this hotel for 2 weeks with an ocean front view. It was absolutly wonderful. We were on the 3rd floor looking over the tops of the palm trees. In the afternoon you could see the dolphins swimming and every now and then catch a glimps of the humpback whales.
As for the room and service it was clean, comfortable and the staff were very friendly and helpful.
We would not hesitate to stay here again. The breakfast is very basic and did eat here on occasion. If you like you can go 1/2 block around the corner to Ley's grocery store and get something to eat.
The beds are comfortable also, but they are only 2 doubles and no fridge, so pick up a cooler and ice at Ley's and have a great time.
The location of the hotel is very good and a short walk to the malecon and all the shops. The city has redone the malecon from the Rosita hotel, which is also the sister hotel to the El Pescador, it looks fantastic and has opened it up alot.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dreambigone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

I am currently staying at this hotel...location is excellent near the Malecon and any shopping, restaurants, etc. About 3 or 4 blocks away from where the noise is from traffic, bars etc, and if you have an ocean view room all you can hear and see is waves and beach. This hotel is more south than most hotels in the hotel zone and is for the traveller who wants to be within walking distance of everything and experience the city instead of staying on a resort. Nice beach, not crowded or rocky. Budget hotel, not luxurious but clean with all basic amenities. Clean rooms, shower only (perfectly fine, warm water), hard beds (normal), tv/cable, free water in hallways, free computer/Internet in lobby, free books, concierge if you want one, safes at desk, friendly trustworthy staff/maids, so-so restaurant (with 100s more all around). Small pool, not enough loungers ( beach is better anyways), fenced in pool area (can still see ocean), goergous views from balcony. This hotel is very comparable to other higher rated places I've stayed at but for a much more economic price and better location. I think you'll enjoy your stay here, recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anonymiss79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Deer, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

Good Hotel ,very basic ,clean,good staff . Would like to see a small fridge in room, also more pool lounge chairs. Handy to malacon,downtown and restaurants .

Room Tip: Ocean front
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 4Riders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

I knew from reviews this would be a bare bones hotel. Our particular room - 352 - had a toilet that leaked around the base giving the bathroom a sewer smell. I never was able to turn on the cold water in the shower, but it wasn't a problem because the hot water never got that hot. The room was clean, the bed was hard, but some people like it that way. We did have a beautiful view of the pool and bay. Unfortunately, someone near us smoked a lot and the smoke drifted into our room via the balcony door. Some of the hotel guests monopolize the few pool chairs available by either coming out during the night or extremely early in the morning and moving the chairs (which are lined up by the pool every evening), placing their towels on them, and then not showing up to actually use them until late in the afternoon. How rude. The hotel could make the situation better by providing more than 10 chairs for this 3 story hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OregonLilac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.3 km away
Rosita Hotel
Rosita Hotel
#53 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Suites Nadia
Hotel Suites Nadia
#68 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Mocali
Hotel Mocali
#70 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Hotel & Suites
Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Ho...
#57 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
1.2 km away
Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallart...
#32 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
1.2 km away
Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel
Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel
#49 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Pescador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Pescador

Property: El Pescador
Address: Paraguay No. 1117, Puerto Vallarta 48350, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#45 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Pescador 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your El Pescador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Pescador Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing