We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,735)
Filter reviews
1,735 results
Traveller rating
1,500
142
49
24
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,500
142
49
24
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beach club plunge pool sister resort grand class suite emiliano restaurant short shuttle ride main resort boutique hotel our honeymoon vista vallarta lobby bar hotel pool an adults only resort all inclusive resort aqua bar sushi the entire staff
Filter
Updating list...
155 - 160 of 1,735 reviews
Reviewed June 24, 2017

My wife and I chose Casa Velas as a quick summer getaway for our 6th wedding anniversary. We were looking for a low key vacation where traditionally we love to be active and see new sites. This particular property had wonderful reviews on TA and in person it did not disappoint.

We arranged pick up through the hotel concierge and it could not have been easier. It was a quick 10 minute cab ride from the airport and we were there ready to relax. Check-in was a breeze with Jorge providing us a quick tour of the property and our room. It was slow season, so the property was approximately 15-20% occupied which was perfect for us.

We reserved the Grand Class Suite with Jacuzzi (although we didn't utilize this) that also had a nice in ground splash pool. The rooms and outdoor areas were spread out providing decent privacy. The room itself was very clean and stayed nice and cool with the A/C along with the ceiling fan. (We actually had an issue with the ceiling fan being out of balance the first nice and it was replaced the next day with no issue by the staff).

The grounds were gorgeous with lots of plants, and wildlife including koi & turtle ponds, ducks, and a flock of peacocks that wondered freely around the hotel grounds. The main pool was a very nice place to spend the day with spectacular poolside service by Clara. Cesar the bartender was a bit slow and seemed preoccupied the majority of the time with other duties. We did spend one day at the Beach Club pool, which frankly could use a facelift from the aging 80's aqua tile. The set up itself though was great with lunch and drink service to go with nice views of the beach and the PV shoreline in the distance.

Each morning we enjoyed breakfast on our private patio that was delivered promptly according to the time we selected the night before. We ate lunch most days at the pool, with one day on the patio at Emilios. We also chose to eat dinner each night at Emilios. The food overall was very good but not a WOW. I would steer clear of any meat and focus on seafood during your trip. Everything seemed pretty fresh and was definitely made to order. The tuna tacos, seafood salad, ceviche, and guacamole were our favorites. The downside was when my wife and I had the beef entree as part of the French menu from which we both got sick overnight.

What made this resort stand out though was the outstanding and personalized service. Every member of the staff went above and beyond to greet you and make you feel special throughout your stay. This aspect is what differentiates properties and Casa Velas gets a big A+ here. There were a few members that really stood out during out stay including Victor at Emilio's and Fredy behind the bar. Jorge, Bernadino, both Jose's also deserve mention!

Thank you for providing a wonderful stay and place to celebrate our anniversary. I highly recommend this resort to anyone looking for a relaxing vacation with a personalized touch.

Stayed: June 2017
2  Thank tturaider07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerCVPV, Director General at Casa Velas, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2017

Thank you very much for sharing with us your very recent Casa Velas experience, and allow me to congratulate the both of you on your cherished 6th wedding anniversary.

I am pleased that you selected Casa Velas for your personal celebration and that you wanted an anniversary setting different than your previous trips. And I am grateful for the dedicated work of my staff for making this the "Perfect couple boutique getaway" for you and your lovely wife.

Being a boutique hotel allows us to conduct our operation in a specialized manner, offering personalized service for your comfort and individual preparation of your dishes in Emilianos, Beach Club, Poolside, and Suite Service. Based on your insights on our meat selections, I will personally oversee the quality of the product as it arrives as well as the storage and preparation processes. It is rare that we receive a comment on stomach issues, but as a responsible hotel, we will take steps to inspect those areas mentioned.

Thank you for studying our past guest´s comments and coming to the conclusion that Casa Velas was the spot in which to spend some luxury time together. Your insights and firm recommendation of the property will help others envision if Casa Velas is the right place to fulfill their very own vacation dreams. Until next time, I wish you all the best for a long and loving future in Fort Worth, Texas.

LUIS ANGARITA
DIRECTOR GENERAL
HOTEL CASA VELAS
srangaritacv@velasresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 24, 2017

My spouse and I just returned from a a 3rd 7 day vacation at this beautiful Casa Velas Boutique Hotel. We loved our relaxing stay. The hotel continues to be beautifully landscaped & maintained - lush tropical gardens & water features everywhere surrounded by a green golf course and the upscale Marina neighborhood. We were upgraded to a large, beautifully furnished suite filled with amenities such as flat screen TVs, Ipod/ Iphone docking stations, Wi-Fi, Nespresso machines, large outdoor patio with a plunge pool. The bathrooms were huge, beautiful, & full of L'Occitane en Provence toiletries. The friendly staff was very hospitable, extremely attentive. We got to know the friendly waiter staff - Bernardo, Jorge, & Luis, and the friendly bar tenders - Benny in the evening and Freddy in the pool area. We spent many lazy days, lounging in the refreshing and beautiful hotel pool or at the resort's wonderful private beach club, which also had its own pool and a private beach front. And of course, we had amazing delicious, beautifully presented meals throughout our stay. We can hardly wait to return. Tip - Ask for at least a Grand Class Room - these have private plunge pools.

Room Tip: Ask for a Grand Class room - these have the private plunge pools.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Victor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerCVPV, Director General at Casa Velas, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2017

Thank you very much, Victor, for your ongoing preference in luxury, boutique resorts, specifically, Casa Velas.

Since the inception of Casa Velas into the Velas Group of Hotels, we have strived to provide the best possible quality available in all aspects of the vacation experience. Our immaculate facilities, and personalized culinary program, all administered by some of the most talented and gracious young women and men in the hospitality sector help to generate warm comments such as yours resulting in your many visits.

Thank you, Victor, for expressing your fondness for Casa Velas with the world. It will be our honor to continue this lovely tradition with you each and every time that you grace us with your presence. Until next time, all the best to you and your family up in Studio City, California.

LUIS ANGARITA
DIRECTOR GENERAL
HOTEL CASA VELAS
srangaritacv@velasresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 21, 2017

We spent two weeks at this fabulous boutique hotel, no line ups, no kids. The staff were incredible always asking if one needed a drink or something to nibble on. One would never go hungry as there was always a place to eat whether at the restaurant or pool area. If nothing looked interesting on the many menus, the chef would certainly try his best to make a special meal. During our second week we would walk to the beach club and enjoy dinner watching the sunset. My wife would order sea bream every night and was accommodated when not on the menu,,fantastic. The grounds are beautiful surrounded by a golf course, can't wait to return next year.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neo48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerCVPV, Director General at Casa Velas, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2017

We are very pleased to have had the opportunity to leave with you and your wife such wonderful impressions and memories of your two-week, Casa Velas holiday.

One may think that 14 nights in a boutique, all-inclusive hotel would be repetitive, especially in the area of cuisine. But as you found out for yourselves, my staff is at your service to cater to your whims at any given moment. And of course, with your lengthened stay, you had the added perks of visiting our sister resorts Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit and Velas Vallarta for extra dining options, further extending our spectrum of culinary delights.

Thank you for making Casa Velas your paradise this year. Your firm commitment to return next year will have my staff, especially the chefs, even more, motivated to pamper and surprise you at every turn. Until then, all of us wish you an excellent summer in your hometown of Woodbridge. Take care.

LUIS ANGARITA
DIRECTOR GENERAL
HOTEL CASA VELAS
srangaritacv@velasresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 21, 2017

We arranged transport from the airport through the hotel and it could not have been easier. Jorge met us in the lobby of the hotel and was super helpful with finding us the right room.
We booked a room with outdoor pool, but the only rooms available with a king bed at the time of our arrival was on the first floor. My husband wanted the 2nd or 3rd floor we upgraded for a minimal cost to the Jacuzzi room with the outdoor pool. We were glad we upgraded because the rooms with the Jacuzzi tub have a much larger bathroom. (We never used the Jacuzzi nor the outdoor pool.) The bed was very comfortable and have the ceiling fan was a great addition. The doors to the outside patio needed to be replaced/adjusted as they did not completely close. The mini bar was nicely stocked (we really did not take much from it). The towels were plenty and large, just a little rough on the skin. It also took about 10 minutes for hot water to come out of the faucet or shower. They tried adjusting the temp but it may have just been where we were located.
The beach club was nice, we only spent one day there. The beach in front of the beach club must not be private as the hagglers were coming up to the edge of the pool on a regular basis and that was annoying. The pool itself is nice, about a 1/3 of the size of the main pool and could probably be re grouted. The service was outstanding.
The main pool where we spent the majority of the time was great. The service was very good. Fredy and Clara took great care of us. I loved having the water served in the carafe poolside. The resort has only about 30% full so probably less than a dozen people at the pool each day. We had the chicken tacos that were excellent, and the cerviche a couple times. The cerviche was interesting.. the fish looked more like ground chicken but they told me it was Dorado. It was still tasty but much different than what I have typically had in Mexico where you could tell it was marinated in lime and served with mango, tomatoes, etc.
We ate all of our breakfast and dinners at Emilio's with the exception of one night where we went to Andrea's at the other nearby hotel. We loved Andrea's (men do not have to wear long pants even though were told that by our hotel when we made the reservation) The food was fantastic, the A/C was cool and the service was spot on. They had live music and we really did not notice the kids (lol).
Emilio's as Casa Velas was good, but I would not say great. They had a nice variety of dishes but the fish tended to always be over cooked as well as the lamb chops. And the beef just did not have much flavor. I tried the cerviche here and it was maui maui, but again the fish appeared have been cooked on the grill not marinated in lime juice. It tended to be warm inside the restaurant probably due to the doors being left open. And while the servers were very nice, they tended to be a little on the slow side... or maybe it felt that way because it was warm in the restaurant? The food was not bad by any means... it was very good for Mexico, no buffets and everything seemed very fresh. I just think the menu might need a makeover.
The service was probably some of the best we have ever had in Mexico. We celebrated my birthday while I was there and they were always bringing out little treats and made it very special. Benny was a real delight in the evening at the lobby bar. The grounds were very well kept, and seemed to always have someone working on them.
We decided to try the couples massage. It was probably the most relaxing massage we had ever had!!! It was wonderful.
Our flight was delayed leaving and the Jorge made sure we could wait there instead of sitting in the airport for an extra hour. He offered lunch and drinks while we waited.
The hotel is about 10 minutes from the airport - super EASY!!
The wife at the hotel works REALLY WELL!!
We highly recommend this place... we had a wonderful time and you cannot beat the amazing service.

Room Tip: Go with the jacuzzi room because they have a larger bathroom.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mssnash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerCVPV, Director General at Casa Velas, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2017

Thank you for taking the short flight from Dallas, Texas and residing with us at Casa Velas, and also for sharing your delightful experiences and valuable observations.

Overall I feel that your stay with us was a successful one thanks to the best service that you have received in Mexico along with our full-service spa and sister hotel a few minutes away. I certainly appreciate your feedback on our menus, and you can be assured that my executive chef is regularly reviewing the choices and you can be sure that he will place more emphasis on the preparation and style of his ceviche.

Thank you for your firm recommendation of the resort to others, and I hope that we can have the opportunity to, once again, be your faithful hosts. Take care.

LUIS ANGARITA
DIRECTOR GENERAL
HOTEL CASA VELAS
srangaritacv@velasresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 20, 2017

Atmosphere and quality of service is on par with Wynn Encore in Las Vegas. The dedicated staff is well-trained and seems to be long-term employees ready into ensure your stay is filled with comfort and convenience. They also advise you with clear communication things to do in town that could be fun. There is a local mall and Old Town that is wonderful to visit to get a taste of the culture in Puerto Vallarta.

Room Tip: I recommend to use the bug spray on exposed parts where you maybe bitten by the tiny insects. Also remember to apply sunblock regularly while at the beach. We don't care for the ketchup in Mexico so we recommend that you bring Heinz Ketchup if you so desire.
Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank LuckyLuluAmor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerCVPV, Director General at Casa Velas, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2017

As first-time visitors to Puerto Vallarta, we couldn´t be more pleased that you selected Casa Velas as your retreat to explore and indulge in everything that this beautiful region offers.

By now you will know how easy and safe it is to travel and explore this Pacific jewel. And after a day of strolling the Marina, downtown or playing golf, it is a real delight to let Casa Velas pamper you in the only manner that we know how; with dedication.

Thank you for reserving with us at Casa Velas. My staff and I wish you nothing but the best this summer up in Rancho Cucamonga, California. Take care.

LUIS ANGARITA
DIRECTOR GENERAL
HOTEL CASA VELAS
srangaritacv@velasresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews