We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,216)
Filter reviews
4,216 results
Traveller rating
2,784
922
324
115
71
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,784
922
324
115
71
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmarket cafepreferred clubbarefoot grillfrench restaurantpool arealobby baroceana restaurantunlimited vacation clubpreferred buildingentertainment teamhealing handsturn down servicerain showerdress codeall inclusive resortrose petalsocean view
Filter
Updating list...
353 - 358 of 4,216 reviews
Reviewed April 3, 2018

Definitely not your usual all inclusive. Start with no wrist bands, no reservations needed at the specialty restaurants which are plentiful, terrific service from well trained staff, and a well maintained property, Overlay that with top shelf beverages, good food choices, 24 hour room service, good spa, and an adults only environment and you have the makings of a great vacation.
We were in the Preferred Club tower with its own bar/lounge and food service and it was worth the extra cost. Get a higher number room on the upper floors. We wouldn't recommend a swim-up room. They don't connect to the pools, don't get a lot of sun, and are not very private.
We did the Chef's Table with wine pairings at Capers and though very expensive it was gourmet and worth it. Though the French restaurant was good, surprisingly, we thought the best food was in the Market buffet.Generally, you get the Mexican version of whatever cuisine at the specialty restaurants so the Italian food and steaks are not exactly Chicago standards.
We suggest you take lots of dollars for tipping because it is appreciated and reserve pool lounge chairs no later than 7:00 in the morning if you want a good spot. The beach is not special, rarely swim-able, and off property it is very rocky. The gym equipment is is not plentiful so get there early. Town is a fairly long walk away but cabs are only about 6 dollars.
Over-all, for Mexico, this is a very special property and the weather was excellent.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank LaneB45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniela F, Econcierge at Secrets Vallarta Bay Puerto Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2018

Dear LaneB45,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave your kind words and observations following your recent stay with us at Secrets Vallarta Bay.

We were delighted that you have enjoyed all the details we take pride in offering our guests. As are our regular practice, we have been happy to share your lovely remarks to our team who take so much pride in ensuring that all of our guests only receive the very best in service.

We look forward to have the pleasure of having you back home in the near future.

Cordially,
Daniela Flores
Econcierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 3, 2018

This is I think the fourth Secrets we have visited. It is kind of a split resort with an adult only side and a family friendly side. What I liked about it was the simplicity of the layout. Some resorts have lots of winding sidewalks and a long trek to the lobby area but this place is more compact. The beach isn't the best with darker sand and some rocky areas but you are able to swim. Another interesting thing was the lack of birds flying around the outdoor dining areas. They have a few guys with hawks setting on their arms and they release them every so often to fly around the resort. The birds(starlings, crows,etc) stay far away as the hawks will grab them,kill them and/or bring them to their trainer. You are able to pet the hawks if you like as the hawks and their trainers are both friendly. The restaurants were all great. No reservations needed except for the Japanese restaurant. Appropriate dress in the evening like most al-inclusives is required. The pools were cold caused by the temps the time of year we were there. One pool though is heated which made up for the others. Jamie(the Rabbit) was the pool concierge and he was full of useful information and just a fun guy to be around. Our rooms were cleaned daily without having to call housekeeping however they sometimes didn't clean them until as late as 5pm. Overall, like all the Secrets I've been to, I would go back. After staying at other chain al-inclusives(about 12) we scout out the Secrets resorts first and hope to get a room that meets our schedule. Also, the sunsets were incredible each evening. The way the lobby is situated there are chairs in perfect position to watch the sunsets. With the lobby bar nearby it's a great place to have a drink before dinner and watch the sun go down.

Room Tip: I could be wrong but at this resort it looked like all rooms face the ocean.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniela F, Econcierge at Secrets Vallarta Bay Puerto Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2018

Dear David H,

We appreciate you have taken the time to share such an enthusiastic review about your recent visit to Resort name. We are overjoyed to read that you have enjoyed your stay, specially service.

Please be confident that we have shared your kind comments with our team as motivation to keep up with our commitment to offer truly remarkable experiences in our guests. We thank you on behalf of our team and Management.

We sincerely hope we can have the honor of being your hosts in not too distant future.

Cordially,
Daniela Flores
Econcierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 2, 2018

I went for a get away to rejuvenate and recharge and they provided everything I needed. The beach and pool were amazing, the staff could not have been more courteous and the room was a dream. The bed was probably the most comfortable one I have ever slept on. I cannot wait to come back. It was everything I could have wanted and more. Rafael brought me my next drink before I could even ask for it - as I lay on the beach. Could not be happier.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimkorellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniela F, Econcierge at Secrets Vallarta Bay Puerto Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2018

Dear Kimkorellis,

We would like to thank you for choosing our resort as your host on your recent gateway to our destination. It was a pleasure having you and we appreciate that you have taken the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor.


We are very happy to learn that your stay was a most pleasant one, and that you were highly satisfied with our service at Secrets Vallarta Bay. We have strived to deliver the most memorable experience to our valued guest. We highly appreciate your gracious comments here and have shared it with our team.

We sincerely look forward to welcome you back on a future occasion and provide you with the exceptional quality and service that characterizes our brand and resort.

Cordially,
Daniela Flores
Econcierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 2, 2018

We recently returned and can’t wait to go back. The hotel met all of our expectations of excellent service, food, and drinks!! We stayed in the Preferred Section and the check in was a breeze. You have your own small bar which was manned by Bennie in the morning. He makes a great cup of coffee. There was also a station across from the bar that had a small breakfast in the morning and then small sandwiches, spring rolls, and snacks in the afternoon. It is not a big fancy area but it was nice to not have to go to the lobby or another bar for anything. Caesar at the Market Cafe should be your server of choice for breakfast! He greeted us every morning with a smile and after the first day, he knew our beverage choice and that we would need a couple of extra jars of strawberry jelly. We only ate at the buffet for breakfast so that is all I comment on at the buffet but it has everything that you would want. Huevas Rancheros, fresh made omelets, fresh fruit, fresh smoothies, and wonderful pasteries and croissants. The Mimosas’ are waiting for you as you enter the cafe and the orange juice is fresh squeezed. The pool area is not large (2 main pools, one with a swim up bar) but it was plenty big enough for the number of rooms they have. People do start saving chairs around 7:00 am but we never had any problem getting chairs for our group of 6. The service at the pool was outstanding. Whether you were in your chair or actually in the water the staff was there to serve. There were different types of entertainment at the pool everyday. One day it was a mariachi band, a reggae band, a DJ with a foam party (too young for us but it was a hit with the younger crowd). We are pretty particular when it comes to food and everyone in our party raved about their meal every night. You will have to make reservations at only one restaurant and this is if you want to sit at the hibachi table. We made reservations at the Tapanyaki restaurant when we checked in on Monday and had a reservation for Wednesday. The only restaurant that we didn’t eat at was the Mexican restaurant, because on the night we planned on going they had a celebration with a buffet planned. We didn’t want to do the buffet for dinner so we went to the French restaurant twice. Make sure you get the chocolate lava cake, it was so good! They do follow the long pants rule for men so make sure that you have them. The hotel is on the older side so the rooms were a little dated but the shower was huge and the water pressure was great. The one downside of the room is that the bathroom is really, really dark. Even with all of the lights turned on in the middle of the day you could not see to apply any makeup. The other two girls that I was with mentioned the same thing. They have a Nespresso Inissia coffee machine in the room which is really nice but if you are not familiar with this type of machine you may want to watch a YouTube video on how to use it before you leave. We have one at home so it was not a problem, but one other couple could not figure it out. A blow dryer is provided but not a flat iron. There is also a clothes steamer instead of a clothes iron in the room. Besides the dark bathroom area there is only one other negative that I can mention. The lobby is beautiful but it is open air and faces the Preferred Club rooms. If you go to bed before 11:00 pm you will definitely hear the music. That was never a problem, with the exception of when it was Karokee night!! We did hop on the bus one afternoon and head down to the Malecon to check out the sights. You will need to get Peso’s at the front desk if you plan on taking the bus. It was really inexpensive but I can’t remember the cost. The six of us took a taxi van back to the resort and it was 10.00 US. Overall, the service and food were spectacular and I would definitely return!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
4  Thank teachforlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniela F, Econcierge at Secrets Vallarta Bay Puerto Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2018

Dear Teachforlife,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave your kind words and observations following your recent stay with us at Secrets Vallarta Bay.

We were delighted that you have enjoyed all the details we take pride in offering our guests. As are our regular practice, we have been happy to share your lovely remarks to our team who take so much pride in ensuring that all of our guests only receive the very best in service.

We look forward to have the pleasure of having you back home in the near future.

Cordially,
Daniela Flores
Econcierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 1, 2018

beautiful view, clean hotel. Loved the pool area but a bit noisy in the late afternoon. Food was good as well as the entertainment With in a easy cab ride to the downtown or old town areas if you wanted to do something different

Stayed: February 2018
1  Thank Phillip F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniela F, Econcierge at Secrets Vallarta Bay Puerto Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2018

Dear Phillip F,

We appreciate you have taken the time to share such an enthusiastic review about your recent visit to Secrets Vallarta Bay. We are overjoyed to read that you have enjoyed your stay, specially our food and our service.

Please be confident that we have shared your kind comments with our team as motivation to keep up with our commitment to offer truly remarkable experiences in our guests. We thank you on behalf of our team and Management.

We sincerely hope we can have the honor of being your hosts in not too distant future.

Cordially,
Daniela Flores
Econcierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews