We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Time!”
Review of Velas Vallarta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Velas Vallarta
Ranked #4 of 124 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic Time!”
Reviewed 5 April 2012

I just returned from Velas Vallarta yesterday. Had an incredible time again. Jaciento was my waiter at the bar. He is my hero. I always know when I come down he will take excellent care of me and whoever I bring with me. He is the reason I would never go to another resort. There is a lot to be said in knowing what you are going to get. The other waiters are also excellent. Gilberto always made me smile. He is also an excellent waiter and I love that he snaps his fingers to the music and smiles all day long. I would also like to thank Pablo and Dama for talking great care of us at breakfast.

The resort is just beautiful and the service is wonderful. I love that I can go and not worry about anything. If you have the chance to go you need to check out Victors. It is with in walking distance from the resort in the Marina. It is a very safe area so you do not have to worry.

I love this resort!

Room Tip: All rooms have a view of the ocean. Some of the Studios can have a little more restricted view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisas2urn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,705 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,760
    679
    162
    57
    47
See reviews for
1,509
1,208
54
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (901)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Deephaven
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We actually have two more days left on our vacation but since I have time to write, here goes...
This is our first time trying the all-inclusive. We were a bit hesitant since it may not be such a great deal for us since we don't drink alcohol. However, we have thought that the food is consistently very good. We have also consumed our fair share of virgin pina coladas, mango and strawberry daquiris. I really like the pina coladas and the mango daquiris.
We also are in a two room with 4 kids. This has worked great as we have a king bed in our room, two queens in the other and then they have a couch that they make up every night with turn down service. It could actually sleep another since they brought in a cot as well-- although no one has actually used it. This was a better deal for us since for the two bedrooms they must charge you for 4 adults. We have two that are teenagers so we would have had to pay for 4 adults anyway. We originally booked a three bedroom but then we would have had to pay for 6 adults which would have been a bit of a rip since two of our kids are under 11. With the two bedroom, somehow we got a deal where one of the kids was free.

Back to the food-- the Andrea is very good and you must make reservations in the morning. They have a different theme every night. We usually make reservations when we come down for breakfast in the morning. We especially like the made to order omelets there.
The dinners there have been outstanding for the most part. The service has been very good.
There is also another restaurant called the Ribera that does not require reservations in the evening. We usually go there for lunch and would especially recommend the stir fry bar there. We went there once for dinner and had the grilled steak and chicken for the South Pacific night. The teriyaki chicken and the fish that night were also delicious.
The Mexican fiesta was a lot of fun-- the food was great. The entertainment was OK. They had a raffle but made the "winners" do a lot of crazy stuff to get their prize. It made us all happy not to win. The emcee was a bit obnoxious, actually. The mariachi band was great. The dancers were OK. I liked the sword dance a lot though.

The pools are crowded early in the day. It is important to save a spot if you want to go early in the day. The first half of the week we only went in the afternoon and didn't have a problem.
It has been a busy week with many Mexican tourists as well. I did the water aerobics one day and that was fun. I just haven't been here the rest of the time to do it at 12:30 when it is offered.
We did the Los Veranos zip lining tour which was great. We also did the free city tour offered by the resort. This was a lot of fun. We only did the first half and got off at the flea market because we wanted to stay and shop and look around without being shuttled to a factory or stuck buying lunch when we could go back and eat for free. It worked out well since our kids wanted to get back to swimming. We also went to the boardwalk (Malecon) at night. This is a lot of fun and there are a lot of street performers, sand castles, crowds and cool street foods to try. It was crazy busy but fun. We took the bus down which was cheap-- $3.60 and took the taxi back which was $10 for our family of 6. We also went on a power walking tour that was a lot of fun to see the back streets of Puerto Vallarta.
It has been a fun trip and I'd recommend this resort. My kids didn't do the kids club because they had too much fun swimming. I wish it had a little nicer beach but we've spent our time in the pool. We may try Playa de Animas tomorrow.
The all-inclusive has been fun. It is nice not to worry about what your kids are ordering and have the freedom to get whatever you feel like getting especially when the food is consisitently good. If it was just my husband and me though, I think I'd maybe prefer to explore restaurants on our own because there seem to be a lot of great ones downtown.
For tennis players-- my husband says that the rackets they provide are fine but you might want to bring your own balls.
Also-- we were on the 7th floor and had a beautiful view and fell asleep to the sound of the ocean every night.

Room Tip: Choose a higher room in order to have a better view of the ocean and to get away from the pool noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missymalloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Our 4th visit to Velas and may have been even better this time around. We've booked each time thru RCI and always receive great rooms with incredible views. Airport transfers are always a breeze, checkin is smooth and quick. Our 8th floor 3 bedroom suite was the best yet of our 4 visits. It appears the menu has grown in the beachfront restaurant with the addition of stir fry in the afternoons. Suppers also appear to have improved in both menu and presentation there. As is always the case, room service, pool service and wait staff is 2nd to none. Andrea's restaurant is as good as i remember it being in the past. If you're looking for 5 star, Grand Velas may be more that speed. Velas would more be the class of resort as the "palace resorts" with better drinks, service and location.

Room Tip: Morning sun for rooms in building 4, afternoon sun in building 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magic32_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Everytime I go to Velas, I always find myself loving it more and missing it even more now that we are home. It is a great resort located just south of the airport. Even though you are close to the runway, we never felt annoyed by the sound of airplane engines. I have been here four times now, and I plan on coming back due to a connection with a time share owner. We always have a great time at the resort and almost all of the workers are extremely nice and welcoming. The pools offer variety and the "lazy" river connecting them is always a nice venture. The resort offers many different options for all demographics; water-aerobics in the main pool, beach volleyball, massages on the beach, swim up bar with large palapa for shade, ping-pong tables, arts and crafts, the list goes on... All in all, it is a great place for families, couples and friends to relax and soak up the sun.

Room Tip: Most balcony rooms on the south building have a great view of sunsets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RumYak14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trenton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Just returned from Velas Vallarta and it was without a doubt the best vacation ever. 4 of us shared a condo and the staff treated us like we were the only ones at the resort. Although there was only 2 restaurants on the resort the food was plentiful with lots of choices. The night life was good for couples our age who were not into the funfilled nights of drinking and disco. The Mariachi band was amazing and played in various locations throughout the resort. Although my friend did get sick from a combination of too much sun and a gastrointestinal problem which required the house doctor to be called, the staff were johnny on the spot to assist and even absorbed the costs of all medication required.
This resort is like paradise. They have aspecial playland and pool for young children with daily hourly activities with lots of staff to keep them occupied.
Overall we had a wonderful time and will be returning to this resort.

Room Tip: Not a bad room at this resort!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Onlythetruth2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highlands Ranch, Colorado, United States
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

4 friends sharing a condo and everything was just perfect, we did the all inclusive and were treated like we were the only guests.

Clean, great service, always a smile from the wonderful staff

Room Tip: Just be friendly
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 28 March 2012 via mobile

Four years running this is the most relaxing fun filled vacation ever. Great weather, great staff, and impeccable service. The swim up Aquabar is phenomenal. The wait staff at Aquabar with Gilberto, Alonso, Fransisco, and Marcelino are unmatched in service! One more tequila!

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kevin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Vallarta
0.4 km away
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort ...
#8 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
3,239 reviews
0.4 km away
Casa Velas
Casa Velas
#2 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
1,567 reviews
6.4 km away
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
#1 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
2,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 km away
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & Romantic Getaway
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & ...
#6 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
2,398 reviews
4.7 km away
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
#17 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
2,831 reviews
1.2 km away
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto ...
#30 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
1,860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Velas Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Velas Vallarta

Property: Velas Vallarta
Address: Paseo de la Marina Norte 585 | Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#3 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#4 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#7 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Velas Vallarta 4*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to Velas Vallarta, one of the most established resorts in Puerto Vallarta, Mexico and find the tropical beachfront oasis you have been searching for. Relax and enjoy quality time with those you care about most as you enjoy the benefits of a true All-Inclusive resort. Absolutely everything is included- a spacious suite, gourmet a la carte meals, a full in-suite dining menu, our excellent Kids Club, nightly entertainment and everything in between.Take a break from building sand castles to enjoy some of the best hamburgers around during a leisurely lunch by the pool. Take a siesta after a day in the sun and freshen up for an elegant family dinner followed by a stroll through the gardens to enjoy the evening breeze. Sample a premium tequila and treat the kids to an extra dessert- it's all included and it's all high quality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelClick, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Velas Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Velas Vallarta Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Velas Vallarta Suite Hotel
Velas Vallarta Suite Puerto
Velas Vallarta Resort
Velas Vallarta Puerto
Club Velas Vallarta
Velas Vallarta Suite Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing